We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hostel; poor location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Monkeys in the Trees
Ranked #573 of 930 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I really liked this hostel. The room was very clean and modern. Staff were very friendly, especially the lady who could speak Portuguese. Breakfast was not bad at all. The hostel is built in above a cool pub. If you don't fell like going out at night, you may pretty much hang out at the pub. The location is bad, being very far from real London. Shepherd's Bush Market is a very sketchy area in the evening, although it is very busy during the day, with several small restaurants and a big market. Do not eat at the Indian resturants near the hostel. My friend had food intoxication after eating there. Do not be deceived by the cheap prices of that place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iralves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed in The Monkey's in the Tree's for three nights during June. It's a decent hostel, with good facilities, but I largely recommend it because of the lovely staff and other stayers.
The facilities are exactly what you'd expect of a good priced hostel, nothing fancy but clean and in good nick (although the beds are a little worn). The showers/toilets are good as there is room to privately shower and get changed within each of the toilet/shower facilities.
The pub below is lovely, where you'll meet some cool, friendly bar staff and other stayers. If you want a quiet night in away from the busy that is London it's a great place to crash out.
Be aware however, it is a little bit of a walk away from Shepard's Bush/Shepard's Bush market stations (which isn't an issue until you have your whole pack on and the sun is blistering down!).

Room Tip: If you're on the tall side (and I am not!) ask for one of the top bunks, there isn't a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BecBec6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My friend and I have been travelling for over two months now and generally stayed at pretty cheap places, this is by far the worst!!!
The showers are filled with mold, they all leak and the floors are disgusting and wet.
The bedrooms are minute and there is no space.
I dont think the floors in our room have ever been vacuumed there is so much hair and filth on them.
There was a massive clump of thick hair in the shower for well over a week, nothing gets cleaned.
The fridge that is meant to be cleaned daily had milk that was over a month expired, leaking and just discusting.
The guy who I am guessing is the owner does not care about anything, we informed him that the roof was leaking and we did not get much response.
It is tiny and looks nothing like the pictures
Waste of money and time

The only cool thing was the one other worker, bart. He definitely added a positive attitude and contributed to the fun hostel environment. Supplied good information and suggestions of things to do.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairebear697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The hostel is located a bit far from the city. With a day pass for the public transport it is really acceptabel (cost 8 pound). The hostel is situated in a quiet area, with a lot of local stores in the area (the best fish and chips). The staff is really friendly and gives a perfect service. There is a kitchen and a bar were you can hang out.
The rooms are clean and spacious, plus i never had to wait for a shower.

I deffenitly go back when i visit London again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorisGreeuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I stayed at The Monkeys in the Trees for four nights last week and had so much fun. The hostel has a really laid-back vibe and the staff are so friendly and helpful! Also, it’s extremely well run with security cameras in place, secure locks on doors and you can hire lockers if you want to, but I didn’t bother. I always felt very safe and didn’t feel the need to worry about my belongings too much. Bar and outsider patrons are not allowed in the guest areas which is also another good safety aspect. I was travelling by myself so all these security measures were really comforting. Furthermore, it was so easy to meet people here as it’s not too big a hostel and most others staying were travelling by themselves too. Everyone I met was really cool and happy to have a chat over a bev in the downstairs bar or up in the guest common room.
The wifi was great and worked well everywhere, except it could be a little hit and miss in the beer garden.
There was free brekky each day consisting of cereals, toast, tea/coffee/juice and hard-boiled eggs which was great.
The location was pretty good, with heaps of buses around that could take you to Shepherds Bush Station in about 10 mins. It was also really quiet at night so you could definitely get a good sleep if you needed to.
Bathroom facilities were pretty good and the showers were always hot (sometimes too hot) and I never had to wait long for a free one.
I stayed in the 9-bed female dorm and although my bed was a little springy, it was still pretty comfortable.
Also, for those concerned, there’s really little chance of bed bugs because they give you linen and don’t allow guests to use their own sleeping bags, so if you’re worried about that then don’t be!
All in all a really fantastic stay and I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Try to get a bunk on the top. I was on the bottom bunk and hit my head a few times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshB0787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Friendly staff and people, however the hostel itself was very uncomfortable. The rooms are so tiny, with next to no room to put bags, and the beds are very uncomfortable.
The kitchen is small, quite unclean and very little storage space in the fridge.
The bathrooms were even tinier, small cubicles that were always wet from the showers and dirty. Literally had to stand back just to get out of the toilet and open the door.
Quite a walk from the station and to the central lines, however transport is easily accessible!
Good breakfast, but finishes at 9.30 which can be inconvient!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bella j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last week, really cute hostel, nice small community and very cosy pub downstairs. rooms were spacious and bathrooms were good (never had to wait for a shower!) staff were really helpful and friendly! Location is a little out of way but i really enjoyed escaping the big city after a day of walking around and coming back to a quiet area and a cosy pub for a pint! Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#52 of 930 in London
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monkeys in the Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monkeys in the Trees

Address: 49 Becklow Road | Shepherds Bush, London W12 9ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #573 of 930 Speciality Lodging in London
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Monkeys in the Trees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing