We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,831)
Filter reviews
1,831 results
Traveller rating
1,075
596
119
20
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,075
596
119
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthwark tube stationsouth bankborough markettesco express next doorgreat locationglobe theatremillennium bridgefamily roommeal dealjubilee linelondon eyeshort walkcosta coffeenight's sleepquiet locationquiet at nightgood nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
1,343 - 1,348 of 1,831 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Hotel is much of what you would expect fom the premier inn chain. We stayed in a family room for 4 and had a double bed and 2 single beds. There was still room to move about and we did not feel cramped at all. Room was clean. Good shower and a fast filling bath!
The staff were all really pleasant and always spoke to us. The hotel has a "Thyme" restaurant. We ate there 2 nights and found the food to be good - no complaints at all, and again good service from the staff. Breakfasts were also good, plenty of choice and constantly replenished. We were staying during school half term so it did get busy around 9 am ish.
Next door to the hotel is a tesco express shop which was handy for drinks etc for your room. The nearest tube station is Southwark and we found it to only be a 10 min walk from the hotel. You can walk to London eye from this hotel - this took us approx 30 -40 mins with 2 children in tow.

Overall, no complaints and we would be happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diver712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Really liked this hotel.Staff were all really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent location 5 minutes walk from tube station which was on the jubilee line, only one stop down from Waterloo.Tate Modern and London Bridge within walking distance. Tesco express right next door, and more shops further down the road. Quite a few pubs in the area too.Rooms were a good size and nice and quiet. In the family room one of the children's beds was a bit uncomfortable, that was the only downside. Breakfast was nice and hot and lots of choice. If staying in London again would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShoeQueen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Prmeier Inn Southwark. It is an area we had not stayed in before and thought it was a great location for seeing everything along the river. Easy to walk over bridges to the other side. Didn't have to walk back the same road every time, we were able to take a different route. The hotel itself is very clean, friendly staff and we enjoyed the food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Chose this hotel as it had good reviews..........was satisfied with this hotel. 2 mins away from the tube and the hotel was clean with a good brekkie next morning. Staff were friendly and helpful and dealt with my only request for extra towels within minutes.

Best to go for breakfast later if you can as was very busy at 09:30am and had to wait for a table for 10 mins....no problem really as it made me ready to demolish the good breakfast.

Used it a base for a trip to the O2 arena for the Carl Froch boxing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattNG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wozani T, Operations Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for your 5 star review. As always, we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
I apologise for the minor setback you refer to in your review. The air-conditioning and heating can be operated from inside your room. In light of your review, our maintenance teams have gone and serviced the aircon system in the particular room you stayed in.
With regards to the Do not disurb sign, our housekeeping team are instructed not to enter any rooms that have a do not disturb sign, hence why your room will not have been serviced on the day. I am however glad that you manged your towels replenished.

We always strive to provide the best level of customer services and the team were delighted that you found them to be friendly and helpful, especially Nikesha. I am personally happy that you have found a reliable brand in us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Looking for a decently priced hotel in a decent location I ran into the PremierInn chain, which I've never heard of before. This was based on reviews here and the seemingly overall uniformity in a chain of hotels which I am so missing in Europe when comparing to the Hampton Inns and HolidayInn Expresses of the world. No Alarm and No Surprises;
I was not disappointed.
But first things first - the directions in the TripAdvisor City Guide app are totally off. Perhaps the zone numbers were changed or something, but the app takes you to the exact opposite side of the street. Follow the actual numbering, not the app.
Back to the hotel - when we arrived there was the wonderfully amazing Nekisha to greet us. Check-in was smooth as silk. Room itself was meticulously clean, very basic; no-frills, but a room one looks forward to coming to when a nap or a nite's sleep is required. The room came with a double bed and a couch, and to our request the couch was quickly set as an extra bed... no sweat
Minor setback 1: the A/C cannot be operated in heating mode from the control panel in the room; one must call the reception and tell them what temperature you want the room heated at.
Minor setback 2: you have to repeat this procedure several times a day - still no problem. Staff is friendly and attends to the issue within minutes
Minor setback 3: on a day which we were in and out 4 times, the DND sign threw the cleaning staff a bit off, and our room was not cleaned during that day. Still not a biggy - we asked the cleaning lady for some new towels
The restaurant was OK. The all-you-can-eat breakfast for 9 pounds is a decent deal, and keeps you full until dinner.
The Internet, oh! the Internet. Decently priced - 3 pounds a day; Had its hitches, including a 12 hour downtime. That sucked. STaff could only direct us to the ISP and was a bit helpless.
What can I say? Stuff happens.
All during our stay the staff was went out of its way to always help.
Upon checkout, once again, the wonderful Nekisha asked me how things were and when I told her about these minor setbacks, she insisted to issue a 2-nite-refund. That is really a class act, keeping obsessively true to their "Godd Night's Sleep Guarantee" commitment.
From what I read in the reviews, this is pretty much the par for other PremierInns. I, for one, have found my hotel chain in London.

Room Tip: I can only say, that the room we stayed at - room 312 - was very good.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoronG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews