We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“19 of us stayed in June 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Ranked #139 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Montpellier, France
1 review
“19 of us stayed in June 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was the first time we were staying at the Premier Inn Southwark tate modern and we had a great time. the staff were so friendly, the breakfast delicious with fresh fruits and full english breakfast and lovely croissant and muffin for the children. I was even able to have gluten free bread being gluten intolerant. The nedroom was very confortable (not very big once you have a double and 2 single beds) but very good siez for those who were only 2! The location is perfect to explore that side of London with lots of places to eat and drink and an on-site restaurant as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    504
    80
    15
    16
See reviews for
746
390
49
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for a weekend away. Good location and easy access to the south bank and Tate modern which is only five minutes walk away. Easy check in and friendly staff. Quiet location and good food. Would stay again when next in London.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I took my friend here last weekend for her 50th birthday. The staff couldn't have been better if they tried, they made a fuss of my friend all weekend and she was given a free breakfast on her actual birthday. They were helpful, friendly, polite, professional and ordered taxis for us and gave us directions each day. I need to mention 2 of the reception staff by name for exceptional service, Krishana and Ashleigh, thank you both very much.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jetsetters5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah A, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a 5* review of your stay here at London Southwark Tate Modern Premier Inn. I hope your friend had a great birthday in London and we would love to welcome her back for her 51st! I have passed on your comments to Krishana and Ashleigh who are proud to receive such kind feedback. Thank you once again, Sarah (opsmgr.londonsouthwarktatemodern@whitbread.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We are travelling through Ireland, UK and Europe, and have stayed in several hotel providers. Our experiences at seven Premier Inns through Ireland and UK was very enjoyable. Highly recommend this Hotel chain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah A, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a 5* review of your time here at London Southwark Tate Modern Premier Inn and other Premier Inns around the country. It is great to read that you are enjoying your many stays at Premier Inns. I hope you enjoy your travels across Europe! And I hope to welcome you back to Southwark Tate Modern Premier Inn on your next visit to London. Regards, Sarah (opsmgr.londonsouthwarktatemodern@whitbread.com).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

A lovely warm welcome from two young members of staff, friendly, jokey and polite. Our room was clean, quiet and all we could want. There was a problem with our internet, we were charged 7 times in a matter of minutes- and while the staff at premier inn were very apologetic and understanding the same can't be said about their partner IT company who will get our over charges back in 5 to 7 days... A lot longer than the 5 to 7 minutes it took to take our money 7 times! Other customers should be aware of this glitch! The front of house staff at premier inn kindly gave us a free wifi voucher.. Can't speak highly enough of them! The hotel itself is a short walk to the river in one direction and to southwark station in the other, handy Tesco., Sainsbury and costa right on the doorstep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah A, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I apologise sincerely for your poor experience of our wifi and I'm glad that our team managed to help you resolve this. I hope to welcome you back to London Southwark Tate Modern Premier Inn on yout next visit to London! Regards, Sarah (opsmgr.londonsouthwarktatemodern@whitbread.com).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Premier Inn in Southwark is worth the money. The staff were all vvery friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The rooms were typical Premier Inn - clean, spacious and purple, My room was on the firsst floor but the usual late night traffic and pedesitrian noises didn't disturb my sleep. The breakfast was the standard Premier Inn choices, and although I was at breakfast only 20 minutes after it opened, the buffet style full English food was definitely freshly cooked and not left out for ages to dry out. I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RugbyGirl1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah A, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a 5* review of your stay with us. I am very glad to hear that you had your guaranteed good night's sleep! It is great to hear that you would stay with us again, if there is anything I can do for you on your next visit to Southwark Tate Modern Premier Inn please do not hesitate to contact me on opsmgr.londonsouthwarktatemodern@whitbread.com. Regards, Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Really quiet hotel a short walk from the Tate modern and Shakespeare's globe theatre.
Room was clean and we had a great view of the the Shard from the 8th floor. Comfortable bed, nice staff and a quiet bar to relax in. Great location. Will use as a base for future overnight stays in London.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mauimanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#56 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Address: 15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind the South Bank, where you'll discover modern art, entertainment and contemporary culture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing