We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful”

Bomber Command Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
US$42.09*
and up
The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off
Ranked #35 of 1,599 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The RAF Benevolent Fund is proud and privileged to be the custodian of the new Bomber Command Memorial in central London. The memorial has been built to be modern, yet classical, in Portland stone. At its heart are the bronze sculptures of a Bomber Command aircrew. Within the memorial, the space is open to the sky with an opening designed to allow light to fall directly onto sculptures of the aircrew.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I enjoyed the position of the memorial and it was central for doing some shopping afterwards and for having a coffeenearby. Most enjoyable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,886
    434
    107
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very nice and remarkably lifelike Bronze statues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

After finishing up a great visit at the Wellington Arch, we walked a few steps to see this memorial at Green Park and it is beautifully done. This is a great tribute. Some real thought went into the design and it shows. I especially liked the Aluminum rooftop, which they got from a Royal Canadian Air Force Handley Page Halifax of No. 426 Squadron that had crashed in Belgium in May 1944.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sylvrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth waiting for (almost....)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This moving tribute really is excellent. Set in a corner of a royal park almost opposite the RAF club it has a ceiling partly composed of pieces of a Handley Page Halifax and an opening to the sky. When I visited the cleaning company had just left but I noticed that the many personal and touching little tributes were very carefully and sensitively left where they were, some floral, some written. Obviously a valued memorial. The bronzes themselves are wonderfully evocative of a bomber crew, I cannot vouch personally for the accuracy but recognised most of the equipment. Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KatiePops888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

touching and very well done. The area is kept very well maintained and shame about recent vandalism. It really is a work of art and well done to those that helped raise the funds for it

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ramon2852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Humbling and Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Loved the layout and the design Just Humbling what they did and gave for our today. I salute you ALL. If you have not yet visited then spend time too

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JuandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bomber Command Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Bomber Command Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing