We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel / perfect value for you money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Monkeys in the Trees
Ranked #561 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The hostel is located a bit far from the city. With a day pass for the public transport it is really acceptabel (cost 8 pound). The hostel is situated in a quiet area, with a lot of local stores in the area (the best fish and chips). The staff is really friendly and gives a perfect service. There is a kitchen and a bar were you can hang out.
The rooms are clean and spacious, plus i never had to wait for a shower.

I deffenitly go back when i visit London again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorisGreeuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

I stayed at The Monkeys in the Trees for four nights last week and had so much fun. The hostel has a really laid-back vibe and the staff are so friendly and helpful! Also, it’s extremely well run with security cameras in place, secure locks on doors and you can hire lockers if you want to, but I didn’t bother. I always felt very safe and didn’t feel the need to worry about my belongings too much. Bar and outsider patrons are not allowed in the guest areas which is also another good safety aspect. I was travelling by myself so all these security measures were really comforting. Furthermore, it was so easy to meet people here as it’s not too big a hostel and most others staying were travelling by themselves too. Everyone I met was really cool and happy to have a chat over a bev in the downstairs bar or up in the guest common room.
The wifi was great and worked well everywhere, except it could be a little hit and miss in the beer garden.
There was free brekky each day consisting of cereals, toast, tea/coffee/juice and hard-boiled eggs which was great.
The location was pretty good, with heaps of buses around that could take you to Shepherds Bush Station in about 10 mins. It was also really quiet at night so you could definitely get a good sleep if you needed to.
Bathroom facilities were pretty good and the showers were always hot (sometimes too hot) and I never had to wait long for a free one.
I stayed in the 9-bed female dorm and although my bed was a little springy, it was still pretty comfortable.
Also, for those concerned, there’s really little chance of bed bugs because they give you linen and don’t allow guests to use their own sleeping bags, so if you’re worried about that then don’t be!
All in all a really fantastic stay and I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Try to get a bunk on the top. I was on the bottom bunk and hit my head a few times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshB0787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Friendly staff and people, however the hostel itself was very uncomfortable. The rooms are so tiny, with next to no room to put bags, and the beds are very uncomfortable.
The kitchen is small, quite unclean and very little storage space in the fridge.
The bathrooms were even tinier, small cubicles that were always wet from the showers and dirty. Literally had to stand back just to get out of the toilet and open the door.
Quite a walk from the station and to the central lines, however transport is easily accessible!
Good breakfast, but finishes at 9.30 which can be inconvient!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bella j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last week, really cute hostel, nice small community and very cosy pub downstairs. rooms were spacious and bathrooms were good (never had to wait for a shower!) staff were really helpful and friendly! Location is a little out of way but i really enjoyed escaping the big city after a day of walking around and coming back to a quiet area and a cosy pub for a pint! Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Horrible experience.This hostel has BEDBUGS!Also they charged me for cancelling the rest of my stay due to this issue and were very unpleasant about it! Horrible experience! Tried to get hold of them later to cancel anfd thet avoided me and then told me i would nnot be charged then sent email saying i would.I contested this and they just sent unpleasent email back blaming my attitude!horrible unpleasent experience was very angry!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeysLondon, Manager at The Monkeys in the Trees, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Hi Christina,
To start with, you DIDN'T stay with us. Your original booking came through the Hostelworld website and its been made on 17/01/13 for your arrival on 18/01/13 and then you've cancelled it via email and over the phone stating family problems... You have been informed that you'll be charge for the first night as our cancellation policy is 48hours before arrival and that is when you started all this campaign with badmouthing us wherever you can.

Monkeys in the Trees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Absolutely loved my stay at this hostel, everyone was extremely friendly, the room I stayed in was extremely clean, the kitchen had all the utensils necessary. The TV room was renovated right before I got there and was in excellent condition with lots of table space and easy seating for at least fifteen people. The pub (which is also used in the mornings for the free all you can eat breakfast) is very comfortable with discounts on the drinks for hostel patrons.

There are enough showers available on the first floor (the second floor showers are girls only so I wouldn't know about those) to never have to wait.

The lockers are spacious and plentiful, there's no reason why anyone should ever feel like their stuff is unsafe and the people who stay here are a pretty close-knit bunch with nice mix of short-term and multi-week guests, everyone is always welcomed into what almost feels like a family.

The staff was always incredibly friendly and helpful, from the owner to the bartenders/hostel check-in guys to the cleaning staff.

I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms 102 and 103 only have six beds in them and are nice and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Awesome place, great pub area down the bottom. It doesn't get too busy but the decor is brilliant and comfortable. Very friendly staff and decent rooms! Would definately come back again. My only qualm is that its a bit far from a station but I guess it can't be helped.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acek47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#45 of 908 in London
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monkeys in the Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monkeys in the Trees

Address: 49 Becklow Road | Shepherds Bush, London W12 9ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #561 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Monkeys in the Trees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing