We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wife's 30th birthday”
Review of Hotel Xanadu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Xanadu
Ranked #454 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wife's 30th birthday”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel for my wife's 30th bday with friends and it is amazing as all previous reviews. The tube is 5 mins walk away and the night life and restaurants are in abundance. The rooms are very clean and of a good size and the staff were amazing will definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffkesterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelXanadu, General Manager at Hotel Xanadu, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Jeff,
A happy belated birthday to your wife and a happy new year from all of us at Xanadu! Thank you very much for your kind comments.We look forward to welcoming you in 2014.Best regards
Nelly Laforet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    125
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
35
132
28
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Great location - close to metro into central London and lots of shops and restaurants in the area
Good size room and bathroom
Comfortable bed
Bathroom a good size
Hair dryer in room - one that works well ladies!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sahara7333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelXanadu, General Manager at Hotel Xanadu, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you ever so much for giving us a perfect score! I will proudly forward your review to the team. Best wishes for 2014. Kind regards
Nelly Laforet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Great Hotel with really friendly staff. Excellent cocktails on offer, rooms quiet and well equipped.
Huge selection of restaurants locally and really quick into central London from Ealing Parkway station.

Room Tip: Goods views from 5 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelXanadu, General Manager at Hotel Xanadu, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Ian,

I am glad to read that you enjoyed everything Ealing has to offer and in particular our hotel.Thank you for your great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again in 2014!
Warm regards. Nelly Laforet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a place of pleasure. For me these are the essentials of a good hotel: quick check in when you've had a long day, free and good wifi for business [the ones that charge should be ashamed], friendly staff, a good bar, a great menu, a place where you can work and relax, simple room with all the things you need. Ok, there's no caverns, measureless or otherwise, but this hotel is excellent. And take that from someone who is very picky .... indeed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djb1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

First impressions were great. Reception staff were informative. Booking in was easy. The whole hotel was exceptionally clean. The room was small but perfectly formed. The bed was very comfortable. Initial impressions were that the only improvement would be a fridge in the room. At this stage, we felt that the walk to the tube, which was short and the 20min tube journey, was a great pay-off against the higher hotel prices in central London.

It was as we tried to sleep that things began to unravel. There is a 5ml gap at the bottom of the door that let a beam of light in from the hotel corridor. We were grown up about that & just shut our eyes! However, that gap also allowed sound from the corridor into our room. We accept that the hotel cannot make the guests walk silently in the corridors, but the gap under the door can be addressed. Furthermore, as we walked down the corridor we could clearly hear conversations that other guests were having in their rooms. Additionally to achieve a comfortable temperature in the room the air conditioning had to be on which was a little too intrusive.

The continental breakfast I had was great. Plenty of choice! However my partner had the full English. The black pudding was under-cooked, to the point of being almost raw. The scrambled egg was cold.

We knew that there was no parking when we booked, but due to the reviews we decided to go ahead. This hotel helped us understand that, for us, parking is an essential feature. Parking is a short walk away, but feels much further when you are carrying luggage.

So, all-in-all, we will not stay at this hotel, but we will definitely return to the area.

Room Tip: Try to have a room at the 'back', the noise from the street penetrates the windows. Oh, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PandoraPistis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The hotel room was very comfortable the bathroom spacious and clean. The large wall to wall windows made the room feel very spacious. The location could not be in a better place. The staff were wonderful. Lizet from guest relations made check - in a breeze. Roberto the bartender was great. And Rebecca the receptionist was so helpful. If anything was needed (iron,adaptor etc.) the staff were more than happy to bring it to your room. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1rjackie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I came to stay at the Hotel Xanadu for 2 months to be close to Ealing Studios, and I was truly sad when I finally had to say goodbye after 5 1/2 months …

Throughout my stay, everyone was extremely caring and friendly, from reception to housekeeping to tech support to restaurant/kitchen to management.

The spacious rooms have an appealing Zen-like design, with an unusually large desk that held my 27-inch iMAC, my HDDs, airport, laptop, other IT equipment, notebooks and the like. I was able to hook up my US AppleTV to the TV, and everything worked just perfectly. My (queen) bed had a perfect mattress with a pillow-top and a wonderful down feather comforter. The bathroom is spacious and well designed. I particularly liked the shower and the space for cosmetics. The long and deep window sill provided plenty of space for my many books. If you want to feel the energy of the lovely town center, try to get a room overlooking Bond Street (and ask for the key to open the window).

I cannot praise "my" Xanadu—and the people who represent it—highly enough. Even if the focus of your trip is the center of London, it's really worth the extra tube or taxi time to stay in this lovely place in Ealing. I miss it ;)

Room Tip: I loved my 307.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icarus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel 55
Hotel 55
#409 of 1,067 in London
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Ealing Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#627 of 1,067 in London
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Ealing
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton London Ealing
5.0 mi away
Clayton Crown Hotel
Clayton Crown Hotel
#400 of 1,067 in London
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xanadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xanadu

Property: Hotel Xanadu
Address: 26-42 Bond Street | Ealing, London W5 5AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #454 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Xanadu 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing, comfortable and luxurious, Hotel Xanadu offers 46 stylishly appointed rooms and two executive suites. Guests can also enjoy Shikumen, our fine dining Chinese restaurant and bar. Shikumen's a la carte menu is served throughout the day and during lunchtimes they compliment their signature dishes with a set lunch as well as an extensive selection of handmade Dim Sum (served daily until the early evening). One of the Shikumen's notable dishes is truly authentic Peking Duck cooked according to an ancient recipe and served meticulously at your table by chefs from Peking. The first of two servings are served with handmade Pancakes and Baos made daily by one dedicated chef. Shikumen offers unconventional dishes such as Soft Shell Crab in Almond Butter Egg Sauce, Braised Chicken with Radish and Sweet Basil and Clay Pot Tofu with Morel Mushrooms in Black Bean Sauce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Xanadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing