We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hostel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dictionary Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Dictionary Hostel
Ranked #30 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My friend and I stayed there for 3 nights, the guy at the reception was really nice. When we arrived I didn't have a booking, but my friend yes, so we managed to put us on the same room. We were alone on the room for the first nights and after there was only 1 guy, so it was really quiet. The bathroom was really clean, as the room. The housekeeping staff was really nice and the little restaurant just beside : Great and cheaps.

We were happy for the free breakfast, but the kitchen and the dinning room were so small, we couldn't ate there for supper because there was to much people.

A little to expensive and there is to much stairs when you have big luggage, but realle nice place to stay in London.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB5393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DictionaryHostel, Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for the review :) We are looking at expanding our kitchen at some point but glad to hear that you enjoyed your discount at our cafe bar Translate! Come and see us next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    305
    161
    61
    67
See reviews for
12
57
440
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky River, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed in this hostel in April 2014 where throughout a four night stay there was never once a toilet that flushed. The showers appear nice, but spray everywhere. Although these seem like necessary functional amenities when PAYING to sleep somewhere, these were the least of our worries. We discovered that there were, indeed, MICE living in our room (or the walls?) We had unopened granola bars in our locked luggage crates in luggage that the mice still managed to get into and continue to spread the crumbs everywhere, attracting more mice. When we brought this issue to the management, they were unfazed. They said "if there is food, there are mice" and that there was no opportunity for any refund. This is especially disgusting because this hostel SERVES FOOD to their clients. If there is food, there are mice?? This seems illegal to me. They clearly are aware of the mouse issue and do not fix it. Never again.

Room Tip: whatever you do, not the attic. unless you like sleeping with rodents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meghan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DictionaryHostel, Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Ack! We are sorry to hear that and apologize that you felt that the staff didn't care as that is not our intention at all. We ask that guests do not keep food in their rooms as this attracts unwanted visitors. We go to great lengths to keep them from entering the building with traps, spotless rooms, and a communal kitchen where food can be stored securely. We don't always win as big city life leaves not a lot of places for them to live, but we can assure you we will come out on top! We hope that you still had a good time while visiting London :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Spent two nights here in April 2014, the staff were AMAZING and the rooms were good! Fun bar next store and good coffee and food at great prices in the cafe downstairs! Really enjoyed staying here and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DictionaryHostel, Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We are so glad to hear that! :) Can't wait to see you next time you are in London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night at the Dictionary Hostel in May 2013, not long after the opening. The large shared dormitories are fine, comfortable bunk beds and handy roll out lockable cages to keep your stuff in underneath. Bring a padlock. Shared bathrooms in each dormitory, with a really good shower. The decor is minimalistic and the room feels a little like a warehouse with high ceilings, and brick walls, but stylish nevertheless if you like that kind of thing. The breakfast was more than sufficient with bread, cereals, juices and fruit. there is a cool bar area for socialising. Reception staff welcoming and helpful. Would stay again for a short stay, I was a female travelling alone but felt perfectly safe in the mixed gender room.

Only complaint was that the room next door arrived back from partying about 5am, and didn't go to bed until well after 10am during which they made continuous noise that made it impossible to sleep. I guess it was just unfortunate that we were next to them!

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bogisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DictionaryHostel, Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your stay with us. Hope to see you next time you are in London :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Definitely not the Ritz but the location is pretty ok and the staff is very friendly and nice, especially Matthew from the reception. He was extremely helpful with any questions I had. An A+ for the staff!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sorina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DictionaryHostel, Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for the feedback. It is great to hear that you had such a good experience with the staff! They work hard to make The Dictionary Hostel feel like home for everyone :) Come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Apart from a very nice location, rounded by restaurants and bars, and a very lovely staff, I would say this hostel has a poor return from what you pay for. No hot water in the morning for me is something without any excuse. They put a sign to avoid the "peak" times to get hot water, but I should be able to pick the time I want to take a bath.... It's a hostel, deal with it! Also, they charge for anything... towels(5£) and internet (1£ per day) are basic stuff! Very poor breakfast as well, and they make you do the dishes afterwards. If it was a crazy cheap hostel, ok... but it's not the case.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DictionaryHostel, Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us! We apologize for the issues with the water. As the issue is more with the city than the actual hostel, we put up those signs as a way to communicate with our guests that we know that sometimes issues arise and we are trying to fix it instead of avoid it. We hope that you still enjoyed your stay in London! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Safestay
#15 of 828 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#67 of 828 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 828 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
The Walrus Hostel
#37 of 828 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dictionary Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dictionary Hostel

Property: The Dictionary Hostel
Address: 10-20 Kingsland Road | Shoreditch, London E2 8DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dictionary Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hip and young, East meets West in Shoreditch, London in this coooool new boutique hostel. Incredibly warm and friendly as well as highly competent staff in the latest edition of trendy hostels worldwide. Fully opened in August 2013 and is already the talk of the town having been featured in The Sunday Times, EasyJet In-flight Magazine and included as a Top 10 Hostel by Visit London and Visit Britain in both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Dictionary Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing