We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreamy nights” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge London Balham

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Travelodge London Balham
Ranked #365 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Lancashire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Dreamy nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

What a fabulous find. I have never stayed in a travelodge before, but I most certainly would again. Arranged a bit of a family reunion for my mum and decided to stay here as it was near where my niece lives. The staff are extremely friendly, the rooms were VERY clean, beds comfortable, and situated in a good location.

We booked two rooms but were warned we might not be together, we were right next door to one another which was brilliant and the size of the rooms was surprising.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FruityTutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    149
    65
    35
    35
See reviews for
103
192
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night when we came up for a friends birthday party. It was an ideal location for us. There are bars and restaurants close by and the railway station is a minute around the corner. We found the staff very friendly and the room was very clean with a nice comfortable bed. Also there was plenty of tea and coffee in the room. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pennyringWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Its a good location for trains from Victoria (Sth Western) and the tube (Northern Line)Its quicker to tube to Victoria then train to Balham then tube all the way from Kings Cross using an Oyster card.
Hotel is around the corner on the High St.it was clean warm and maintained to to good standard.The only disappointment I had was with the night staff or lack of them when I required their assistance.My key card wouldn't work to allow me to open the main doors so I had to 'buzz' for someone.They opened up the door and then disappeared from where they came from.Trying to open the door to the rooms my card wouldn't work.There wasn't any way to get the attention of the staff ie a bell at the desk,after 5 mins pressing the front door call button someone came and the card sorted.
My room was ground floor looking out on to the street so if you had a light on all passing by are able to see in so curtains have to drawn.
Over all it was a bed and bathroom.

Room Tip: Away from the back, train lines, first floor at least for some privacy and right hand side has disab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Services at Travelodge London Balham, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
We are really sorry to learn of the issues you experienced when returning to the hotel in the evening MARK2112. We can confirm that in the evening guests will need to use their room cards to enter the hotel as a safety measure. If the reception desk is unmanned then all of our reception staff should carry a pager to alert them to a customer at the desk or door, please be assured that a copy of your comments will be sent to our Hotel Management team so that they can address this issue with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I find Balham Travelodge excellent, clean, near amenities yet quiet rooms. I will definitely visit again. The hotel is near shops, underground and British rail. There are nice Restaurant in the surroundings

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Bargain,great location,only 20 mins from st pancras tube on the northern line, 1 minute walk from balham tube. The hotel is next to the train station but its not noisy at all. There is a 24 hour tesco 4 mins walk away and a weatherspoons across the road for breakfast. Having stayed here i wouldnt stay anywhere else in london. Absolute bargain.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Good location close to the tube station,rooms very small but for the price i paid then reasonably happy with what i got.If i had paid more however then maybe i would have felt a bit hard done by but if needed would stay here again.Only downfall was the room backed onto a railway line so the noise wasn't great

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

A very basic night's sleep: everything clean and well maintained but don't look for any frills here. This is the first hotel I have slept in that did not provide shower gel. If all you want is to get your head down it is fine. Given that it is next to the railway there was very little noise or vibration.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge London Balham, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We can confirm that as standard we do not provide toiletries in our hotel rooms Jonathan P. We do however; have a number of essential toiletries available from a vending machine in reception if guests require additional items. This is so we can continue to offer great rates in great locations. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#589 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Clapham Junction Hotel
Clapham / Battersea 
Windmill Clapham
Windmill Clapham
#98 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leigham Court Hotel
#541 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
FlexiStay Aparthotel Tooting London
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Balham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Balham

Property: Travelodge London Balham
Address: 177 Balham High Road, London SW12 9BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge London Balham 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Balham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing