We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Ranked #181 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This hotel was in a great location: 5 minutes to the tube station, two pubs down the street and a little grocery market right next door ( for late snacks...lol). The staff was friendly, helpful and always ready to assist you. Rooms were very clean and modern. Be careful with getting into the bath tub as it is a very high step of getting in and out. Breakfast was good and cheaper than many other places around. The only thing is we had asked for a wake up call at 3:30 am because we had a flight at 6:15. The phone call never came, but luckily we used our own alarms. Also, be prepared to spend 75 pounds for a one way trip on a taxi cab from Heathrow.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina32_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,300 - 1,306 of 1,776 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed at the premier inn 19/05/13 on arrival the staff couldn't be more helpful, really easy check in.
We went up to our room on the 7th floor, the room was lovely, very clean, quiet and we had a great view overlooking London.
We went to head out for the evening and spoke to the receptionist about breakfast advising us on when would be a good time to come down she said after 9.30 the queue dies down so to pop down then. When we went down in the morning we were greeted by a lovely lady who showed us to our table the food was lovely both hot buffet, fruit and croissants.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and we will return if in London again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglandLouhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Second time we have stayed at this hotel (me, husband and two little girls), as its the right price, rooms are great for children as they both get a single bed, modern, clean and its in the part of London we want to be in in the evening. This time we were arriving on my daughters fourth birthday. I called ahead just to ask if they could put a couple of balloons in our room and they did SO much more. We had banners, balloons with '4 today' on, a huge badge and a card from the staff. Honestly some of the 5 star hotels I have stayed in couldn't have done any better - and they would have put it on the bill!! My daughter thought it was magic!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catharine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This PI is quiet and very clean has good double rooms with very friendly staff. It is great for the Tate, the Shard, River Thames etc. We stayed on a busy weekend and the rooms were quiet from the inside and had no traffic noise at all from the roads.


  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here on a Sunday night as we're going to a concert at Festival Hall. We were expecting premier Inn usual standard. Wow what a surprise we got. We were given the keys to our room from a pleasant and smiley receptionist, Kacyann. She was very helpful in showing us how to print our keys automatically from the hotel screen. When we arrived in our room on the 7th floor it looked like any other premier inn room. Kacyann then rang and asked if the room was ok. Of course. We went sightseeing and then straight to the concert (The Mavericks by the way - sensational). When we arrived back to our room we noticed a double aspect window. From here we had the most picture perfect view of the Shard. It was lit up as was night time. It was such a wonderful surprise. It was our wedding anniversary and we felt was such a treat. The morning was misty but still looked great. We didn't eat in the restaurant as didn't have time. It looked tastefully done out with lovely colours and comfortable seating. We only wanted a continental breakfast so went to Tesco next door, which was a lot cheaper than the premier inn breakfast. We have come home and booked to go to this hotel again later in the year.

Room Tip: High. No road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angie60Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Premier Inns have really improved - the rooms are smart clean and comfortable and great value for money - we paid £137 midweek which is good. This one is in a great location in central London. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Clean!!!! Friendly staff always willing to help, with a close walk to the tube. Would stay there again! It was my first time traveling in Europe, so just a heads up for any other first time travelers: there weren't any washcloths in the bath ( I didn't ask hotel staff so I don't know if they had any either, wasn't a big deal, but just a heads up...) and the bathtubs were higher then in my country so again just a heads up!!

It was a great place to stay in London, 15 min walk to Globe Theatre, 20 min to London eye. Most of the other great attractions were just a 10-15 min tube ride!!


  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingrocks_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Address: 15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £81 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind the South Bank, where you'll discover modern art, entertainment and contemporary culture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing