We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent Travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge London Excel Hotel
Ranked #484 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A decent Travelodge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed here with my cousin who was over from Los Angeles to show him around London. Annoyingly, the price I got, which was decent, was through a third party website rather than through the Travelodge website itself, so that's something to note for future bookings.

The hotel is slightly remote for the main city centre amenities, but is well sited for Excel and the O2 and is close to a DLR station. The area surrounding the hotel is a bit barren but they are building what looks like a new hotel next door so I imagine the area will be less desolate in future.

The staff were all friendly, the rooms and communal areas were clean and the bed was comfortable. The rooms are typical Travelodge - spartan but they do the trick, so no real complaints on that front. Surely a small bedside table isn't too much to ask though - as the small inserts either side of the bed aren't even large enough to store the TV remote.

The weekend we stayed was quite a hot one and due to noise from the nearby London City Airport we had to close the window and turn on the rather small and useless fan. Ours had clearly been punched by a previous guest because the blades kept hitting the frame, so we had to remove the front to keep the noise down. We of course reattached it before leaving.

Breakfast was included in our booking and was an all-you-can-eat buffet which was limited in choice, but of decent quality.

I have stayed in several Travelodges over the years and this is one of the better ones. Better climate control for the rooms (given the location next to the airport runway) would have probably earned this a 4th star but as it was too stuffy and the fan was too small to be of any use, sleep quality suffered. That said, I would consider using this hotel again if I can't get anywhere closer to the centre of London for a decent price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    252
    145
    65
    45
See reviews for
192
183
41
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

+clean
+cheap - pretty good value for what you get
+close to public transit
+close to the excel and London city airport
+closer to London attractions (time wise) than google indicates
+our room was quiet

-nothing in the neighborhood
-while the staff tries hard they are very inexperienced hotel workers
-Wifi is temperamental & expensive
-our room was very warm

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarthYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Despite arriving very late on Friday night, the staff were attentive and friendly. The bar was open and the bar prices were excellent. We did have a problem when during the night the electricity tripped off but was soon restored in the morning. For the convenience we were given complimentary breakfast. There are comments on here about chaos in the breakfast room, I wouldn't say chaos but they could probably do with another member of staff there. The room was of a decent size, clean and the new bed was very comfortable. Although this hotel might be classed as out of town it is next to the Royal Albert DLR station. In the end, the question is would I stay there again, definitely. The staff there could not be faulted.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

found what we thought was a really cheap hotel.after booking decided to add early check in for £10 but because this counted as amending the booking cost over £40 more.website is awful to use.checked in at 2pm,an hour early and room wasnt even made up & had to be moved.ordering food before we left was a nightmare.came back from a concert at10.30pm starving only to be told they had no food left.hotel was hot and lots of outside noise from DLR & aeroplanes.the staff have no customer service what so ever.avoid this hotel at all costs !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank michKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This is a decent budget hotel with good links into London.

Clean, spacious room with nice facilities.

The area this is in is very industrial so there is nothing in the immediate surrounding area apart from the DLR.

Good bar that serves alcohol/food 24/7 (good for a pint when you get back from night out!!).

We had the breakfast the morning after and again, perfectly decent.

The only issue is (as mentioned in other reviews) is ridiculously hot! We stayed when it was only 15/20 degrees out side but was about 30 in the room! A fan is provided but they have messed up not spending extra on aircon.

All in all, decent.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scottyqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Nothing really wrong with this hotel, Clean, staff friendly, room good and bar nice and not too dear. We travelled to stay for one night as we were going to see Jersey Boys. Made use of early check in which was a god send. Must say all staff were excellent and friendly, room was on a corner which was good but planes taking off from nearby city airport are a little noisy but that's life. Really well situated near DLR so has it all going for it. would use the hotel again for sure

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwichTubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stay at Travelodge on average 3 days a week, so I was pleased when this one had extra facility of a restaurant. Review of the room very clean, slightly noisy but to be expected (next to airport). What i did not expect was the temperature. The cleaners leave the curtains drawn all day, but even with the window open and the provided fan on, it is unbearable. Very close to DLR to commute 45 mins to Westminster.Let down by the Restaurant staff today 10/07/14 CHAOS. Everyday this week the Breakfast has opened at 0700hrs but staff take till 0715hrs to bring it out of the kitchen, and the tray is emptied bacon everything they then take another 15 mins to top it up. The queue today went around to reception and it nearly turned into an international incident with tourists complaining. At night the restaurant is the same staff, so even with a few customers they forget they have orders placed and when and if, it arrives it is like the breakfast, cold with the plates un heated. If they employed restaurant staff with an interest in the customer, who got in earlier to put the Breakfast out, who could cook and installed Air conditioning in the room it would get 5 stars.Suggest you eat out, NEVER HAD A COMPLAINT ABOUT ALL THE OTHER TRAVELODGES, but usually get Breakfast Box. One good point, free parking with another car park at the back usually empty. Most of the other Hotels in the area charge for this.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#561 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hotel ibis budget London City Airport
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
MOXY London Excel
MOXY London Excel
#677 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#255 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Excel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Excel Hotel

Property: Travelodge London Excel Hotel
Address: 1016 Dockside Road, London E16 2FQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #484 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Excel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge London Excel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing