We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Ranked #182 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We travelled to London on the day of the underground strike. The hotel was only 10 mins walk from Waterloo station. We were made very welcome and the staff were all so friendly and helpful. They gave us advice on bus routes we could use. The hotel is situated near the Tate modern and Millenium bridge. It has very good bus routes to Central London and the bus stop is only a few minutes walk away.
The cooked breakfast was excellent and we booked the restaurant one evening for a meal, again this was very good and reasonably priced.
The members of staff always had smiles on their faces and could not do enough to help. I was celebrating my birthday and it was a lovely surprise to have a card in the room waiting for me. Thank you for making the break away special. Would definitely return.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank aquarian49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,717)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,061 - 1,067 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Staying with my wife for a dining night and then visit to Tate Modern. Booked hotel for location and convenience. It was a new hotel and staff were very attentive from outset. Room was clean and surprisingly large for London. No great frills but if you want a relatively inexpensive overnight stay in London this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayorBust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed at this Premier Inn over a weekend in January and found the location to be superb. My family and two parents in their early seventies bought oyster cards and travelled by Tube to see the sights by day and travelled back to the hotel from the west end in the evening on the night bus.
The hotel we well kept, breakfast was good value for money and the staff freindly and helpful. The area around the hotel felt safe and there was a good pub between the tube station and the hotel called the Union Jack where live music takes place on a Saturday night. Overall a good stay and would we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suresigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wozani T, Operations Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always strive to provide the highest level of customer service and we are glad you had an enjoyable experience with us. The location of the hotel is very central and in a quite area and so it is favourable as compared to other city locations.
I am also glad that you took advantage of our great value 'all you can eat' breakfast and you enjoyed it as much. We look forward welcoming you againin the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Like all Premier Inns we've stayed at, this was consistent with the usual no frills, good location, excellent service and good value. They changed our room without fuss and looked after our luggage while we toured the area after check out.


  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank properjobmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wozani T, Operations Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you took advantage of our left luggage facility to make the most of your visit.
We hope to see you again soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I had an occasion to stay in hotel Premier Inn London Southwark- Tate Modern for about two weeks during 2012.. I found hotel quite comfortable, very clean having excellent service and good quality vegetarian and Non-vegetarian food. There was no complaint of any nature. The hotel staff was very cordial; co-operative and worth remembering. Room charges were quite affordable. There is a departmental store adjacent to the hotel and one can buy all types of day to day requirements from the store at reasonable price. I rate the hotel as excellent for long stay during any month of the year. Subhash Lather

Room Tip: Rooms on second and third floors are quite comfortable for reason that one is not required to wait f...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subhash L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wozani T, Operations Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your glowing review. We are glad that we gave you cause to remember us since your last stay. Our prices are indeed competitive and we now also have premier saver rates online to make sure you get the best value for your money.
The area has developed even more since your visit and hope you will be back soon to see it.
Thank you for your comments about the team, they will be glad to know they made your stay memorable. We hope see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked this hotel specifically for its location as we needed to be in Nunhead on Sat night. We didn't want to be doing a lot of tube travelling or walking either as we have a 3 yr old who is past the buggy stage.

Southwark station is a gentle 7-8min walk through a reasonably nice area. There is a lot of building work going on at the moment but the area felt safe. Coming from Kings Cross it was 2 simple tube rides and easy to find from Southwark station.

Upon arrival, we' d already done the online check in, so we were shown to the check in screens and simply had to type in our surname and our keys were despatched out of the machine, very quick and easy, no messing about filling in forms etc, a good touch, and the lady who helped us was very friendly and professional.

We were on the 5 the floor, room 502, directly in front of the lift. We were worried at first but as I had asked for a quiet room we didn't mention it, to our detriment later on.

The room was typical Premier Inn, roomy, clean with everything you could need for 1 night. We had a double with a sofa bed and there was plenty of room. We used the heating as it was a bit cold but it soon warmed up. The bathroom was also roomy and perfectly clean, usually when you switch the bathroom lights on in hotels its quite noisy but not in here. Beds were comfy with a choice of 2 styles of pillows and we were provided with good quality large white towels. Shower gel, hand soap, tea and coffee was all provided. We asked for an iron and board and one arrived at our room in just under 5 mins, superb service.

We took an afternoon walk to the South bank and this took about 10mins. We arrived on the Southbank right in front of Tate Modern and the Millennium Bridge and had a lovely stroll over the river to St Paul's. I didn't realise just how close we were to the river, this was a superb spot.

After our night out, we arrived back to our room at about 10.30pm and this is where the fun began. The motor for the lift hadn't been noticeable during the day but now it was extremely loud and unpleasant. Also, as our door was directly opposite the lift door, people waiting for the lift and arriving out of it were chatting away, some very loudly. 'Darren' was obviously misbehaving as someone was shouting his name over and over again at 1 am right outside my door. This was obviously not the hotels fault and lift noise can't be avoided but we had asked for a quiet room and we didn't get one, shame as it did spoil our nights sleep. However, when I mentioned this the following morning, the gentleman on the welcome desk was superb, apologised and said we shouldn't have been allocated that room, he the arranged a full refund, excellent customer service once again.

Another positive is the restaurant in this hotel, the service was superb and the breakfast was excellent. We sampled both the hot and cold selections and couldn't fault any of it. It was busy but I wouldn't have expected less on a Sunday morning in central London.

My final tip would be if you need a taxi cab while here, use Waterloo Taxi company who are based just around the corner. When we called we asked for an idea of a price and we agreed a fare there and then so there were no 'extra' surprises.

This is a great hotel in a great spot, just make sure if you really want a quiet room, you get one away from the lifts!

We will return here ourselves and will make sure we do just that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts, high floors have less traffic noise but to be honest, this hotel...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali-Oh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wozani T, Operations Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and you found the team to be friendly and professional. I am also glad that you had

I apologise for the noise issue you experience. We always try our best to ensure our guests have a good night and that there are no noise issues. In future, please feel free to contact our 24hr reception team via your in room telephone and they will gladly resolve that for you. I am glad you were satisfied with the resolution to your complaint.

Your comments have been fed back to the team that deal with managing noise during the night to ensure your experience is not repeated again. I look forward to welcoming back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here recently for 3 nights. The hotel is in a very convenient location almost behind Tate Modern. There are some trendy local cafes for alternative breakfasts. Although very close to some busy rail lines, our room was very quiet. Easy access via Southwark tube station or London Bridge. Very friendly staffed, though they were over-stretched for breakfast at 10am on Sunday !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wozani T, Operations Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We are indeed in a very central location and within walking distance to most tourist attractions.
Thank you for your comments about our friendly team. They are our very best asset and they will be delighted to read your comments.
We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Address: 15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £95 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind the South Bank, where you'll discover modern art, entertainment and contemporary culture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing