We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,975)
Filter reviews
1,975 results
Traveller rating
487
379
366
278
465
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
379
366
278
465
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street station triple room short stay rooms are small tube
Filter
Updating list...
1,107 - 1,112 of 1,975 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

On arrival at the hotel the reception area smelt bad and the sofa and the walls are dirty. The corridors had sensored lighting which rarely worked so you was walking in the dark. The room was small as expected, the window was very small and as we opened the blind the view we got was of an office. The window did not open and the room was so hot, The blinds had to be kept closed, which made the room dark and felt closterfobic. The heating system would not turn off, so the room was stuffy. The shower room was as expected, small and compact. what we did not expect was a mouldy and smelly shower curtain. We complained and was told thats what you get for the price. We stayed only 1 hour then thought for the sake of our health we has to check out. I would have prefered to stay in a hostel. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!!!!!

Room tip: Do not book this so called hotel!
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank only1ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The rooms need to be cleaned better!!!!! Found a huge spider on my bed the size of 2 pounds and another bug I could not recognize, gross hairs stuck to the bottom of the shower curtain! Overall it felt unclean but the location was very good the staff was young oh and your phone will not have signal in the room!!!! Nightmare you feel like if something happened you would die and no one would find you.

Date of stay: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Based on the reviews we read our expectations weren't high.
We booked a room without a window. So we just expected a bed and a small bathroom. When we came into our room we saw that we did have window. Not that the view was something to speak off. But we did have natural light. The bed was hard, but great to sleep in. Everything was neat when we came into the room. You were able to hear people walking in the hallway, but didn't bother us.
For free WiFi we had to stay in the lobby.
This hotel doesn't serve breakfast therefor we went to a cozy pub nearby. On our way to the Old Street underground station we past The Masque Haunt, which is a nice pub were you can choose from all kinds of English breakfasts for a reasonable price.
In the end we were very pleased with this hotel. So we will probably go back there if we return to London.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This may be cheap, but hardly cheap and cheerful. The front doors, supposedly automatic opening ones, are broken and look as if they were severely damaged quite some time ago.
The room more resembles a prison cell than a hotel room and consists of space (quite a lot) and a bed, end of. One broken coat hanger on the wall, two dodgy sockets that didn't work very well, no hot water, no furniture and a complete lack of service at the desk, beyond the basic necessities of handing over a key card. Be warned, they want it back each day if you dare more than one night , or just cancel your card if you take it out.
Oh, the mattress was actually quite good. If desperate, book, otherwise avoid

Room tip: I doubt there is one
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I've stayed here on two separate occasions. It is conveniently located 5 minutes walk from Old Street underground station. Last time I stayed it was in March and they only seemed half occupied. Many reviews do harp on about the compact size of these rooms and I agree the single rooms are tiny. However for very little extra you can get a good sized room if you opt in for a twin and you can push the twin beds together to make a double (I have also stayed here with my wife which has adequate space for two). It is certainly worth the effort, the bathroom is also bigger than the single en-suite, so definitely go for this option if you can afford to do so! Something else to consider is that you must be prepared, namely the air conditioning is a little noisy and ear plugs may be worthwhile if you are a light sleeper like me. Other than that, it is clean, beds are comfy, has someone at reception 24hrs (secure) and boasts many amenities outside i.e. convenience stores, restaurants, tube station all within short walking distance. Overall it's not bad in my opinion, not bad at all.

Room tip: Twin rooms are great even for a solo traveller, not much more cost but a massive advantage in terms of comfort and space.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews