We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No lock on door”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
Ranked #687 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No lock on door”
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Was woken up at 3.30 am by a man entering my room. When I complained at reception was given only the name of the manager but no contact details. Have spent all morning trying to reach someone with no success. DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU ARE ALONE

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    314
    290
    164
    245
See reviews for
166
438
107
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coralville, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

As others here have mentioned, the rooms are waaay too hot. Apparently the A/C is still broken to this day and the lackluster management has no plans to ever fix it.

I cannot tell you enough how uncomfortably hot my room got last night. I woke up at 4:30am sweating and noticed the heat was on. I went to reception and complained. The receptionist said something like "well we can only turn the heat on or off for the whole building, and other people are complaining they're cold". what is this, the 19th century?

I wish I had stayed in a hostel. anywhere else really where the room isn't boiling.

I have to spend tonight here and am dreading it.

Room Tip: don't get a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nilloc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the end of our 4 month stay in London. We were kicked out of our flat and this was the cheapest place we found in Central London. I did not expect anything great, and just wanted a comfortable place to sleep. We had no intentions of spending time in the room other than at night, so it seemed like a perfect fit. The staff at reception were very nice and the room was quite clean.

However, immediately upon coming to our room, we opened the door to be hit by a heatwave. It was so hot in the room that we couldn't stand to be in there any longer than it took to drop off our bags. There was a thermostat on the wall but it was useless. We immediately told reception and they said they would try to turn off the heat. Later that day we returned to our room, which was still warm, but the heat had obviously been turned off and it was slightly more bearable. Still much too hot, though.

We managed to sleep, on top of the blankets of course, but woke up boiling hot at 4am. We propped open the door with a shoe for some relief but we noticed that the red light on the thermostat had turned back on, indicating that the heat was cranking again. We went downstairs to ask reception to turn it off and they said there was nothing they could do because other people were complaining about being cold and they would have to turn off the heat for the entire hotel. I had one of the worst nights of sleep of my life here and would not recommend staying here if you are a normal human being.

TERRIBLE hotel - do not stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed at the EasyHotel after a Christmas Party in London. I wasn't expecting much, and the hotel delivered. The room was very small with no window, a double bed and a small shower / toilet cubicle. That was pretty much it, which was exactly what I needed and exactly what they advertised. The chap at reception was friendly enough. The walls were super thin and you can hear everything going on in the rooms around you, again perfectly fine if you are getting in late and leaving early anyway.
If you are on holiday and looking to save some money do not book this hotel - this hotel is perfectly fine if you just need somewhere to kip for a few hours.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdtootell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I've stayed in many budget hotels barely above being classed as a hostel so i didnt expect much from this hotel. It has a bed, a towel and shower gel....thats it. I'm guessing the urine stench in the bathroom, the mould on the shower curtain, the toilet seat that doesnt actually fit and the lack of air con (which was bunged up with paper) came free. On arrival the front door says "pull to open" after 5 mins of searching for the missing handle, we realised that we had to wedge our fingers inbetween the doors to open them (as there was no receptionist) to push the door open. 20mins standing with other guests waiting to be seen, the receptionist comes in from the chippy with his dinner (still waiting on a "sorry to keep you"). A customer in front of us complained her room stank of urine, so the "last room available" was given to her, which we discovered later on that it also stank of urine. I'm guessig this is an issue on quite a few of the rooms. Enter the lift to find no buttons, only holes in the wall panel to which you need to stick your fingers into to get the lift to go. Thankfully we only used the room for the purpose of sleeping and changing. We spent as much time as possible exploring London. We may try Easy Hotel again but this time a different site, which hopefully doesnt have a urine problem. Its cheap and somewhat cheerful, It shouldnt really be classed as a hotel tho, its more a very basic travellers hostel.

Room Tip: Dont expect much, Rooms next to the lift are extremely noisy. Hope the smell of urine doesnt bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwaite32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We booked this a windowless room in this hotel for one night to save a bit of money. BIG MISTAKE. After we checked in we noticed the room was getting a bit warm. Then it became worse and worse - it was like there was NO AIR CIRCULATION in the room whatsoever!! The receptionist said she was aware of the problem and someone was working on it. Then afterwards I asked her how long it had been broken for, she told me that it had been BROKEN FOR MONTHS! I asked to upgrade to a room with a window, but they were sold out. The receptionist desk had a sign saying they would not tolerate abuse against their staff, and no wonder they have to put that sign on, anyone would feel the heat after being suffocated. Never mind if they provide breakfast, clean linen, or even a bed - they don't even care about providing AIR!! If you still want to stay here, get a room with a window.

Room Tip: Just don't!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights as I needed somewhere very low cost.

The hotel is in serious need of a facelift - the lift wasn't in the greatest condition with buttons missing etc but seemed safe.

The room was clean and very basic with 2 single beds, a mirror and a few power points but there was no table or anywhere to put your laptop etc.

The bathroom wasn't that clean which was disappointing and the shower curtain smelt a bit strange when it got wet....which was worrying. The water wasn't that warm.

Overall though, considering the price I paid (£50 per night for a twin room) and the location (5minute walk to old street tube) I could put up with the faults.

The only interaction with staff is at reception and they were friendly enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#307 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#436 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to easyHotel Old St / Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Old St / Barbican

Property: easyHotel Old St / Barbican
Address: 80 Old Street, London EC1V 9AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #687 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple comfort, great value rooms offered by Sir Stelios. Our newest addition to the easyHotel brand of hotels in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your easyHotel Old St / Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing