We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away!”
Review of Baytree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baytree Hotel
Ranked #1,012 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“stay away!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

-location bad, far from the tube /20 minutes/, although the bus stop is about 5 miutes.
-neigborhood terrible, lot of bad face on the street.
-staff unfriendly, don't say anything, just give the key and tells the room number
-you don't get any receipt of the payment, of course
-room is rubbish, sheets are dirty and cracked.
-there is no shower cabin or tub in the bathroom, need to stand on the floor and water flows everything
-the reservation said sound-proof rooms, I heard everything from the next room
-late night and early morning door banging
-after these things I decided to skip breakfast, I couldn't eat or drink anything from this house!

Room Tip: don't believe the photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    13
    30
    27
    67
See reviews for
21
49
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leigh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Was a little worried what to expect when arriving here seeing that the hotel was above a pub but had no problems at all with noise on the two nights we stayed. The room was missing a small wardrobe or somewhere to put your clothes and the bathroom was rather small but for a clean and comfortable affordable base for a weekend visit to London it was adequate. Breakfast was served in the pub but on the first morning there were no tables free so we decided to go to the wetherspoons just a few minutes walk away. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel because of its price and location. I was quite surprised with what they had managed to do with the space. In all it had what was needed in a budget hotel and was well decorated and very clean. Would I visit again, most defiantly!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dadwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 double rooms and it was enough for a city trip where you just stay for sleeping.
At the time of arrival the heating was not working but after telling that to the reception 2 times it got fixed.
Breakfast was ok and all in all a good guesthouse for a 4 day city trip!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DanStone8703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Staff reasonable on 'need to communicate' basis. Time has been spent on making this adaptation to a pub look modern, although cheap looking fitting do let it down. Room very small but adequate for our 1 night, bathroom required better cleaning along with fixing the dodgy toilet seat.
Price states Full English Breakfast included (Fab I thought) - Reality was more Hmm where?!......... Toast, oil soaked scrambled egg and small pot of cold baked beans. Quite let down, poor show!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pas675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Cascais, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Looked great on the pictures, but not so great upon arrival.
The staff is friendly and welcoming, but the rooms are so tiny that the bed fills most of the space on the room.
Breakfast is good enough to keep you from starving, but that's just it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed for one night and that was one night too long.

We chose this hotel as it is fairly close to 'Westfield Stratford City' shopping centre. On approach to the hotel we were made to feel uneasy as we were eyeballed by numerous people as we walked down the street - the area was rough looking. Check-in was easy enough however, and the 'rain shower' was fairly impressive. The bed was also relatively comfortable, but that was as good as it got. According to the website the rooms are sound proof but this is a myth. The noise (music and singing) in the early hours of the morning was unbearable and we couldn't get any sleep once woken by it. I'm not sure whether it came from outside, downstairs, or another room, but it was impossible to ignore. Decided to lift the blind and look outside but the window was boarded up and even had bars on it! No tea/coffee making facilities in room, only a pathetic machine in reception. Apparently there is a 'luggage room' but after we checked-out and asked to store two bags for a few hours, we were told to leave them on a chair in front of the reception desk, accessible to anyone - we politely refused the offer.

If you actually want to get some sleep, pay a little more and go elsewhere!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Conor19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Epsilon Hotel
#589 of 1,069 in London
185 reviews
Travelodge London Stratford
#361 of 1,069 in London
1,193 reviews
Viking Hotel
#820 of 1,069 in London
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#481 of 1,069 in London
814 reviews
Venture Hostels
#703 of 1,069 in London
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baytree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baytree Hotel

Property: Baytree Hotel
Address: 59 Vicarage Lane | Newham, Stratford, London E15 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,012 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baytree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within 2 miles of the Olympic Village in Stratford, East London, the Baytree Hotel includes a pub and features free Wi-Fi. Stratford Rail and Underground Station is less than a mile away and London City Airport is within 5 miles.Westfield Stratford City, one of the UK’s largest shopping centres, is located within 2 miles of the hotel and adjacent to the Olympic Village. The O2 Arena can be reached within 20 minutes from Stratford Tube Station and Central London is just over a 30-minute Tube journey away.Rooms at the Baytree are soundproofed and feature contemporary furnishings and neutral décor. They are all equipped with an LCD flat-screen TV, a DVD player as well as an en suite bathroom with rain shower.The hotel features a bar that includes traditional entertainment such as a dart board and a pool table. Guests can take advantage of the communal computer with internet and there is also a shared guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baytree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing