We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy for Paddington”
Review of Avon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avon Hotel
Ranked #872 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Handy for Paddington”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just around the corner from Paddington. A little dated. My room was on the 4th floor, be careful if you have a problem with stairs, no lifts. Friendly staff and breakfast was excellent. Bed was very hard and seemed like two singles pushed together.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    50
    48
    27
    32
See reviews for
55
35
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Arriving in London jet-lagged after travel from the US, we were pleasantly surprised to find out just how close the Avon Hotel is to Paddington -- even with three rolling suitcases, it was a quick, easy 5-minute walk just around the corner. The staff was friendly and attentive, apologizing that we were on the fourth floor with no lift. They offered to move us the next day if we wished, but we told them we were fine. It is quite a hike up to the fourth floor, and my mid-50s parents had a bit of a struggle at first, but after a few days it was manageable.

We had a four-person family room. The room was clean and bright, though small -- for us, though, it was perfectly fine, since we spent most of our time exploring the city. Extra pillows and blankets were handy, and the bathroom was small and compact but perfect for one person at a time.

Breakfast was delicious and served by the excellent staff. When our suitcase broke, the desk staff helped us try to find some tools to help us fix it. We ended up having to buy a screwdriver at a store around the corner, but we appreciated the effort to help. The staff also arranged a taxi for us early in the morning and assisted us with travel preparations.

Overall, if you're looking for an inexpensive hotel in a great location and don't mind squeezing into a small room or tackling stairs, the Avon is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blinkin87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel a few times, it is very handy for Paddington Station which is a 5 minute walk away. We had a pleasant room, not as small as ones we were previously allocated. The bathroom was a little small but was clean and the water pressure in the shower was excellent. We like this hotel because of the excellent breakfast, it keeps you going for most of the day meaning you don't have to fork out for a proper lunch and can save your pennies for dinner and a show. Breakfast was still as good, our only criticism being it was not quite hot enough and the breakfast room itself was draughty. We didn't have to look too far for the cause, the kitchen door was wide open to let cooking fumes escape. Normally this would not have bothered us but the weather was chilly for May and the central heating was off. Was pleased to see wifi was free! We will certainly keep on using this hotel, a real home from home.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RosandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We spent a week at the Avon Hotel the last week of March 2013. This is the week Great Britain experienced its coldest spring in decades. The Avon hotel was chosen because of its location to a major subway/rail terminal and the cost. We opted for the bed and breakfast. Our Room #29 was on the fourth floor, remember there are no elevators with the stairs narrowing with each floor. We opened the door to cubicle sized room looked at each other and said I’m too tired to ask for a different room we semi unpacked with full intention of asking for a larger room. Well we never moved unpacking into the three drawer dresser and small armoire. My wife suitcase stayed in the lobby for the week. The staff at the Avon is wonderful, very courteous and helpful with restaurant tips and directions. The daily breakfast is very good the traditional English breakfast will last you most of the day. Try toast with nutella and orange marmalade you heard it here first! If you get room 29 the water pressure is terrible in the “out of a boat bathroom” the mattress is okay on the wall side and a draft blows in from under the door and cold air flows in from between the old single pane windows. We used towels to block the draft. If you stay at the Avon request a room not on the street side.

Room Tip: Request a room not on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dash4006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Clean sheets, very clean bathroom - but the smallest room I have ever stayed in
it was on the second floor and the stairs are a problem if you have lots of luggage - good location for Paddington - we stayed in a double room which the double bed was close to the wall so one person has to climb into bed - no room to move in the room - but for the price - no complaints - we paid £61 two including breakfast - for london i thought it was very reasonable
Also very warm we turned off the radiator and opened the window

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Avon Hotel has become our favourite hotel in London. it is a humble, economic, but extremely well kept and hospitable place with good rooms furnished comfortably and with good taste and extremely clean and fresh. The hotel is run by a friendly family and there is a nice feeling of family business ethics, seriousness, dedication and reliable service. The full English breakfast is scrumptious, delicious and fresh.The location in Paddington is ideal and the area is comfortable and safe even in night and early morning hours. We as a family would suggest Avon Hotel a must to all who visit London with great value for money. We surely would go there again.

Family Cuschieri From Malta

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The hotel was close to many restaurants, pubs and shops, and only 200 metres from Paddington Station. Although the room was quite compact it served the purpose we required. If you have any difficulty with walking then ask for a room on a lower floor as we were on the 4th floor and there were lots of stairs to climb and no lift. Breakfast was more than adequate with a good choice of cereal, fruit, croissants and juices, followed by a freshly cooked full English. The staff were very friendly and we were allowed to leave our luggage there whilst we were out the following day. I would recommend The Avon Hotel

Room Tip: If you have any problems with your legs and back then try to get a room close to the ground floor as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#782 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#630 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#652 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#886 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#606 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#658 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Hotel

Property: Avon Hotel
Address: 50 Norfolk Square | Bayswater, West End, London W2 1RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #872 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Avon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avon Hotel is a delightful place to stay, situated in a beautiful treed quiet square, but only a few minutes walk from the London West End, Hyde Park and many famous landmarks. You will appreciate the modern well appointed rooms designed with style and individuality; each room is comfortable and yet elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing