We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really impressive for a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
Ranked #26 of 843 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“really impressive for a hostel”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed at this hostel for 6 nights together with my friend. we stayed in a four people room (2 bunk beds). I must say this hostel doesn't feel like a hostel at all, part of the fact there are other people in the room with you it feels like a regular cute hotel. it's decorated lovely (just like the photos on their site show), very modern, with a tv longe on the reception level, computer lounge next to the reception, bar\restaurant lounge with free wi-fi in the ground level (where they serve breakfast that is included in the price of your stay), and elevators and doors that are activated with the room keys.

Staff- 24 hours reception has the nicest staff, that help you with whatever you need.
cleanliness- everywhere I turned there were workers doing some sort of cleaning at the hostel. everything is always clean and tidy, including the rooms also of course.
location- right outside the hostel is a bus stop that we used all the time to get to wherever we needed (especially line 12 is very useful, and can take you to the Elephant & Castle tube station if you don't feel like walking to it for 10 minutes from the hostel, or to other main locations). the buses come every few minutes, so it's very convineint.
rooms- 2 bunk beds, toilet and shower (seperated). again, clean room and very modern. loved the little curtains that each bed has that you can pull over if you want to read while others are sleepingm or what not, and loved that each bed has a bed lamp. Only thing we didn't like and was kind of unreasonable- there's no shower curtain in the shower!!! you're supposed to put your towel inside the little box shower and by the time you're done taking your shower your towels' all soaked with water. kinda silly and a shame.
breakfast- never ate since it's from 7am-9am. super early I would say! kind of a bummmer coz we paid for it- would recommend to make it till 10!
I think I covered it all pretty much.
would defenitaly come back to safe stay!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor because I was afraid the bar will make a lot of noise- but then found out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yula1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    485
    157
    52
    33
See reviews for
130
85
416
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed here for a hen party and it worked out perfectly. The location from the tube is a bit of a hall, especially with bags, but not quite far enough with to take a cab. I would recommend the bus. The rooms were clean, I stayed in a 4 person room. The bathroom was directly next door and you could hear it flushing all night. The breakfast was simple, but good, it was cleaned up at exactly 10:00, literally I went back over to get more water and everything had been put away. The bar was lively at night, and the basement is the only area you can get on the wifi.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

First visited in December 2012. We booked a twin private room; however, upon checking-in, found there had been an error on their part which meant this was unavailable. They subsequently put us in a 4-bed dorm (but just the two of us in it) and gave us a nice discount which we were happy with. We slept quite well, beds were standard, the staff were nice and the place was secure. It would have been better if we had (working) WiFi available in the room, yet in all, we were quite happy with the visit for the price paid.

The hostel is in a good location, with the underground not too far away and regular buses on the street outside. I would say the further away you get from it the less inviting the area becomes... however, if all you want is a place to spend the night then this will do - so much so we are returning again later this year.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I suppose the hostel is good enough for unfussy traveler. It isn't too near the centre, not too clean, not too beautiful. I should note that it is not too cheap too.
But it's ok. You have your bed with a curtain, shower with hot water and the same simple breakfast every day.

The staff is polite and happy to help and it's important for me.

The hostel is satisfactory.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DariaKuteynikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

When we decided to visit London we wanted something clean, close to city center and with bathroom ensuite. Safestay ticked all the boxes, had very good reviews and even looked very good in the pictures.
Ironically when we just arrived to SAFEstay we couldn't approach the hostel because of the fire that broke out in the city hall just across the street and when we finally entered staff was wearing surgical masks, but that's really situation that has nothing to do with the hostel itself.
So pluses would be cleanliness, nice interior and even its location, at gritty, eclectic Elephant and Castle proved to actually be cool. And since you can catch two tube lines at the nearby Elephant&Castle square and dozen buses in the vicinity it doesn't take too long to get anywhere in central London it proved to be practical too. In addition to having bathrooms ensuite there are several bathrooms scattered around every floor so you never have to wait too long. A big plus when your roommates from Spain turn out to be a bunch of inconsiderate bathroom hoggers or you end up with taylor-swift-blasting-marathon-showering queen.
However, beds are rather small, rooms are crowded, even for a hostel and breakfast served is poor. I cant even recollect what was served every morning. i only remember blandness and tastelessness. But one huge plus, at least during our stay, was the staff. Very friendly, efficient and professional. And good looking too, i might add.
All things considered Safestay offers a lot for its price and in that light it deserves a high grade. It could use some minor improvements like windows in the rooms that actually open or somewhat better breakfast but those are hardly deal breakers.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeSongoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you're looking for a clean, modern looking hostel that has all the modern conveniences you should definitely stay at the Safestay. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, the rooms were thoroughly cleaner every day, and the little curtains on the bed provided some privacy. I stayed here for three weeks while I was looking for a room, and I don't think I could've done that in any other hostel. The only downsides are that there's only wifi in the lounge, where they put the airconditioning on for too long, and breakfast is only served till 9 am.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalekanium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Safestay
#16 of 843 in London
911 reviews
South Kensington
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#40 of 843 in London
2,485 reviews
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#42 of 843 in London
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle

Property: Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
Address: 144-152 Walworth Road | Elephant & Castle, London SE17 1JL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 843 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safestay London Elephant & Castle is located in the former 18th century labour headquarters, just a few minutes' walk from Elephant & Castle tube station and close to the River Thames and Southbank. You'll love the affordable accommodation and stylish social spaces, 24 hour reception and free Wi-Fi throughout. With twin and triple en-suite rooms as well as en-suite and standard dormitories for 4, 6 and 8 people there's a bed for every budget. All bed linen is included and private rooms boast flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, and towels too. In dormitories Safestay's own brand of bunk beds are fitted with a personal night-light and surrounded by privacy curtains, allowing for a comfortable night's sleep. There's a locker for each bed too, making it easy to store your luggage and valuables. The beautiful social spaces include a large licensed lounge bar where continental breakfast is served and a variety of snacks and drinks are on offer throughout the day, there's also a games area with pool table, computer room with comfortable seating and a courtyard garden. The hostel has a laundry, ATM, bike racks and a luggage store for guests to use at their pleasure. The first Safestay hostel, the building has been extensively renovated and thanks to the striking interior design you'll love relaxing here after a day's sightseeing. Great for groups and individuals Safestay Elephant & Castle is the ideal base for exploring London's famous attractions. Stay at Safestay London Elephant & Castle and you'll find Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, the London Eye, Oxford Street and Leicester Square all less than 15-minutes away by tube. Tate Modern, the National Theatre, The Imperial War Museum, London Aquarium, London Dungeon, Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, the Kia Oval and the famous Ministry of Sound are all within 1.5 miles of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing