We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SMALL! No storage what so ever!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of easyHotel Old St / Barbican

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
Ranked #645 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SMALL! No storage what so ever!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights with 5 friends across 3 rooms. 4 of my friends were able to book twin rooms, however we had to share a standard room with a double bed. The room was horrendously small and there are no shelves, no hooks and no other forms of storage. You literally get a bed in a box. The gap around the bed was so thin we found ourselves climbing across the bed to get the the other side instead of trying to shuffle round. As we had no form of storage, we literally had to live out of our suitcases. I don't think it would be so difficult for the hotel to put a cheap shelf in or a rail?! The bathroom was also extremely tiny. You could quite easily have sat on the toilet, brushed your teeth and washed your feet in the shower all at the same time! Our room description said it had a window but I would hardly call it that. It was barely a metre wide and provided no light to the room. Overall the room was clean, however it was slightly irritating that if we wanted room service it would have cost £10 per day! The staff are very polite and helpful but the hotel is just not great. Our friends who had twin rooms had much more room, a bigger bathroom and a window that filled a whole wall. They also had a rail across the front of the window (for safety reasons) but they were able to actually unpack their cases and drape their clothes at least. I feel angry at the quality of their room in comparison to our own as we all paid exactly the same price. On top of this, the lifts were broken 3 out of the 5 days we stayed which made getting our luggage to our rooms an extra hassle. If you are just passing through London and only staying one night then this hotel is perfect, any longer is highly unpleasant.

Room Tip: If you're going to book, request a twin at the front of the hotel. If they're not available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosiePreston1691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    305
    274
    155
    223
See reviews for
160
411
101
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Against recommendation from colleagues I booked a night here for a business trip as the price and location met my needs well.

The hotel and rooms were spotless. Super clean.

Slept well but wore ear plugs as there was street noise and you could hear other guests.

There isn't a telly in the room but I didn't need or want one. My little bathroom pod leaked a little after my shower but the spare super fluffy towel took care of that!

I paid more to have a window but as it was floor to ceiling length I needed to have the blinds drawn most if the time!

There are no surfaces in the room (tables, chairs, bedside shelf etc) which would be annoying if I was staying longer. No kettle or anything. But for the price and location I was more than happy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank memmsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel is great value for money and perfect if you're passing through or staying in London for a couple of nights. It is located in a good place; a short walk from Barbican tube stop, surrounded by lots of shops, restaurants and cafes and Whitecross Street is just around the corner which sets up lots of food stalls during lunch.
The room was quite small and just had 2 single beds, with the 'bathroom' being sectioned off in the corner. Although the room was small and windowless, it was comfy and clean.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, there is free WIFI in the lobby as well as free use of computers. As with all Easy Hotels there is a charge for early check in, luggage storage ect.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget looking for a short stay in London.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BECKYHEARTSNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

A friend and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights after coming to London for a concert. To be honest, I was expecting there to be a lot more wrong with it but I was pleasantly surprised! The room was, obviously, small, but it was just fine for what we needed - somewhere to crash after two long days in London. We stayed in a twin room - the layout was pretty good, with one bed positioned in the corner and another facing out towards the door - like I said, small, but perfectly manoeuvrable. The bathroom was also fine - clean and surprisingly spacious with a decent shower and some toiletries provided. We chose a window-less room which, although a bit odd, worked out well as it was extremely quiet. The one and only complaint we had was the heating. For some bizarre reason the room was excruciatingly hot, despite the thermostat being set to cool. After a couple of enquiries, we finally found a member of staff who showed us that in order to cool the room down you actually had to have it set to 'heat', which even he admitted was weird. This aside, it's a nice little hotel in a great location (max 5 minutes walk to Old Street tube - only two stops from Kings Cross) at a very good price too. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Easy as advertised - book early and there are ridiculous prices to be had, but even at the £49 I paid, you can't fault Easyhotel for offering awesome value in the centre of the city.

If you can get over the fact it looks like the inside of an easy jet, it's clean and the beds are comfortable. Cost savings are everywhere and the windowless rooms are quite confusing for an insomniac (how do I tell what point we're at in the night without some kind of light!!), not to mention fairly noisy, but in the grand scheme of things, it's a place to rest in the middle of the city with friendly staff and a very reasonable price tag. It's not the Ritz.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FluffyViv78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

The room was clean and tidy and the temperatures were fine unlike some of the other reviews on here. The bed was comfy and its location is great for the t
ube.The staff were friendly and it is great value for money. That said the walls are so thin that we could actually hear both parts of someones mobile conversation word for word and every time someone opens a door on your floor you feel and see it. I would have given it four stars as i believe you get what you pay for but one massive down point is that the entry system on the door is broken so they have the door propped open at all times. As we saw three different staff and no one asked us to prove we were staying there it bothered me greatly that there was no security or safety and that it didnt look as if anyone cared to fix it as it was just left with paper sellotaped over the door to make a pull sign.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleplum23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

No heating, only coat hook falling off wall, fan in bath cubicle on floor, dust in corners, light switches odd, NoTV or WIFI in rooms. Pluses - family room size v good, beds clean as was linen and towels. Quiet room too so great nights sleep. Concept good but more attention to detail would have rated 4/5. Ladies no hair dryer or toiletries too. Would I use again, yes but only occasionally when clean bed needed only for 1 night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tighrua-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#297 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#443 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to easyHotel Old St / Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Old St / Barbican

Property: easyHotel Old St / Barbican
Address: 80 Old Street | Islington, London EC1V 9AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #645 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple comfort, great value rooms offered by Sir Stelios. Our newest addition to the easyHotel brand of hotels in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your easyHotel Old St / Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing