We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost ideal for Resonance festival.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge London Balham
Ranked #368 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for the Resonance festival, great location for a great festival.

Room waa warm, but fan included. would have been nice to have it a bit cooler.

While I didn't have a problem with my check-in, I saw some of the bands struggle. Would have been better if they could have arranged to check in early or at least leave their gear in the hotel before the usual check-in time.

Also, they put most of the festival-goers on the same floor. This probably wasn't intentional, but it was nice to be next door to people I knew.

Would definitely recommend this for next year's Resonance festival (I really hope they do another one...) but only because it's less than 5 minutes walk from the festival, the station and the pub.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank RatSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

New hotel with nice looks BUT our room had no opening windows and no air-con. Fan in the room just moved exceptionally hot air around all night. Woke with crippling migraine. How does this hotel meet UK building control regulations as it has no ventilation???

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here with my wife and baby in July when it was really hot in London which was a really bad choice. The hotel is definitely not equipped for hot weather. There is one air vent in the room 's with a tiny breeze coming out of it, but the windows can't be opened. I felt like I was suffocating. There was a tiny desk fan in the room when we arrived which did next to nothing to help and reception gave us a larger fan but all this did was move the hot air around and did nothing about the lack of fresh air in the room.
The location of the hotel is good, right next to Balham station, and the rooms is well noise proofed so that the passing trains don't seem very loud. The room was adequately equipped for a budget hotel, and the bed was very comfortable. I'm sure it would be better in winter but I would avoid staying here in summer.
Another downside was lack of parking. We had to park on the street next to the hotel but you are only allowed to park for 4 hours maximum during the day before you have to move the car and top up the meter. This is very inconvienient especially considering that I would imagine most people staying here would be wanting to go into central London during the day. To make this worse there were 5 or 6 big disabled parking spaces under the hotel which were empty for the whole of our stay. I think they would be much better utilised as general parking for all guests rather than old for disabled people even if they charged for the parking and gave disabled or people with children priority that would be much better.

Room Tip: Don't stay here in summer. Ask for a room furthest away from the train line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Only my second experience of Travelodge ...and a much better one than the first at another location. Great location for my needs ( close to Tube and music fesitval venue ) Despite busy location, Room was very quiet. That and the comfortable bed & pillows ensured three very good nights sleep. Fan in room also helped given the hot August weather . Good value for money in this instance. Impressed

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank alanjpearson_233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is basic, modern and clean. The windows don,t open and there is no aircon. There is not enough ventilation and i did not have a goods night rest as a result. We are coming back to Balham this weekend and have booked elsewhere as a result. I hope travelodge management take action as this hotel will not survive.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakermidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

No air conditioning in rooms, severe and dangerously high temperatures in rooms with no ventilation. This made sleeping impossible, drank lots of bottled water but still had the effects of dehydration and exhaustion. Conditions dangerous to health and well being.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
8  Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Ever heard of a hotel where the windows don't open ("for my safety") but there's no air conditioning? Nor had I, until last night. Most uncomfortable night in 30 years of travelling. On no account stay here between May and September, just in case it's a warm evening.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Clapham Junction Hotel
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#592 of 1,075 in London
156 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leigham Court Hotel
#534 of 1,075 in London
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Balham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Balham

Address: 177 Balham High Road, London SW12 9BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £50 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge London Balham 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Travelodge London Balham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing