We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good plain food at a reasonable price”
Review of cafe Floris

cafe Floris
Ranked #2,226 of 22,692 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good plain food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Called in here on way to National History Museum, as lunchtime everywhere full but they managed to get 4 of us in. Friendly service, tasty light snack food and a warm atmosphere.
One point to remember they DO NOT take credit cards but were happy for me to go to a bank just across the street and use the ATM.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GVC1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    50
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Cheap and cheerful. Good value for money”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

No complaints. Ordered a simple tea with a sausage and egg baguette for £5. Very tasty with efficient and friendly staff. If you are short of a few pounds and looking for somewhere quick to grab a snack or all day breakfast then this is the place. Very pleased.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donnaridland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A perfect find”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We happened to stumble across this as we were en route to Gloucester Road tube to avoid the squash at South Kensington. We'd originally only stopped fro a coffee but ended up having food there, the food is simple and straight forward but tasty nonetheless. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and more helpful. My little boy managed to lose the head off one of his lego figures and the manager helped to look for it and indeed he did find it! In the heart of London it was a welcome relief to find somewhere unpretentious and reasonably priced with good food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This busy Cafe is a stone's throw from South Kensington UndergrounD station. Considering its location, in one of London's busiest tourist areas, the prices are reasonable. We chose the English breakfast which came with a drink, fruit juice and toast. However, it did not have mushrooms, tomato or black pudding and so if you want the 'full works' go for the Special Breakfast.
The staff were very friendly indeed and the service second-to-none.
I work in this area occasionally and so will be very likely to return to this little gem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mekydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This is a breakfast review. The cafe is located a stone's throw from South Kensington Station, making it a convenient place to have a hearty breakfast before a day on foot. I stopped there two times and enjoyed an omelette, steaming coffee with milk, and juice. The staff are pleasant and the premises clean and welcoming. For under ten pounds, I'm not sure what else one would want. I liked it a great deal and appreciated most the cleanliness. It's clean, bright, and cheerful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PigsFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed cafe Floris also viewed

 

Been to cafe Floris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing