We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start wearing purple.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
Ranked #23 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Start wearing purple.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

When we decided to visit London we wanted something clean, close to city center and with bathroom ensuite. Safestay ticked all the boxes, had very good reviews and even looked very good in the pictures.
Ironically when we just arrived to SAFEstay we couldn't approach the hostel because of the fire that broke out in the city hall just across the street and when we finally entered staff was wearing surgical masks, but that's really situation that has nothing to do with the hostel itself.
So pluses would be cleanliness, nice interior and even its location, at gritty, eclectic Elephant and Castle proved to actually be cool. And since you can catch two tube lines at the nearby Elephant&Castle square and dozen buses in the vicinity it doesn't take too long to get anywhere in central London it proved to be practical too. In addition to having bathrooms ensuite there are several bathrooms scattered around every floor so you never have to wait too long. A big plus when your roommates from Spain turn out to be a bunch of inconsiderate bathroom hoggers or you end up with taylor-swift-blasting-marathon-showering queen.
However, beds are rather small, rooms are crowded, even for a hostel and breakfast served is poor. I cant even recollect what was served every morning. i only remember blandness and tastelessness. But one huge plus, at least during our stay, was the staff. Very friendly, efficient and professional. And good looking too, i might add.
All things considered Safestay offers a lot for its price and in that light it deserves a high grade. It could use some minor improvements like windows in the rooms that actually open or somewhat better breakfast but those are hardly deal breakers.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeSongoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    453
    138
    43
    31
See reviews for
115
76
389
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you're looking for a clean, modern looking hostel that has all the modern conveniences you should definitely stay at the Safestay. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, the rooms were thoroughly cleaner every day, and the little curtains on the bed provided some privacy. I stayed here for three weeks while I was looking for a room, and I don't think I could've done that in any other hostel. The only downsides are that there's only wifi in the lounge, where they put the airconditioning on for too long, and breakfast is only served till 9 am.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalekanium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

This place more than surpassed my expectations. It seemed more like a hotel than a hostel, how new and nice everything was. Most hostels I have stayed in the past are rundown and dated. This hostel does not have a lock out period and is 24/7. It is very safe and not in a sketchy area. The bar is only open until 12 which is not the best if you want to meet other people or hang out late night for a drink. There is a local pub a block away that will fill this void if you're looking just to hang out and drink. WiFi is only available in the bar area but you can still get internet access once the bar closes at some small chairs. There is a luggage drop off if you need to drop off your bags until check in or if you leave after check out. There is free breakfast which is not much, coffee, cereal, a croissant and yogurt.

There seemed to be a wide are range of people who stayed here. I saw young solo travelers as well as whole families with children and grandparents. So expect a little bit of everything when you stay here.

The beds in the rooms were comfortable and new. The mattresses and pillows were great, not old and lumpy. The bunk beds were well built and did not shake or sway when the person on top moved around. The curtain going all the way around the beds was great if you wanted to sleep in the daylight or had loud roommates. It was nice just to get a little privacy from everyone else. They have storage lockers that slide out from under the beds which are nice but you need a luggage that is not thicker than a foot. Bring your own lock and towel otherwise they have both available for rent.

The hostel is right next to the Elephant and Castle Tube station which is great for the Bakerloo Brown Line, Northwestern Black Line and the overground train line located in the shopping center. Because of the Tube stop there are also plenty of bus stations, including 24 hour bus stops for the late night trips home. I recommend getting a map to find the hostel from the tube because the directions they provided were not to helpful. We had a hard time finding Walworth Road because we came out of a different exit from the tube. There are two exits from the tube which can be confusing at first, but one exits closer to the hostel the other is a bit farther but still an entrance to the tube, so be careful where you enter and exit.

The area does not have many restaurants or a lot to do directly near the hostel but in general the hostel is located near many attractions and restaurants that are all with a short tube or bus ride.

Depending on your length of stay I would recommend getting an unlimited 5 day Oyster Card which will allow you to take all the trains and busses unlimited depending on the zone you need. Almost all the popular attractions and the hostel are within zone 1.

Room Tip: The rooms get pretty hot in the summer and Walworth road can be kind of loud at night. If you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I used this hostel with 7 friends. We were able to book a en-suite dorm outright. The room was clean, the decor was funky and it has free breakfast (which isnt fancy but it fills a hole). As it is so close to the elephant and castle tube station it was perfect for exploring the sights of London from. The bus to Victoria (for the theatre we were going to) stops just outside the hostel too. Perfect.
The hostel is quiet at night, we all slept well and as there were quite a few of us, we were able to use the communal showers and toilets, which were also pretty clean. We all felt very safe there and I would recommend this to anyone.
I was so pleased that I booked my husband to stay there when he visits London in October.
The only negative is that it was very hot. I slept with no cover over me both nights of my stay and we got rather hot getting ready to go out, especially with all the hairdriers going. Can't really be helped though, London is a hot, stuffy place.

Room Tip: If there is a large group of you going and you want to sleep in the same room, book over the phone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nopholopholis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lustenau, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

It was really nice staying at this hostel. The room (8 bedroom) was clean and had a toilet and a shower in it. The beds had carpets. Overall the hostel looks nice. They have free WiFi in the lobby. The lobby was nice too and they have a little garden.
The location of the hostel is ok. A tube station is close to it and you're in the city pretty fast. Near the hostel is the club "Mistery of Sound" you can walk there.
I can really recommand this hostel especially for the price we paid (15£ per night, per person)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramona1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

It is in a good location, really nice place to stay, however i didn't understand why the put a male in a room of a party of 5 girls, it was slightly odd and he felt out of place. Would be decent is wifi was available throughout and If the window opened more as the room got hot. Bed was comfy and it was awesome having curtains around the bed. Worth the money paid.

Room Tip: 224 window didn't open fully which was a pain as we stayed during the heatwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Petee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Not really a proper backpacker hostel, more like a hotel with lots of groups (mainly teenagers). Very clean, good beds, staff is ok, wifi only works in the bar/lounge area which closes at 11pm. So if you are traveling by yourself and you want to meet people, probably not the best place. Neighborhood is a bit shady, not sure if I'd walk around there at night, about 10 mins walk from station but you can take a bus 2 stops there. No aircon in rooms (hot at night). Also has no kitchen or microwave. The "meals" from the bar are only microwave dishes.
I had one incident with the staff when I was staying there. As I mentioned only wifi in the lounge/bar area, so I was sitting there and at 8pm they turned on the music extremely loud in the whole area. I asked them to turn it down in the lounge but the staff member refused at first. They later turned it down and apologized.

Its probably ok for London standards, but I'd choose another hostel when I stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felicesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Safestay
#15 of 837 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
South Kensington
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#43 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle

Property: Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
Address: 144-152 Walworth Road | Elephant & Castle, London SE17 1JL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safestay London Elephant & Castle is located in the former 18th century labour headquarters, just a few minutes' walk from Elephant & Castle tube station and close to the River Thames and Southbank. You'll love the affordable accommodation and stylish social spaces, 24 hour reception and free Wi-Fi throughout. With twin and triple en-suite rooms as well as en-suite and standard dormitories for 4, 6 and 8 people there's a bed for every budget. All bed linen is included and private rooms boast flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, and towels too. In dormitories Safestay's own brand of bunk beds are fitted with a personal night-light and surrounded by privacy curtains, allowing for a comfortable night's sleep. There's a locker for each bed too, making it easy to store your luggage and valuables. The beautiful social spaces include a large licensed lounge bar where continental breakfast is served and a variety of snacks and drinks are on offer throughout the day, there's also a games area with pool table, computer room with comfortable seating and a courtyard garden. The hostel has a laundry, ATM, bike racks and a luggage store for guests to use at their pleasure. The first Safestay hostel, the building has been extensively renovated and thanks to the striking interior design you'll love relaxing here after a day's sightseeing. Great for groups and individuals Safestay Elephant & Castle is the ideal base for exploring London's famous attractions. Stay at Safestay London Elephant & Castle and you'll find Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, the London Eye, Oxford Street and Leicester Square all less than 15-minutes away by tube. Tate Modern, the National Theatre, The Imperial War Museum, London Aquarium, London Dungeon, Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, the Kia Oval and the famous Ministry of Sound are all within 1.5 miles of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing