We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant argue with that price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
Ranked #686 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cant argue with that price!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel is excellent value, we only paid around £50 per night, which for London is pretty darn good! The hotel is in an excellent location with only a five minute walk from Barbican tube station, which gives a direct link to Liverpool street, from there you can go pretty much anywhere!
Across the street from the hotel is an excellent cafe called Timberyard! GO..its amazing!!
The room is very small!! There are no shelves and only one hook in the entire room, so travel like or you'll feel like your sleeping in a wardrobe! The room is rather claustrophobic and you feel as if your on an easyjet plane but I'll say again..its budget and you get what you pay for!
We did pay extra for a window...I don't really know if its worth it!? The room was exceptionally hot and we could not seem to cool it down, even with the dodgy fan tat got given to us!
The minuscule room meant we got up early and came in late..as it was rather cramped for two peopleyou could not stay in there very long! so we really made the most of being in London!
I would recommend but only for a short stay on a budget! location is fab!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maelancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    313
    289
    164
    243
See reviews for
166
437
107
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hi

I stayed at this hotel twice over the Easter bank holiday weekend, I stayed in a triple room with a window on one night and a triple room without a window on the next.
The receptionist is one of the best features of this hotel. She was friendly, helpful and was not stressed with the 20 or so guests that were trying to check in at 3pm.
The location of this hotel is easy to find and a short walk from Old Street station.
However that is where the plus points of this hotel stop.
Air con makes a clunking noise every few minutes and will continue to do this while your door key is inserted in the holder to make the electric for the whole room work (including plug sockets). Even after removing your key, you can still hear ever other rooms air con unit clunking. The lifts are noisy and will keep you awake. However the worst part of the room is the green emergency lighting in the room, this DOES NOT turn off. Its so bright its like sleeping with a ceiling light permanently turned on. Also in the room with a window there was no blind on the roller blind so when the sun came up it lit up my room at 6am.
There are no TV's in the rooms like the other easyhotels in London. There is no shower gel like in other easyhotels in London. The pillows are like sleeping on rocks and the white bedding was covered in other peoples hair. Oh and there are no mattress protectors.
But for the money I paid I would compare it to sleeping in a hostel, not a hotel.
If you want somewhere to crash for a night, then this place does the job.

Room Tip: Book a triple room, it comes with a ,single and double bed for the same price as a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelled1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I thought the location was brilliant! Price very reasonable!

Of I was to stay again I would definitely get a room with a window as the ones without where a little claustrophobic !

The staff on reception where really disinterested!

The air con only came on for minutes at a time

Great value for one night but any longer you literally get cabin fever

There is a street food event every day at lunch around the corner also! Great for a cheap eat

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jipmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Ive stayed at this hotel on many occasions and my partners uses this for work alot. It is basic but for the price you do get a clean room with good beds and the location is pretty good too.

This time around me and my friends stayed last weekend in new rooms on the 4th floor. Once we had turned the lights out the main light stayed green and made the room really, really bight. We went to reception to report this and the guys attitude on reception was pretty disgusting. He just looked at us and said "well what do you want me to do about it???". Clearly we would have liked him to help us but he said that it was emergency lighting and that all rooms would soon be having these lights! I said that it was a bedroom and that I had expeceted it to be dark, to enable us to sleep. He again just looked at us and said the same thing!!!

Whilst I appreciate its a cheap hotel, it does call itself a hotel so would like to see more help from the receptionist but they appear not to actually care that much and seen to be more like security than hotel staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CardiffBayTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Willerby
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Situated at 80 Old Street with the nearest tube station being Old Street on the Northern line, this hotel is in a good location, with enough restaurants, shops and pubs to ensure your stay is catered for. The rooms are clean but mine did not have a TV, otherwise it was a good stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank johnrholmes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kotka, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Me and my friend stayed in a windowless twin room for four nights and we were very happy with this hotel. The room was modern and clean, beds were comfy, staff were friendly, toilet and shower worked and we had no problems whatsoever, except for a key card that just stopped working one night but it was swiftly replaced.
We were looking for a place to sleep on a budget and EasyHotel did just that, nothing more, nothing less. No shelves, tables etc, just one hook on the wall for coats and that's it. Wifi only in the reception area. The room was small, very much like a cabin in a ship. We weren't expecting anything more for this kind of money, so no complaints at all. Soundproofing could've been better, we could hear slight mumbling from other rooms. Location is good. The ground floor looked a little bit shabby but we didn't really mind, you can't expect too much luxury for £30 a night.
As we were using the room just for sleeping and other times we were out, we saved a lot of money to do all kinds of fun stuff in London. We will be definitely staying in EasyHotel again when travelling on a strict budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaaaandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I was staying in a twin room as they are a bit more spacious than single rooms. Room is very basic, very very basic. No TV, no hairdryer, and just shampoo in the bathroom. If you have a window, most likely you will not be able to open it. Wifi is only on the ground floor where reception is. Actual hotel itself reminds me of student accommodation a bit. The location is good, very central. If you have to stay a night or two in London and you don't like to stay in hostel this should be your next choice, especially if you are using room mainly to sleep overnight then this is the right deal.

Room Tip: Choose room with a window if possible otherwise you might feel a bit claustraphobic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anninnja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#303 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#431 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to easyHotel Old St / Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Old St / Barbican

Property: easyHotel Old St / Barbican
Address: 80 Old Street, London EC1V 9AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #686 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple comfort, great value rooms offered by Sir Stelios. Our newest addition to the easyHotel brand of hotels in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your easyHotel Old St / Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing