We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location if you have young children...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Ranked #142 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good location if you have young children...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked this hotel specifically for its location as we needed to be in Nunhead on Sat night. We didn't want to be doing a lot of tube travelling or walking either as we have a 3 yr old who is past the buggy stage.

Southwark station is a gentle 7-8min walk through a reasonably nice area. There is a lot of building work going on at the moment but the area felt safe. Coming from Kings Cross it was 2 simple tube rides and easy to find from Southwark station.

Upon arrival, we' d already done the online check in, so we were shown to the check in screens and simply had to type in our surname and our keys were despatched out of the machine, very quick and easy, no messing about filling in forms etc, a good touch, and the lady who helped us was very friendly and professional.

We were on the 5 the floor, room 502, directly in front of the lift. We were worried at first but as I had asked for a quiet room we didn't mention it, to our detriment later on.

The room was typical Premier Inn, roomy, clean with everything you could need for 1 night. We had a double with a sofa bed and there was plenty of room. We used the heating as it was a bit cold but it soon warmed up. The bathroom was also roomy and perfectly clean, usually when you switch the bathroom lights on in hotels its quite noisy but not in here. Beds were comfy with a choice of 2 styles of pillows and we were provided with good quality large white towels. Shower gel, hand soap, tea and coffee was all provided. We asked for an iron and board and one arrived at our room in just under 5 mins, superb service.

We took an afternoon walk to the South bank and this took about 10mins. We arrived on the Southbank right in front of Tate Modern and the Millennium Bridge and had a lovely stroll over the river to St Paul's. I didn't realise just how close we were to the river, this was a superb spot.

After our night out, we arrived back to our room at about 10.30pm and this is where the fun began. The motor for the lift hadn't been noticeable during the day but now it was extremely loud and unpleasant. Also, as our door was directly opposite the lift door, people waiting for the lift and arriving out of it were chatting away, some very loudly. 'Darren' was obviously misbehaving as someone was shouting his name over and over again at 1 am right outside my door. This was obviously not the hotels fault and lift noise can't be avoided but we had asked for a quiet room and we didn't get one, shame as it did spoil our nights sleep. However, when I mentioned this the following morning, the gentleman on the welcome desk was superb, apologised and said we shouldn't have been allocated that room, he the arranged a full refund, excellent customer service once again.

Another positive is the restaurant in this hotel, the service was superb and the breakfast was excellent. We sampled both the hot and cold selections and couldn't fault any of it. It was busy but I wouldn't have expected less on a Sunday morning in central London.

My final tip would be if you need a taxi cab while here, use Waterloo Taxi company who are based just around the corner. When we called we asked for an idea of a price and we agreed a fare there and then so there were no 'extra' surprises.

This is a great hotel in a great spot, just make sure if you really want a quiet room, you get one away from the lifts!

We will return here ourselves and will make sure we do just that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts, high floors have less traffic noise but to be honest, this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali-Oh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wozani T, Operations Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and you found the team to be friendly and professional. I am also glad that you had

I apologise for the noise issue you experience. We always try our best to ensure our guests have a good night and that there are no noise issues. In future, please feel free to contact our 24hr reception team via your in room telephone and they will gladly resolve that for you. I am glad you were satisfied with the resolution to your complaint.

Your comments have been fed back to the team that deal with managing noise during the night to ensure your experience is not repeated again. I look forward to welcoming back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    513
    84
    17
    16
See reviews for
764
392
52
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here recently for 3 nights. The hotel is in a very convenient location almost behind Tate Modern. There are some trendy local cafes for alternative breakfasts. Although very close to some busy rail lines, our room was very quiet. Easy access via Southwark tube station or London Bridge. Very friendly staffed, though they were over-stretched for breakfast at 10am on Sunday !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wozani T, Operations Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We are indeed in a very central location and within walking distance to most tourist attractions.
Thank you for your comments about our friendly team. They are our very best asset and they will be delighted to read your comments.
We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

The best Premier Inn we have stayed at. Clean, comfortable, good breakfast with gluten free option, our special requests were all promised (which has happened before at other Premier Inns) but at this one they were actually delivered. Friendly, helpful staff. What more could we want.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wozani T, Operations Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. I am more than delighted that you found us to be the best Premier Inn you have stayed in.
I have passed your comments on to the team who will be very pleased to have met and exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again for another 5 star experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Our request for a quiet room was met and we slept extremely well. The staff were really friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Breakfast was great but the dining room was draughty from the opening of automatic doors onto the street.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderingstar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wozani T, Operations Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our team members were very pleased to read your comments and it has served as a great motivator to continue to provide a high level of service.
I apologise for the draught you felt due to the opening of the automatic doors. In future, please let us know and we will sit you in a place where you are most comfortable.
I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I am a Premier Inn regular and was interested to try this new hotel in a great location. I was not disappointed. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. I would avoid the £6.99 Californian wine next time but the food was good. Room & bathroom were clean and comfortable. I think the room (and possibly bed?) are smaller than in some Premier Inns, but for central London it was fine. Location was great for us arriving/departing at Waterloo and we visited the Tate Modern, as well as exploring the Southbank and up past Tower Bridge to the Design Museum. It is not far from Southwark tube station either so we made use of that when venturing north of the river, though we did also walk over the Millennium Bridge to matins at St Paul's Cathedral. All in all a great weekend!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LE4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wozani T, Operations Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. I am delighted that you found the room to be nice and clean
and the team to be very friendly. I will ensure these comments are fed back to as it serves as great motivation for them.
I am glad you took advantage of the location of the hotel to access most toursit places. It is indeed very central and makes it easy to walk to most places. Once again thank you for you review and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Great hotel, brilliant breakfast. Great value and location not bad, close to tube. Friendly staff, clean room. I had trouble sleeping on hard bed but the rest of the family slept without any problems.



  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wozani T, Operations Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. I am glad you enjoyed every sapect of your stay. I apologise that you found the bed to be a little hard, next time you stay with us please feel free to call our 24hr reception team and they will be more than happy to assist with any issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I was looking for a hotel within range of an evening function near the Tower of London and Waterloo station. It needed to be within a reasonable budget. This Premier Inn fitted the bill. I was a little worried that it might be in a rather out of the way part of London with few facilities nearby. I was very surprised to find it is in a vibrant and redeveloped part of the South Bank with all necessary amenities nearby. The staff were friendly and efficient and the hotel itself is quite new. It is still very fresh, newly decorated and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wozani T, Operations Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is a pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you again for your comments about the team. They will be glad to hear that you found them to be friendly and efficient.
The area has indeed developed in the last few years and continues to do so, so it comes as a shock for most who knew the Southwark from a few years back. Rest assured when you return something new will have also popped up. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Address: 15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind the South Bank, where you'll discover modern art, entertainment and contemporary culture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing