We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic simple French food without the grumpy French waiters”
Review of Brasserie Zedel

Brasserie Zedel
Reserve with OpenTable
Brasserie Zedel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #549 of 23,025 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$62
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Soho
Description: A large, bustling Parisian brasserie transported to the heart of London. Open throughout the day, offering great value with remarkably low prices, its glorious, historic Art Deco interiors also play host to a 'Bar Americain', 'The Crazy Coqs', a live music and cabaret venue and ZL Cafe.
Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Authentic simple French food without the grumpy French waiters”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I had eaten at Zedel three times, lunches and dinner and will be going back again when I am in London. It serves the authentic french brasserie type food at such good prices that you can't help but wonder why they don't charge more. It has great atmosphere and is always very busy, but they don't turn their nose up if you come without the booking and try to find the table for you asap. Service is efficient, polite and attentive. Highly recommend it for business and for leisure dining.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelproLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,850
    1,429
    465
    183
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Authentique!”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

As regular visitors to Paris and having eaten in scores of brasseries in France over the last 25 years, we have to say that Zedel is up there with the best in terms of authenticity and value for money. Yes, it is a big room with lots of gilding, etc., but so is the Train Bleu in Gare du Nord and some of the Brasserie Flo chain and they don't come more authentically Parisian than that - especially if you get the grumpy waiter as well!! However, I must say that in our case, the staff were friendly, welcoming and attentive. For example, the carafe of water was replaced without asking when it was empty and, at the end of the meal, a liqueur coffee was produced with a smile and exactly as ordered, even though liqueur coffees are not listed on the menu. The gamey pate starter with cornichons tasted exactly as one would expect in France, as did the confit du canard with the garlic potatoes, the steak with pommes frites and "squeaky" green beans, the isle flottante and the enormous bowl of dark chocolate mousse. The bottle of fruity French Merlot was also delightful. Even the bill put a big smile on our faces: superb value for money. Thank you Adrian Gill for putting this place on our radar!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bannerdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bustling, buzzy and fun with good food.”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We joined a group of friends for dinner at Brasserie Zedel and everyone was happy with our choice of restaurant. The staff including our waiter were friendly and helpful. The food was good and reasonably priced. The location, two minutes' walk from Piccadilly Circus, is very central. The restaurant interior is rather splendid and recalls a large bustling Parisian restaurant. The atmosphere was buzzy with diners ranging from old fogeys to actors and trendy young. Finally, unlike many restaurants and despite every table being taken, we could hear ourselves speak!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichmondRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“They've done it again”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Jeremy and Chrisopher are the doyens of London restaurateuring and this latest offering is a full five star success. It is located in the old Atlantic Bar and Grill just off Piccadilly Circus which has been transformed into a classic French brasserie where you expect to eat a delicious affordable meal of the kind Paris used to be famous for and be out in an hour. Grab a soup or egg mayonnaise both for under £3, then a steak hache and chips for about £8 and a glass of decent red plus a bottle of water and a coffee and get out for £25 the lot. And here's the important bit - every course is delicious. Please don't ask me how they do it, but they do. The American Bar which is part of the offering is a great place to meet before you go in to eat and the staff, as ever in Corbyn/King establishments, are charming and attentive. Book because although the room is huge it's already full from morning till night. You won't regret it for a moment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You'd be hard pushed to find a better meal for this price in Central London!”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I really enjoyed my meal here. The restaurant is beautiful, bustling and full of character and the food was absolutely delicious. I had the pissaladiere and the confit duck, both were excellent. The house wine is very gluggable and cheap as chips. My companions were also suitably impressed with their orders.

It’s well worth arriving early for a pre-dinner cocktail at bar Amercain which is very slick. The cocktail list is classic and the drinks well executed, albeit a bit of the expensive side in comparison to the brasserie.

My only quibble was with the waiting staff. While those of the front desk were charming and welcoming and the lady manning the entrance café/waiting area was positively lovely in her helpfulness, our waiter was downright rude which was a real disappointment.

Bottom line, I am sure this will become a regular haunt. It's central, offers good food and ridiculously good value for money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Zedel also viewed

 
 

Been to Brasserie Zedel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing