We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Ranked #139 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

very nice place to stay.
staff very helpful and freindly.
good food.comfortable beds clean rooms and lifts to all floors.
very handy location to visit many of londons attractions and close
to tube and train stations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank recoveryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    504
    80
    15
    16
See reviews for
746
390
49
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Possibly some of the worst customer service I've ever experienced.

They may guarantee a good night but that is only if you can actually get the room you've booked.

I booked this hotel as I needed to be close by for a business meeting the following day. I knew local hotels were busy that night so I chose to check in online to make sure I had no problems with my room.

Clearly pre-paying in advance isn't enough though as I received a call to explain that due to a "burst water main" I had to switch hotels - to a pub round the corner - which is apparently "really good mate".

I then received another call 45 minutes later explaining that actually that reservation wasn't available and I was now booked into another hotel but that I needed to go to the Premier Inn and get a taxi as it was quite a long way away.

This is the kind of terrible service that I don't expect to receive from a national chain.

I logged onto lastminute.com and booked one of their top secret rooms instead - it was booked immediately and available without a problem when I arrived at my hotel 2 hours later.

Personally I'd recommend you do that instead of taking your chances with this group of fools.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Excellent location and exactly what we wanted for our stay in London! Friendly staff, clean room, good value for money, and a great breakfast! Our only criticism was that the pull out bed for one of the children wasn't that comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, Inghilterra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We spend three nights in this hotel and it was very enjoyable time. Comfortable room for a family, very clean. Modern hotel, English breakfast and continental one, all you can eat and good quality food. Location not so far from Southwark Underground stop. 20 minutes walking far from Tower bridge. I will come back another time in the future. Suggested.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank walterix74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was our 3rd visit to this hotel over the past 3 years. It had only been opened 5 weeks on our first visit. Excellent location, very friendly staff, clean and comfortable, good price. What more do you need from a London hotel? We will be booking for next year too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AHodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Great little hotel in the heart of the South Bank. Walking distance to all major attractions. Very clean, good value and a great breakfast. You know what you are getting with Premier inn and they never fail to provide.
Well done and thanks

Room Tip: Rooms are a good size for London, we had a great stay thanks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warbis66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I may regret writing this review next time I attempt to book the Premier Inn Southwark and find that it's already full. But to give it less than full praise would be greatly unfair.
To begin, the hotel is well situated for a lot of South Bank locations as well as many just across the river, they are all well within walking distance for the fit. For those who are not then a good bus service at the end of the road will get you to Waterloo or London Bridge stations/underground in minutes.
The hotel itself is new so clean, warm, comfortable and pretty sound-proof. The rooms are of good standard for the cost and the dining room provides excellent value meals. Add to this the friendly and helpful staff and prices that reflect reality as far as us 'out of towners' are concerned it is easy to see why I would be wanting to book again on our next visit to London - so long as too many others don't read reviews like this! A particular bonus was the great local pub thirty yards up the street andTesco and Sainsbury convenience stores (with cash points) almost on the doorstep. There are also several acceptable restaurants within five minutes walk.
Top marks to Premier Inn for providing reasonably priced accommodation in the centre of London.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinos43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#56 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Address: 15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind the South Bank, where you'll discover modern art, entertainment and contemporary culture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing