We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moving”

Bomber Command Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
US$42.41*
and up
The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off
Ranked #37 of 1,651 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The RAF Benevolent Fund is proud and privileged to be the custodian of the new Bomber Command Memorial in central London. The memorial has been built to be modern, yet classical, in Portland stone. At its heart are the bronze sculptures of a Bomber Command aircrew. Within the memorial, the space is open to the sky with an opening designed to allow light to fall directly onto sculptures of the aircrew.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Moving”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I took some friends who don't know London very well on a trip to see a few of the sites.
I suggested that they might like to see the the Bomber Command Memorial, which I consider to be one of the most moving memorials in London. On seeing it my friend's wife was actually moved to tears!
If you visit London this memorial really is a must.
Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,927
    450
    109
    12
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Brave Lads”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This memorial never fails to make me feel sad, proud and inspired. The figures are SO lifelike and capture the whole gamut of human emotion. What those young men did day in and day out was nothing short of inspiring and we owe our freedom to them. This doesn't glorify war it commemorates the bravery and sacrifice of amazing human beings during dark days in Europe whilst giving opportunities to reflect too,

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KimVWR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bomber command memorial”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great memorial to the brave men and women of bomber command from WW2, nice location. Well worth visit

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vattwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bomber Command”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Beautiful memorial, worth a visit and I found it quite emotional. The design is so well thought and shows the heroism and makes you think what people went through and are still going through. In lovely surroundings and is well worth a visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NJH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A fitting tribute”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

No matter what your thoughts are about the bombing campaign during the war
This is about the men and women who took part
The pictures and personal letters scattered around the monument are fascinating and should remind us that we should all do our part to ensure that it should never happen again

This is a must visit for all even if only a few minutes

Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bomber Command Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Bomber Command Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing