We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel for the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Ranked #141 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Second time we have stayed at this hotel (me, husband and two little girls), as its the right price, rooms are great for children as they both get a single bed, modern, clean and its in the part of London we want to be in in the evening. This time we were arriving on my daughters fourth birthday. I called ahead just to ask if they could put a couple of balloons in our room and they did SO much more. We had banners, balloons with '4 today' on, a huge badge and a card from the staff. Honestly some of the 5 star hotels I have stayed in couldn't have done any better - and they would have put it on the bill!! My daughter thought it was magic!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catharine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    504
    82
    15
    16
See reviews for
747
390
50
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

This PI is quiet and very clean has good double rooms with very friendly staff. It is great for the Tate, the Shard, River Thames etc. We stayed on a busy weekend and the rooms were quiet from the inside and had no traffic noise at all from the roads.


  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philbinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here on a Sunday night as we're going to a concert at Festival Hall. We were expecting premier Inn usual standard. Wow what a surprise we got. We were given the keys to our room from a pleasant and smiley receptionist, Kacyann. She was very helpful in showing us how to print our keys automatically from the hotel screen. When we arrived in our room on the 7th floor it looked like any other premier inn room. Kacyann then rang and asked if the room was ok. Of course. We went sightseeing and then straight to the concert (The Mavericks by the way - sensational). When we arrived back to our room we noticed a double aspect window. From here we had the most picture perfect view of the Shard. It was lit up as was night time. It was such a wonderful surprise. It was our wedding anniversary and we felt was such a treat. The morning was misty but still looked great. We didn't eat in the restaurant as didn't have time. It looked tastefully done out with lovely colours and comfortable seating. We only wanted a continental breakfast so went to Tesco next door, which was a lot cheaper than the premier inn breakfast. We have come home and booked to go to this hotel again later in the year.

Room Tip: High. No road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angie60Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Premier Inns have really improved - the rooms are smart clean and comfortable and great value for money - we paid £137 midweek which is good. This one is in a great location in central London. Will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Clean!!!! Friendly staff always willing to help, with a close walk to the tube. Would stay there again! It was my first time traveling in Europe, so just a heads up for any other first time travelers: there weren't any washcloths in the bath ( I didn't ask hotel staff so I don't know if they had any either, wasn't a big deal, but just a heads up...) and the bathtubs were higher then in my country so again just a heads up!!

It was a great place to stay in London, 15 min walk to Globe Theatre, 20 min to London eye. Most of the other great attractions were just a 10-15 min tube ride!!


  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingrocks_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Staff were very friendly. Rooms are spotless and of a good size for London. Breakfast was ok, everything was there, although I do wish that Premier Inn would get themselves better toasters, there's always a queue!

Little pub outside and a short walk to some restaurants. Taxi's are easy to come by if you want to go further afield.

Great for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Booked two rooms there for a night in May 2013. Had hoped to stay at the Premier Inn nearer the river, but it was full. This location was just as good, though: a short walk from Southwark tube, and bus routes, and the river.

The rooms were clean, new, and comfortable.

What was really worth calling out was the service. They took time and trouble to help my elderly parents check in using a machine. If they asked us once whether our stay was ok, they must have asked us five times. And especial kudos to Ashleigh who served us at breakfast. She not only noticed that I was carrying a birthday present for my mother, but also checked with my wife whether it would be ok to give my mum a little birthday cake with a candle in it.

You don't expect such good service from a budget hotel chain. Well impressed and very sweet of her.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DamnMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#56 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Address: 15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind the South Bank, where you'll discover modern art, entertainment and contemporary culture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing