We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great London Views”
Review of Up at The O2

Up at The O2
Book In Advance
More Info
US$38.68*
and up
Climb The O2 in London
Ranked #19 of 1,632 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get ready for a breathtaking new attraction, combining an exhilarating active outdoor challenge with a completely unique perspective on the Capital.Prepare yourself for an unforgettable 90 minute experience which will take you on an uplifting expedition across the roof of the world's most popular entertainment venue. Enjoy spectacular 360 degree views of London from our viewing platform in the centre of the roof, before finishing with a thrilling descent back to base to complete your adventure.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great London Views”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Climbing to top of O2 dome is a fun clever way to view the city. The support from team will help those a little nervous but when you get used to feel under you its great. The safety aspect is well covered.
Tip_ try to go on first trip of day then you have to the space on top to your group only. Don't forget your camera!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,917
    791
    120
    27
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
579 reviews
378 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
“Amazing experience, a must do!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Back in May a friend and I decided to climb the O2. We'd never done anything like it so we got the train to London (from Cambridge).

We had already booked our tickets, we wanted to go mid-evening hoping we would see the sun set across London, just because why wouldn't you? We arrived quite early so we had a wander around the O2 as I'd never been before. After having looked round we decided to check in to the Up At The O2 desk early. We were booked on the 8:30 walk but we were asked if we wanted to go earlier as the 8:15 walk was almost empty, we of course said yes.

We were lead into a room where we watched a safety briefing video themed to a jungle adventure sort of thing. It was very cheesy but clever witted at the same time. After that we were lead through to put our harnesses on. You are advised to keep on a t-shirt and trousers but don't wear a jumper as you'll get too hot. You wear a whole body suit and then a harness. If you are slightly larger than some you can do what I did and wear a larger one. The day we went it had been raining (it had cleared by the time we did the walk but the walkway was still damp and slippery) so we we given boots to wear, usually though you can wear your own trainers.

There are lockers for bags. You can take a phone and a camera up as long as they fit in a small(ish) pocket on each arm. You aren't allowed to use them until you get to the top.

You walk up the stairs to the start where your instructor clips you on to the railings. Before you start some photographs are taken which you can buy for an extortionate price at the end. When everyone is ready you're off! You walk up a 3ft wide path which is made on a material similar to a trampoline so it is fantastically bouncy, the instructor pauses at several moments to point out all the landmarks of London. It's brilliantly interesting.

Once at the top you have 15 minutes to take pictures, Facebook them, snapchat, twitter anything to make your friends jealous. Your instructor will be more than happy to take pictures of you for you.

The decent is generally steeper than the ascent which can be quite scary at times and you do feel as if you're about to fall forwards but its all in the fun.

At the bottom you get changed back into your clothes then are lead into a shop with highly priced souvenirs and the photos taken of you earlier.

The whole experience is expensive but it is REALLY worth doing. I highly recommend it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordanovichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Went here as a surprise birthday gift for a friend..you get a really Dorky talk-through-movie-intro that lasts a cringy 10 minutes,then your instructor talks you through your safety hooks and security.They are very thorough and friendly and made the whole ascent,rest,and descent very enjoyable.The views are very impressive and you really feel invigorated throughout.
Mobile phone-cam friendly too!Mild excercise for older/out of shape types but nothing too impossible.

Helpful?
Thank london-ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“up the O2”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A well organised experience with a friendly and helpful guide. The O2 is quite east of London, so the view from the top was not of central London but of Canary Wharf etc. We enjoyed it but I felt it was not a must do if you only have a short time in London, If you are staying for a week or so or if you are a local it is a nice thing to do.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jillc332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
146 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I did this last week. I am not a fit person but I got to the top relatively easily. The guide was friendly and helpful. At the top the views were amazing and there was plenty of time to admire them. We went at 3:30pm on a weekday and we were in a small group so we stayed at the top for a little bit longer than usual. The descent was nearly as challenging as the ascent as it is quite steep but you are not rushed and can complete it in your own time. I would definitely recommend this!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kt1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Up at The O2 also viewed

 

Been to Up at The O2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing