We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst nightmare”
Review of Avon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avon Hotel
Ranked #872 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worst nightmare”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

the worst hotel ever didnt even stay there DO NOT STAY HERE the staff unpleasant, room very small, and not been cleaned properly, bathroom was dirty the room itself smelt, went to ask for another room but refused

Room Tip: use a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandramiller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    50
    48
    27
    32
See reviews for
55
35
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forres, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Myself my husband and our teenage son spent 3 nights in the Avon.
The good points of the hotel are the location and transport system, the staff are friendly, the room facilities(hairdrier, kettle flatscreen tv) and the breakfast.
The bad points are the triple room was tiny and on the 4th floor(lots of stairs, steeper from the 3rd floor up) there were 3 tiny, very very uncomfortable beds the bathroom was even smaller. No room to turn round it was a 'plastic capsule' the shower water had a mind of its own, my husband got scalded. We got a towel each for the 3 days, could have done with a hand towel each and there is nowhere to dry the towels. We had to keep the window open at night as it was stuffy in a tiny room with 3 adults, but there was an all night drone from the streets below.
We found our room ok but not overly clean.

Room Tip: No use for wheelchair users and all rooms are upstairs (some steep) and no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Needed to stay in London as centrally as possible so found this hotel in Paddington. Room was on the fourth floor with no lift. Being in our 50s and not as fit as we could be this was a horrendous climb! Then to find a tiny room which must have been last decorated in the 60s. The "on suite" bathroom was a tiny "pod" with a toilet, sink and tiny shower unit. £168 for two nights in a double?? room (more like a single room with a double bed!). Lots of hotels in the same area were advertising at £47 per night for the same so felt a bit ripped off! On the plus side the room was clean, the staff were friendly and the breakfasts were included and very good with plenty of unlimited choice. Also very handy for tube/buses and a couple of nice pubs and eateries close by

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao City, Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

If you're looking for a good location. This is it. Very near the Paddington station which has the London Express train which takes you to Heathrow in just 15 minutes. 2 tube lines in paddington which makes exploring london very easy. The breakfast was simple yet filling enough for a day's exploration. My single room was very small, but it had to do because I did not want to stay in a hostel though. There was privacy which was my priority over large rooms but with other people.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheldon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Triple room so small that only one person can walk at a time. Be prepared to climb 78 flies of steps if you stay on the forth floor and the stairways get narrower and narrower. En-suite bath so small that you must be a yoga master to take bath in. Towels were not changed even though we asked the housekeeper to do so. No reason to pay the price to stay here unless you must be near Paddington Station.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KS1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

A nice place to stay when on holiday in London. Conveniently located. The staff are very helpful and make you feel really welcomed. Breakfast was good. Definately will stay there again if I am next in London

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GohYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donegal
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Booked this hotel through Hotwire. It was a disaster! Will never use Hotwire again as it wasn't even I star. The room was in a dark basement. They don't change the towels daily . Had to buy shampoo in a local shop. There was a 45 min wait to get a table at breakfast. Service was non existent. Room was shabby and too small for 3 beds. Couldn't sleep at night due to noise from Tube trains and poor ventilation. Shower was so small I couldn't turn in it. Was so bad we left after two nights! Hotwire didn't want to know when I complained. No fire evacuation plan in room. We were in a potential firetrap. Don't be fooled by website photos as the lobby was the only part that was modern. So much for Hotwire advertising 4 star hotels at 3 star prices!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripsterDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#782 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#630 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#652 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#886 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#606 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#658 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Hotel

Property: Avon Hotel
Address: 50 Norfolk Square | Bayswater, West End, London W2 1RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #872 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Avon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avon Hotel is a delightful place to stay, situated in a beautiful treed quiet square, but only a few minutes walk from the London West End, Hyde Park and many famous landmarks. You will appreciate the modern well appointed rooms designed with style and individuality; each room is comfortable and yet elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing