We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central London location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Ranked #164 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great central London location”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was a very pleasent hotel in a great location. Very modern and clean building, and only 5 minutes walk from nearest tube station (Southwark) which is on the Jubilee Line, so convienient for connecting with all major stops and attractions, including Waterloo Train station 1 stop away.
Very helpfull staff, and the all you can eat buffet breakfast was excellant and kept topped up and fresh. I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    536
    91
    19
    19
See reviews for
794
412
55
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here for four nights for our anniversary. The room was spotless, staff were very friendly and the vegetarian sausages were cooked to perfection. Our room was great with a view of the shard. We were looking forward to a lie in as we have four boys at home but banging from a building site over the road started quite early. Also there was a loud horn like noise at random times during the day and night which seemed to be something to do with the water pipes. I woke up a 2am in a panic thinking the fire alarm was going off. Apart from that everything was great, we will have to wait until next year to get a lie in.

Room Tip: Room 801 was big with a good view but had water pipe and building site noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieanddave746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here overnight at the same time last year and returned because the hotel offered exactly what we needed:
- proximity to the Christmas party venue
- proximity to mainline London railway stations
- comfortable bed
- decent shower
- clean
- friendly service
- good price (£70 per night, no breakfast, paid in advance).

We didn't have breakfast or dinner, or require anything special, just a place to sleep after the Christmas party at the OXO Tower. We slept very well; there was no noise on the 8th floor. I did remember to hang out the "do not disturb" sign and nobody disturbed us. You do get half an hour free wifi but I didn't bother to use it. We were able to leave our bags after check out whilst we went Christmas shopping.

All in all, great value and smiling staff. I would book again for next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weary235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The hotel is clean and very comfortable and the Staff is knowledgable and very helpful and friendly. The beds are extremely comfortable and the pillows feel like your own. Great location and would love to go back and stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denmark
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Great location right by the South Bank. Very close to the underground and only 5 minutes walk to Blackfriars railway station which has a direct route to Gatwick airport.
The customer service in this hotel was fantastic!! And we were given a room on the top floor with a great view of The Shard!
I will be returning to London next year and, even though this hotel isn't near where I need to be, I will stay here again anyway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at the Premier Inn in Southwark for three nights (Thursday – Sunday). The hotel is located approximately 5 minutes’ walk from Southwark Tube Station and is easy to find; just follow the coloured lampposts towards the Tate.

As we’d already checked in on-line, we took advantage of the express and self-check-in at the hotel. The friendly reception staff were at hand to greet and inform us of breakfast times and instructions on how to use the lift.

The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. Tea/Coffee facilities were also available. We did have a need to complain about a strange noise/vibration in our room. It seemed to be coming from within the walls and from under the floor. A member of staff did visit our room and as soon as she heard the noise she insisted that we transferred rooms. As we were on our way out for the evening she said that it would be no problem to change rooms when we returned later that evening. This we did and the same lady assisted in a smooth room transfer (even though she had finished her shift for that evening and was on her way home). The second room we had was again clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was really good. Basically all you can eat and the food was fresh, hot and very tasty. This was our first stay at a Premier Inn, and the breakfast was comparable, if not better, than any other hotel we’ve stayed in.

We did make use of the bar and found that the prices were very reasonable for London.

Overall, a very nice hotel, good location, comfortable room, fantastic breakfast and really helpful and courteous staff… well done! We’ll definitely be returning when visiting London again.

Room Tip: Our first room was 217... keep clear of this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_a_Sian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights from 4th December 2013! Straight away the staff were all really friendly, the room was spotless and we really enjoyed our stay here! Breakfast was good and again the staff were great, really polite and always smiling!! Hotel is in a great location, just 5 min walk from southwark tube station!! Would stay here again and recommend it!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#51 of 1,069 in London
1,571 reviews
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Address: 15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind the South Bank, where you'll discover modern art, entertainment and contemporary culture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing