We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable bed, quiet and affordable for London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Ranked #182 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This hotel is located a short walk (5 minutes) from Borough Market and London Bridge train/tube station - one of my favourite parts of London to visit. We stayed because of the affordability, however, this hotel ended up being one of the most comfortable and quiet hotels we have stayed in for a long time.

Pros:

1. The room was vast for London and our room had a beautiful view of the Shard.
2. Bed was very comfortable, bedding was clean.
3. Powerful, hot shower.
4. Staff were attentive and friendly.
5. Very quiet room for a Saturday night (the hotel was busy).
6. Great room layout - particularly like the lighted mirror outside of the bathroom.

Cons:

1. The TV was on the small side, but did have tons of channels to compensate. At least in our room, from the bed, you need to have very good eyesight to see the small print.

Overall great stay for an affordable central London hotel option.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne9911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro M, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay at Premier Inn Southwark Tate Modern, the team and myself are extremely glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

We will work on the area that you have giving us feedback on in order to improve our service, we are looking to welcome you here soon again.

Kind regards

Alessandro Miccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,717)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,495 - 1,501 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed at the Premier Inn for 2 nights and from the minute we arrived we knew we were going to be pleased with our stay. The hotel reception was well staffed and we were checked in within 5 minutes of arrival. The room was modern, clean and ready for when we arrived. We booked for Bed and Breakfast and were amazed at the choice of food available for breakfast. There were plently of tables available for all the guests and the food was replenished constantly to meet the demands of the guests. Our children were so impressed with the choice of food - even Kellogs cereal was on offer which was incredible. We have never stayed at a Premier Inn before but we will certainly be choosing Premier Inn as our choice in the future. The location of the Tate Modern Premier Inn was just what we wanted as most of what we wanted to do was centred around the Southbank.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suemark3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro M, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Dear guest,

thank for taking the time to review our hotel, we are proud that you have enjoyed your stay and would consider coming back here at Southwark Tate Modern.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards

Alessandro Miccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Premier Inn well done, Great central London location, with good accessibility for tubes and other transport connections. As young family the room, whilst a little tight (having a 4 and a 6 year old) was all we needed after a day exploring London. The service in the hotel was superb, staff were all very helpful and were always there to advise and assist, in a courteous manner, which is so often missing. A special note to girls in the restaurant as the service was great so thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro M, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Dear guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Southwark Tate Modern.

The team and myself are very proud that we could make your stay enjoyable and we are looking forward to have you with us very soon.

Kind regards

Alessandro Miccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Have stayed at several budget hotels over the last year. Premier Inn are always the best. This hotel is very clean (spotless) rooms. The staff very attentive and pleasent, breakfast was good. The Have not really explored south of the River before but enjoyed staying in a different part of London. There is a bus within walking distance that takes you to Covent Garden in 10 minutes. Got this room at a bargain of £45 For a family room, great value!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmartieMartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro M, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am extremely glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you again very soon.

Kind regards

Alessandro Miccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is just the 'OK' type of hotel. The bed was ok, the food was ok, the service was ok, the location was ok, but no highlights at all. There are definitely better options in the very same area for the same price.
Must say that every day when they cleaned up the room, they changed the two towels for only one (we were two people sharing the room) and we had to call the reception for another one. It happened every single day during our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrazilianSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro M, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for your feedback, we will work in order to improve our service especially the room service.

We hope to see you soon with us again.

Kind regards

Alessandro Miccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed for 1 night in August so that we could see a show one day & do some sightseeing the next. Our children are aged 10 & 13 and we didn't feel comfortable with them being in another room (not to mention that we didn't want to pay for another room!). They would not have entertained sharing a double bed so Premier Inn was our best option as we had a double & 2 single beds in a family room. It is nigh on impossible to find somewhere that has a family room with this bed layout. They all offer 2 doubles - surely our children are not the only ones who would die of poison germs should they ever have to suffer the indignity of sharing a bed with a sibling?! The hotel was so clean, the bathroom was spotless, the beds so comfortable. All in all, exactly what we were looking for! We walked from the hotel to the theatre in Drury Lane, took about half an hour. Not far at all from all the usual sightseeing attractions & also on the Original Sightseeing Bus Tour route. Would recommend as a place to lay your head at night. Breakfast was spot on! It would be twice the price for the same at a 'posh' hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flowerpot F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro M, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback in regards of your recent stay with us.

I am glad that we have looked after you just the way you were looking for.

We are looking forward to welcome you with us soon.

Kind regards

Alessandro Miccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed for four nights with two children. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Room large but not enough storage for a longer stay, just one drawer and a small open hanging area. Beds quite hard which caused a problem after two nights but was quickly sorted out by housekeeping who put more padding on the mattress.

Very close to underground station and just a few minutes to Tate Modern and river bank walks.

Food very good standard but let down by speed in kitchen. Waited 25 mins for starters and 30 mins for desserts. Manager recognised there were issues and resolved to our satisfaction.

Overall, a great location in a modern, bright hotel so we will be staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireFamilyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro M, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Hi there,

thank you for the taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that we could not be more efficient in some areas of the service.

We will take your feedback and work on it so we can improve our service.

Looking forward to see you with us again soon.

Kind regards

Alessandro Miccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Address: 15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £95 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind the South Bank, where you'll discover modern art, entertainment and contemporary culture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing