We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Ranked #180 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing staff!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and although the rooms were very much like other hotel chains what made this hotel stand out were the staff. So warm and friendly, we were never made to feel an inconvenience, which these days is very rare!! Everyone from reception to waitresses were fantastic. The ability to arrive early and leave our luggage before check in time meant we could make the most of our time in London. Would definitely recommend and stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grimwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    547
    98
    19
    19
See reviews for
808
418
56
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very friendly staff and location was perfect for local amenities. Area round hotel was quiet and plenty of local shops in the area.Food was very good and rooms were spotless. Freindliness of staff made it a pleasure to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, NSW
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Travelling with 3 children can be expensive, as throughout Europe, you usually have to buy 2 rooms. We stayed in an apartment for the first half of our stay in London - which was economical; but for a hotel, you can't beat the Premier chain.
It starts with the booking. Online, or over the phone (we did both); they really make it easy. For Central London, you will find rates hard to beat, particularly when booked and paid in advance. Getting adjacent rooms (for families) is easy enough to request; however, I would speak directly with an operator to request interconnecting. FYI, this particular Premier Inn does not have interconnecting rooms.
Being always busy, you probably will not be able to get in to your room before the 2pm check-in. However, luggage storage is available, and the Tate Modern museum - it's free! - can pass the time.
The rooms make good use of the available space, and are in a very well-kept condition. The bathroom fittings look new and updated.
Beds are comfortable, with no noise issues overnight.
Breakfast is an inexpensive option which should be taken advantage of, as the kids eat free. The hot and cold selections should satisfy most tastes. If you are staying for more than 3 nights, perhaps drop a days breakfast; try the excellent (nearby) Borough market for something different.
The staff are always present, helpful, and above-all, friendly.
Final words relate to getting to this hotel:
The nearest tube stop is Southwark. The walk is only 5-10 min, but if you have heavy luggage, it could be a struggle.
We had a car, which I dropped my wife and kids off, with the luggage. There is street parking available - if lucky, which we were - but watch out for parking inspectors. I ran out and managed to prevent the officer writing a ticket. Don't forget the congestion tax, as the hotel is in the zone.
Best way to get to this hotel is by taxi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedjlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here when visiting for work, the hotel took a little bit of locating as there is another premier in about 10 mins walk which we thought we had booked. I phoned the hotel and the staff were fab they even offered to phone me back and talk us through directions, which was a nice touch. When we made it to our hotel and throughout our stay we encountered even more friendly and approachable staff.Our work had booked all rooms for breakfast but our booking only showed one of them with breakfast, this was swiftly taken care of for us The hotel was clean and comfortable but as I say what made our stay pleasant and enjoyable were the staff, they engaged with everyone that came through the door.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staceyeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

You can't get any better especially where service is concern. This includes the 5 starred hotels. Sometimes big and beautiful doesn't cut it. Service above all must prevail. This is especially true when you have tourist and foreigner stamped on your forehead and seemingly not being able to speak English. I have noticed a lot of hotel staff shying away from customers who do not seem to be able to speak English, but in the case of Premier Inn I think the staff has been well trained and unbiased. In fact most of their name tags highlight the languages they speak. Extremely helpful and flexible as I had observed them treating 3 grumpy and fussy old ladies with the utmost patience and diplomacy to adhere to the very difficult requests presented to them. The rooms are a class above all budget hotels and 4 starred hotels and below. You may be paying for a lot of unnecessary hardware in "starred" hotels but this is just perfect to fit the everyday needs. Wifi is dirt cheap, (don't know how they do it, but certainly a BIG star from me) and excellent. Food is amazing (the chicken wings are a great favorite of mine) and diverse. Drinks are fantastically priced (happy hours are 2 for the price of 1). You only pay 4 pounds for 2 full pints of Guiness which was awesome during the World Cup. You could get drunk and not worry about getting back to the hotel and not forgetting the friendliest of staff to keep you entertained during the drinks session.(TQ Jazmin, Morgan and Donnie)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryChin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was the first time we were staying at the Premier Inn Southwark tate modern and we had a great time. the staff were so friendly, the breakfast delicious with fresh fruits and full english breakfast and lovely croissant and muffin for the children. I was even able to have gluten free bread being gluten intolerant. The nedroom was very confortable (not very big once you have a double and 2 single beds) but very good siez for those who were only 2! The location is perfect to explore that side of London with lots of places to eat and drink and an on-site restaurant as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for a weekend away. Good location and easy access to the south bank and Tate modern which is only five minutes walk away. Easy check in and friendly staff. Quiet location and good food. Would stay again when next in London.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#53 of 1,069 in London
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Address: 15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind the South Bank, where you'll discover modern art, entertainment and contemporary culture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing