We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dictionary Hostel
Ranked #30 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed here for one night after my flight got in very late. The staff was incredibly friendly, the bed was comfortable and the room was great! I really enjoyed my stay here. It's in one of the most fun neighborhoods in London.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DictionaryHostel, General Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Thanks for the wonderful review! It's great when we get some positive feedback :)

I will pass on your comments to the staff.

All the best for your future travels and come back soon! :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here recently and this place was infested with mice. This is an absolutely atrocious hostel in regards to cleanliness. When I arrived there was trash everywhere. Later on in the evening I heard mice in the hallway. It is absolutely disgusting. Imagine cooking in the kitchen where the mice have been. When I tried to sleep, I was awoken by mice. I looked over and there were 4 mice in the room. They even crawled on the bed next to mine!! For all this talk about being a remodeled hostel, they couldn't even get rid of the mice. DDimice.shoreditcommunity

3  Thank Oscar B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DictionaryHostel, General Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Hi. Thanks for the review. I'm so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay.

You are right, we do have traps around the property as a precaution against mice. However, we don't have a mouse problem any more after working really hard with our pest control company this year :) It was a lot of effort, but we have come a long way! This was a problem caused by guests taking their food into the rooms, which can attract mice. East London is full of the critters, so we are doing everything we can to keep them out, including asking our guests to help us with this. :)

Rooms are cleaned every day and communal areas twice a day, so things should be nice and clean, but I'll have a word with our head cleaner about your comments.

Wishing you all the best for your future travels! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 August 2014

According to the dictionary "bedbugs don't fly". But there is a certain dictionary that claims that their guests are bitten by mosquitos when confronted with huge itchy bumps on your skin. If you notice any swollen, reddish itchy something on your face, neck or arm don't try to let the stuff of the "Dictonary hostel" know. They will just treat you as a fool.
But for all lonely travelers this is great news: There is for sure someone waiting in your bed!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Buggy_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DictionaryHostel, Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

As has been reported in previous reviews, we have had an outbreak of bedbugs in the hostel and this has, unfortunately, meant that we have got more experience in identifying these bites than we might like. We have brought in a professional pest control company which is working hard to ensure that we are, and remain, bed bug free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank dinafalten
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DictionaryHostel, Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We didn't have any problems with this hostel and enjoyed our stay. Found the staff very friendly, rooms clean and kitchen excellent. Only issue was our room was loud at night due to the bars and busy street.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DictionaryHostel, Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thanks for your review - we are working on the noise, with plans for more insulation and better windows in the works!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hostel is located in ideal place if you want to party but if you don't then it's not the one for you. The rooms were very warm as there was no ventilation which made sleeping very different. The other thing is that in our level there was only one toilet which was shared by a lot of people so you sometimes had to wait a while.
But the staff were very friendly and had a lot of local knowledge.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DictionaryHostel, Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are working on both the ventilation and noise issues, and also have our maintenance manager getting into the plumbing situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

An affordable hostel, rooms and bathrooms are clean, just a water pressure problem in the shower... but water came finally :)
The hostel is really well located in the heart of Shoreditch area, so really easy to get home after a crazy night in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yaouank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DictionaryHostel, Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thanks for your review, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We are working with Thames Water to get those showers working with the pressure we all want!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Safestay
#17 of 908 in London
1,117 reviews
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#18 of 908 in London
1,196 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#65 of 908 in London
2,119 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#27 of 908 in London
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dictionary Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dictionary Hostel

Address: 10-20 Kingsland Road | Shoreditch, London E2 8DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £16 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dictionary Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hip and young, East meets West in Shoreditch, London in this coooool new boutique hostel. Incredibly warm and friendly as well as highly competent staff in the latest edition of trendy hostels worldwide. Fully opened in August 2013 and is already the talk of the town having been featured in The Sunday Times, EasyJet In-flight Magazine and included as a Top 10 Hostel by Visit London and Visit Britain in both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dictionary Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing