We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far too hot !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge London Balham
Ranked #370 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We chose this hotel because of its close proximity to Clapham Common as we were taking part in the London to Brighton cycle in the morning . The rooms in this hotel are unbearably hot as there is no air conditioning or windows that open. We could not sleep due to the heat and lack of ventilation . We asked for a fan, to be told they were all broken. Our friends did manage to get a fan but still found it unacceptably hot and could not sleep. Not the best prep for a 50 mile cycle ride. Would not stay here again. Paid £120 for the room .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
6  Thank Jane22134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge London Balham, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review Jane22134. We do expect all of our customers stays to be as comfortable as possible so it is regrettable to learn that your room was too hot. Unfortunately not all of our hotels have air conditioning, however we do have a number of fans available from reception on a first come, first serve basis. Thank you for staying with us and we assure you that all customer feedback is provided to the hotel directly which helps improve the service they offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

room was quiet because of good double glazing but downside was that windows don't open and no air conditioning. Single beds very small. Only one kind of breakfast box available - not the one I wanted!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for charity bike ride starting from clapham. Room was hot but night manager bibek somehow managed to get a fan for us. Overall the hotel is newly refurbished, clean and nice. Next to Northern line underground station and national rail not that noisy looking to other previous review but company needs to do something more than just a fan

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Pandastweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great location. Clean and quiet rooms. It is a pleasure to find a hotel like this in the Balham area. For a good dinner, I recommend the Gurkha Restaurant that is 150 metres South on Balham High Street from this Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Hemer526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Location: close to railway and Underground, so very good.
The room was quiet, beds very comfortable, bathroom reasonnably clean. Personally I dislike moquette in hotel rooms, but this is my opinion. Windows are sealed "for security reasons" and no air conditionning control (but electric heater) so the air was somewhat wicked and not really comfortable. 30' free Wifi or cheap 24h.
Tea/coffee facilities (kettle in room), no breakfast (I wouldn't consider such the optional "wrap-in"), not even a cabinet or cupboard, or a seat for each guest.
However <60£ per night (2 people). Overall satisfied.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ioviaggiodasoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I've rated this Travel Lodge as poor for two reasons. Firstly, no windows open in the bedrooms.
Secondly, there is no air con in the bedrooms, which makes them extremely hot and airless, particularly at this time of year. Couldn't stay for the second night i had booked.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family

Room Tip: When we mentioned the problems to the staff, they said all the rooms were the same. They did offer u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Does what it says on the tin! Comfortable bed, functional bathroom. Very clean and the staff were friendly. Noise from the trains wasn't too bad and having a room on the front of the building was surprisingly quiet. But I have never been in such a large room with so little furnishing. The room was huge but only contained a bed and a little table - very odd.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurphyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Clapham Junction Hotel
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Leigham Court Hotel
#527 of 1,077 in London
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#581 of 1,077 in London
159 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Battersea
Travelodge London Battersea
#680 of 1,077 in London
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Balham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Balham

Address: 177 Balham High Road, London SW12 9BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £48 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge London Balham 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Balham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing