We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top food, but expensive & terrible service!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camino Monument

Camino Monument
Reserve with OpenTable
Camino Monument is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,167 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$25 - US$50
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Spanish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: Camino has been created as a place to enjoy the life, vigour and tastes of Spain. We love travelling from one region of Spain to another along the ‘Camino’ – the Spanish word for road, way or path – discovering the best local food and drinks. We have a passion for this country of strong contrasts and enormous spirit, a lifestyle where food, drink and company are vital elements to everyday existence.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Top food, but expensive & terrible service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Went here on a Tuesday lunchtime without a reservation, waitress advised should only be a 10 minute wait as one table had to vacate by 1pm. We waited 20 minutes then when asked her how long she said she couldn't tell them to leave, she/we just had to wait. When the table did leave she advised us so, but said it would take her another 10 mins to clean the table! The girl behind the bar while we waited was also rude, and couldn't hear anything any of our party said even when we repeated it over & over. It wasn't that loud in there.

Food was very nice & most portion sizes okay, but still very expensive. The sharing steak was £45 though and only gave 9 small chunks of steak, however we had to send it back as it was completely raw & cold (despite asking for medium). I understand tapas comes at different times, but several dishes took a long time to arrive and there was no apology. I'd be reluctant to go back due to service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pyramid160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    51
    21
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consider the service and the price first!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

10/01/2014
The set up of the bar/restaurant means that you can either be in the busy bustling restaurant at the back or you have a table in the bar area at the front. This is only during a lunch service. The attention you receive is considerably different depending upon where you are located.
We sat in the quieter bar area but had to constantly chase for service or attention.
Food is excellent although expensive, I recommend the Pata Negra and the Chuleton Hueso but at £45 this is one of the most expensive steaks in the city and it's such a shame to have to share it!
We took the recommendation on the Rioja and that proved a wise choice.
In all the waiters were informative and once we had their attention knowledgable and effective, although maybe over-stretched. Once we called for the bill this took an age to arrive.
So in summary good food, good wine, poor service but if you can get into the restaurant part it is better. It is poor value so consider carefully when selecting this as a lunch venue.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tinselhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Decent but pricey.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I have never been a great fan of tapas bars. The drinks were reasonably priced for a food place, but I found the food itself to be relatively pricey. That might be down to Tapas itself, but it's not a place to go to when ravenous.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tomghc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Tapas restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Tasty fish, meat, vegetables and cheese tapas! I've been pleasantly surprised by the Camino Monumento restaurant. Went there with a colleague for a lunch break. The waiter suggested to order 3 to 4 tapas each, we ordered 3 tapas each and it was perfectly satisfying. The food was very good and the dishes well presented. We had the selection of cheeses, the grilled octopus, the empanadillas, the mixed mushrooms, the chicken skewer and the venison fillet, I can recommend all if them!
The service has been very good and the food arrived quickly.
I'm glad this restaurant is very close to my office!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arianna_ITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Have been a few times. Last experience was a dissapointment. Were in the small room to the side overlooking the road. Would recommend asking for the main room where much better atmosphere. The service was bad this day also. However, the waitor could see our discomfort and we got an extra dish on the house. I'm a sucker for that. It was also his last day, and he cared! Spannish. However, go with good company, the food is good, a relaxed place to drink, and fun. I'm going back, not in the side room though!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hen432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camino Monument also viewed

 

Been to Camino Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing