We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pajama Game- certainly worth going to”

Shaftesbury Theatre
Ranked #172 of 1,656 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Shaftesbury Theatre at the top of Shaftesbury Avenue.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Pajama Game- certainly worth going to”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I must start by saying that musicals may not be my most favourite entertainment, but the comfortable thing about this, is that it is a nice period piece, many of the numbers familiar, some great dancing and the perfect tonic to take ones mind off all the gloomy events in the world. Able to get decently priced tickets. Had front row of the Royal Circle, but opted to move to the third row in the intermission, as the legroom is non-existant. Nice old theatre too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    182
    69
    40
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“OK Show”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Pajama Game just about stands the test of time. However whilst the performers tried their best the tunes were not really memorable and everyone seemed to be murmuring into their mikes making it difficult to hear the words.
Must compliment the staging and quick scenery changes but can really only give this production 3 Stars.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gets better”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Took my gran and aunt to see the pyjama game, very slow first half, we all agreed it took some time to get into it, but it does pick up in the second half, some extra dance numbers bring it to life. There were a few too many cringy make out sessions with the leads that seemed to go on forever. My nana and aunt left saying they enjoyed it, I thought it was ok, we all agreed it's not something we would see again but it had it's moments. I paid £30pp for stall seats near the front, I think if I had paid more I would've been annoyed. I did also notice a fair number of empty seats which is a shame as the cast seemed to be enjoying themselves, I would've thought the theatre would make sure the stalls are full to give everyone a boost

Helpful?
Thank lauren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pleasant theatre experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Saw The PAJAMA GAME. An easy going musical - great dancing and music. No bad language ! Matinee not full but audience very appreciative of the show.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank triciac890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pajama Lame. ”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The curse of the Shaftesbury Theatre strikes again. This is one of my favourite theatres: its beautiful inside. Unfortunately, over the years, it's has more than its fair share of duds. This is another. No really memorable songs and a wafer thin plot. I feel sorry for the cast who got the most out of the material they were given. It must be fairly demoralising to be performing to a half full auditorium on a Saturday night. I wonder how empty it is on weeknights.......

Helpful?
Thank mrjc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shaftesbury Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Shaftesbury Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing