We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but OK”
Review of Avon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avon Hotel
Ranked #863 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The small double room was very SMALL, but very clean and tidy too. However, the bathroom was a caravan style moulded plastic plug in unit smaller than my shower at home.
Noise was OK
We went for breakfast at 7.45 and nothing was ready for us, so we left.
For London, good value for money.

Room Tip: 1st floor or higher, and if you don't want very small, don't go for a small one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northunlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2012

Booked approx 3 months in advance for this reunion. I requested two twin rooms , next door to each other, and this was printed on my booking form. Two weeks prior to the visit I received a phone call to tell me that there were no twin beds available and I should book another hotel! I found the manager to be most irate who kept telling me not to stress. She also did not ring me back when she promised to do so. When I explained that I had no time to find alternative accommodation she said we would be next door in their other hotel, not good enough! When I arrived we were sent down the street to St Davids hotel, who we were told were doing Avon a favour. We were given rooms two staircases apart ! Avon spoilt the weekend.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Steve1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kiriaki H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The hotel probably portrays the English living in general, since the rooms are very small. Although nothing luxurious, the staff is kind and the breakfast is tasty with a large variety of choices. Convenient when leaving for Heathrow in the morning since the hotel is just 5 min from Paddington station.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We booked this hotel based on previous reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel is basic but imacculate. Very clean, quiet and the breakfast included was cooked fresh and very tasty and the staff are very friendly. The beds were a bit on the firm side but not uncomfortable it was also a bit of a trek to our room which was on the 4th floor (no lift) but the hotel is very central just 5 mins walk from Paddington station which was ideal. The room didn't overlook gardens as advertised but none of them did as its about 4 doors down from Norfolk square so unless you are a crane you'd be hard pushed to overlook the gardens! Never the less that is not what we booked this hotel for and we will be coming here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula241274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Stayed one night in November, we had a double room on the top floor, loads of stairs some on narrow staircase, not a problem for us though, in fact adds to the character. The room was lovely & quiet with a view (to the side) of the leafy square down below, small but clean & perfectly adequate, small bathroom but again clean, perfectly adequate & functional. Great area, would definitely stay again. Staff helpful. Great value at £69, not so sure about the 'normal' price of £129.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We really had a great experience during out stay at the Avon in Sept. It was our first time in London and Anna, the proprietor, helped us in many ways. Our room was clean, quiet, pretty and very comfortable.

We had understood that the stay included a continental breakfast and were happily surprised to find it was a full English breakfast with eggs made to order and all the other fixings. It was delicious and the table settings were beautiful.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay and hope to have an opportunity to return. Thank you Anna and staff!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor so the lack of an elevator wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Belvedere
#675 of 1,077 in London
465 reviews
easyHotel Paddington London
#664 of 1,077 in London
880 reviews
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#697 of 1,077 in London
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Castleton Hotel
#895 of 1,077 in London
580 reviews
Abbey Court Hotel
#853 of 1,077 in London
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Hotel

Address: 50 Norfolk Square | Bayswater, West End, London W2 1RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #863 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £47 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Avon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avon Hotel is a delightful place to stay, situated in a beautiful treed quiet square, but only a few minutes walk from the London West End, Hyde Park and many famous landmarks. You will appreciate the modern well appointed rooms designed with style and individuality; each room is comfortable and yet elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Avon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing