We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
Ranked #25 of 897 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a very nice hostel, but it was expensive (what isn't in London). The staff was friendly and the rooms were really nice, you get a lot of privacy with your beds. They did have a lot of children staying there (school trips), which was weird but at least you weren't in the same room as them. The Location was horrible, but from what I could tell it was the closest to the city without breaking your bank. You'll definitely be using the tube and buses a lot. Also they said pub crawl goes out every night but they didn't when we were there, we had to figure out London ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,353)
There are newer reviews for Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

931 - 937 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The location of this hostel wasn't the greatest but considering the cost it was fair. The staff were responsive when needed and the free included breakfast was subpar. My major complaint was the internet; if you were not on the ground floor or basement you had no access which got old very quickly. Also the windows barely opened which I assume was for security purposes. However on a hot day or night it made sleeping extremely uncomfortable. Overall, the rooms and bathrooms were clean. I would recommend this hostel if your a student on budget traveling through London.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Hadassah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in a 4 bed dorm.All very newish decor, I was pleasantly surprised. Good breakfast included for £25 per night. I was lucky to share with 2 other women and a man all very nice people.
On the bad side it can be noisy as there were a lot of youngsters on school trips or similar staying at the same time as me.
Easily accessible with plenty of buses into the centre, and not too bad an area with plenty of shops.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I had 4 nights here in mid summer and the rooms were clean, spacious with individual lockers under the beds (provide own lock). Good hot showers but they flooded the floors.
The common room was great, plenty of room, seats etc with available powerpoints.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Sadly there were lots of school groups so lots of teenagers raging around.
Breakfast was for the quick with the cereal and today running out nearly every day before the scheduled time. No complimentary tea and coffee facilities after breakfast.
The location is not great for a single traveller, the area is a bit dicey even though it looks close to South Bank. Not much in the way of restaurants or eats but a good vietnamese Street food place next door.
Buses are your best bet as several stop right outside. I would recommend catching the bus from Waterloo and bypassing elephant and Castle station especially in the evenings.

1  Thank CulturewithaK
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The beds in this hostel and lockers/cages are really good. You can have your own privacy just by closing your own curtains at your bed. Though, the showerdrain and hair in it which is disgusting and downstairs, where the bar is, you're not allowed to bring your own beverages. It's mandatory to buy it at the Hostel's bar. Not really my idea of a hostel...
For these two reasons, my experience was average.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We picked the hostel for a one night stay in London. The location is debatable. The hostel is close enough to the Tube station but the neighborhood isn't the best. Within one night, we encountered drunkards getting into a fight and couples yelling at each other—overall we just weren't very comfortable with the safety around the area.

Our room was on the first floor, and clean towels and duvet covers were provided. The bathroom was spotless as well. The room also had a huge fan, which surprisingly was not enough to keep the room cool. The weather outside was quite chilly, but even with the fan on full blast, the room felt like a sauna! Throughout the night, I could hardly fall asleep and woke up a few times even after I did manage to get some shuteye.

Additionally, for a room designed for three people, our room has a serious lack of outlets, with only two on the wall at chest level, and one occupied by the TV. There is Wi-Fi-, but it only worked in the bar in the basement. The included breakfast was very basic, with cereal and some fruits, and ended relatively early.

But perhaps the biggest issue was with the staff. I understand, perhaps they're just doing their job but for the most part their attitudes were quite abrasive. We did not get the type of room we requested at check-in, and the guy at check-in offered absolutely no intention to help. We were disappointed enough to e-mail them after our stay, and got a one-line, "we hope you enjoyed the stay otherwise" response from them.

Overall, for a one night stay, there are probably much better choices in terms of neighborhood, room condition, and staff members in London for similar prices.

Room Tip: Don't hold high expectation of staff members.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank etsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Safestay is a very clean and nice place, which is why I won't rate this hostel lower than a 3. The building also feels very safe and modern. The downstairs bar/lounge area is very nice and spacious with a lot of room to relax and talk or watch tv.

However, our stay was not desirable. The room was so hot that I was unable to sleep more than a few hours, even with the fan blowing on me on high. The windows couldn't be opened more than a few centimeters. It was not even hot outside (~12-15 C), which was the frustrating part. Also, we booked a "three bed private ensuite", which to me means that the room contains 3 beds. It instead means that there is "room" for 3 people. We even contacted the hostel prior to staying there inquiring about the number of beds. Our room only had two beds, one double and one single. Even after discussing the problem with a staff member, we were not able to compromise on a solution so that two people didn't have to share a rather small double bed. In summary, make sure you fully understand the number of beds in your room before staying.

Room Tip: Make sure you understand the number of beds in the room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebtraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#42 of 897 in London
581 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#40 of 897 in London
2,585 reviews
Safestay
#18 of 897 in London
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#19 of 897 in London
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle

Address: 144-152 Walworth Road | Elephant & Castle, London SE17 1JL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 897 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £17 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safestay London Elephant & Castle is located in the former 18th century labour headquarters, just a few minutes' walk from Elephant & Castle tube station and close to the River Thames and Southbank. You'll love the affordable accommodation and stylish social spaces, 24 hour reception and free Wi-Fi throughout. With twin and triple en-suite rooms as well as en-suite and standard dormitories for 4, 6 and 8 people there's a bed for every budget. All bed linen is included and private rooms boast flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, and towels too. In dormitories Safestay's own brand of bunk beds are fitted with a personal night-light and surrounded by privacy curtains, allowing for a comfortable night's sleep. There's a locker for each bed too, making it easy to store your luggage and valuables. The beautiful social spaces include a large licensed lounge bar where continental breakfast is served and a variety of snacks and drinks are on offer throughout the day, there's also a games area with pool table, computer room with comfortable seating and a courtyard garden. The hostel has a laundry, ATM, bike racks and a luggage store for guests to use at their pleasure. The first Safestay hostel, the building has been extensively renovated and thanks to the striking interior design you'll love relaxing here after a day's sightseeing. Great for groups and individuals Safestay Elephant & Castle is the ideal base for exploring London's famous attractions. Stay at Safestay London Elephant & Castle and you'll find Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, the London Eye, Oxford Street and Leicester Square all less than 15-minutes away by tube. Tate Modern, the National Theatre, The Imperial War Museum, London Aquarium, London Dungeon, Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, the Kia Oval and the famous Ministry of Sound are all within 1.5 miles of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing