We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could not fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Ranked #181 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

From the moment we stepped into the lobby to the moment we left we could not have been treated better, the staff were amazing. Rooms clean, bathrooms spotless and it was so quiet at night i thought we were at home. Breakfasts were good and the one dinner we had there was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah A, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a 5* review of your stay with us here at London Southwark Tate Modern Premier Inn. It is great to read that you had a good stay and that you thought the team were amazing, they will be honoured to read such kind feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on opsmgr.londonsouthwarktatemodern@whitbread.com if there is anything I can assist you with on your next visit to London! Regards, Sarah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 996 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed for two nights last weekend. We picked this location on the basis that our trip to London was including a visit to The Shard. Five minutes' walk from Southwark tube, a further five minutes to Waterloo (along The Cut so plenty of restaurants to choose from), five minutes' walk to Tate Modern and South Bank, about 15 minutes' walk to The Shard / London Bridge / Borough Market. Staff were all very friendly. We arrived early but were allowed to leave our bags for the afternoon. The room was small but very quiet - tucked at the end of a corridor next to a staff-only stairwell - we heard no noise at all in the two nights. Room was spotlessly clean and had everything you need for an overnight stay. Both Tesco Express and Sainsburys' Local next door. Breakfast buffet substantial as always but not quite as good value now it is £9.75 (used to be £7.95..?!) - a very minor niggle!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenO89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah A, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at Southwark Tate Modern Premier Inn. We are indeed situated in a great spot with so many attractions and amenities within close by. The price of our Premier breakfast has indeed risen by 80p to allow for additional items such as grape fruit and blueberry muffins to be added to the menu. I hope to welcome you back to Southwark Tate Modern Premier Inn on your next visit to London! Regards, Sarah (opsmgr.londonsouthwarktatemodern@whitbread.com).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Spent one night at premier Tate Modern.Sited on South Bank. First visit to a Premier Inn Hotel and would defo use again, the rooms are really good, food at breakfast and dinner were excellent, and the staff were so polite from start to finish of the visit. The only fault was the heating in the room, would not stay on but after a night at the theatre it really did not matter.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed here a few times now and I would recommend it. The staff are friendly, the rooms are good as is the breakfast. The location is in easy reach of most attractions by tube. Although it is a premier inn and in a big city it has the feel of a more homely hotel. Worth a visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and we could see the shard from our window on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent service, location and standard in the property. Quiet area, but fairly close to Southwark tube and access to main sights within minutes by tube. Staff went out of their way to help (mostly). We arrived at11am and were able to leave our luggage at the hotel until later when we could check in. Also on our last day we were able to leave luggage to be picked up at 3pm. This free service was invaluable to us and made all the difference to our stay as we were only there for two nights. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essjaykay2429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for bank holiday weekend with husband and two kids. From check in to check out we had no problems. Staff are wonderful and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and they made our stay in London a fab one. Comfortable family room too, comfy quite rooms. Will stay again. :) x

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordenne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel is in a good location for the Tate Modern, Shard, St. Paul's and The Eye. All are within a 20 minute walk and the river walk is great.
As usual with Premier Inn you get a warm welcome from helpful staff and a more than adequate room. I do however wish they provided a fridge and a safe. The breakfast will satisfy the hungry traveller with fresh hot food,
If you are driving, beware the nearby Union Car park as the charges work out at £2 an hour. Best to use public transport if you can.


Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#267 of 1,077 in London
3,425 reviews
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Address: 15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £90 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind the South Bank, where you'll discover modern art, entertainment and contemporary culture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing