We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a health hazard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
Ranked #743 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Almost a health hazard”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I know that I expect basic facilities with such an hotel. However, there was no air conditioning in a room that was totally enclosed. I had to leave the door open all night for some air, which of course meant that I didn't sleep at all. I must say that the receptionist did his best in supplying a fan, but I do believe someone with any respiratory disorder would have ended up in hospital. I am a nurse, so this is a considered comment. Totally not recommended. You are better off an a park bench.

Room Tip: Don't go for a room with no window that you can open
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    318
    299
    177
    266
See reviews for
178
454
111
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

They are a very cheap hotel and so you can't complain about the rooms and service. The rooms are small and the airco is terrible, but if your looking for a cheap stay, then you have found it at easyhotel. Just don't expect to much. We had a room of around 4 x 4 meters. Our bathroom was just a shower cabin. You do have some nice restaurant in the street and nearby for breakfast or dinner.

Room Tip: take a room with a window, otherwise it's really just a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svanaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We where arriving Friday night around midnight from Stansted Airport via StanstedExpress. It's a 20-25 minute walk from Liverpool Street Station to the "hotel", our checkin took around 10 seconds, so far pretty easy.
We had booked a room without windows, but where "upgraded" to one with a huge Window facing the office building next door (Room 1.13). The room itself was just like expected, one big bed (two pillows one blanked), a trashcan, one hook, the bathroom door and thats it. There is literally no space left, so be advised don't bring any big luggage.

There is an AC/Heating Controller in the room wich probably is ment to control the Air conditioning. At first it doesn't react in any way but then kicks on and locks a temperature when you wouldn't expect it. So be careful wich temperature you choose, as it's not getting warmer again. Not ever! In fact you can choose 3 states, smelly, cold and very cold.

The bathroom is small but Okay. Toilet, a tiny Bassin and a shower corner. The shower corner didn't have curtains resulting in the hole bathroom getting wet, so we had to evacuate the toilet paper and any towels before taking a shower.

In contrast to what's said in some other reviews our room was pretty clean and in good condition.
There is free wifi in the lobby but that's dead slow and not worth staying down there.
Some doors to the right of the hostel there is a 24/7 mini supermarket (open around 20hrs a day) where you can buy everything you might need.

There are two tube stations nearby (barbican and old street), both are within a 5-10 minute walking distance.

Room Tip: Don't bother to book a room with Windows, they don't open. Be careful with the AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

To be fair, more or less as described - but it is designed like a minimum security prison or a psychiatric hospital.

Room contains only the bed on enclosed modern box and one hook. Absolutely NOTHING else. No shelf, chair, table, TV, kettle or anything. Bathroom unit is tiny without room to put anything. Rooms had windows which were totally covered in frosting, so can't see anything.

Disappointed because no concession to being a hotel and excelling expectations.

Issues: shower curtain covered in fat and live mould, bathroom stinks of damp, toilet seat doesn't stay up, bathroom door doesn't shut correctly, floors are sticky, lighting is harsh, building front door malfunctioning, walls are metal (cold), could hear people in next door rooms talking, heating was rubbish, only one pillow, no mattress protector, lumpy mattress...

Fine for one night were you arrive late, sleep, and leave as soon as waking up. You can get budget hotels in Bloomsbury for same or less with TV, free Wifi, teat & coffee, breakfast...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

On arrival at the hotel the reception area smelt bad and the sofa and the walls are dirty. The corridors had sensored lighting which rarely worked so you was walking in the dark. The room was small as expected, the window was very small and as we opened the blind the view we got was of an office. The window did not open and the room was so hot, The blinds had to be kept closed, which made the room dark and felt closterfobic. The heating system would not turn off, so the room was stuffy. The shower room was as expected, small and compact. what we did not expect was a mouldy and smelly shower curtain. We complained and was told thats what you get for the price. We stayed only 1 hour then thought for the sake of our health we has to check out. I would have prefered to stay in a hostel. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not book this so called hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank only1ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The rooms need to be cleaned better!!!!! Found a huge spider on my bed the size of 2 pounds and another bug I could not recognize, gross hairs stuck to the bottom of the shower curtain! Overall it felt unclean but the location was very good the staff was young oh and your phone will not have signal in the room!!!! Nightmare you feel like if something happened you would die and no one would find you.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

There are two ways to review this hotel: how it compares to other hotels and how it compares specifically to other EasyHotels. The former is pointless as this will never compare favourably on any level with any other hotel in London except on price and this is the only reason you should ever consider staying here. That said it is a very big consideration - it is after all half the price of the nearest other budget chains and a quarter the price of most hotels in London.

So how does it compare to others in the chain? Well, on the plus side it has slightly larger rooms than the others in London. This is because it is created from a modern(ish) office block and not carved out of a period terraced house or houses, where rooms are squeezed in wherever they can in a building designed originally to be a single house. There is also a lift, which to those of us who have struggled with cases up ever more precipitous and narrow stairs into the eaves of the other ones is more than welcome. Apart from that much is the same. The location is decent, if that's the part of London you want to be in and it has the same modular shower room unit common to the other EasyHotels. Do note that if you are older and less flexible or remotely bigger than say, a 10 year old child, you will find these an ordeal to use as they seem to have been designed to fit the various elements into in the smallest place - completely without factoring in the presence of the person using them.

So, what's worse about this EasyHotel. Well the first thing that greeted me was an automatic door to the building that didn't work so had to be prized open manually. My next concern is the indifference of the staff. Not their unfriendliness - that comes as standard - but their lack of concern for security. I walked in and out over my days staying their without once being challenged, even by staff I had never seen before. I was quite free to walk over to the lift and take myself upstairs.

This would be a concern in any hotel, but is especially so when the door of your room had, as mine did, a tendency to appear as though I had closed and locked it properly, but on trying it then swing open to the touch. If you do stay here, please be sure to make sure your room has actually locked before you go out.

So what about the room? The stud walls, made of metal panels, are incredibly thin. I could hear every word and, what's worse, every other sound, emanating from the couple in the room next door. Having paid a premium for a window, not only was one of the blinds broken, so it was permanently down, when I opened the other one I found myself looking directly through the windows of the office building not 20 feet away - so close in fact that I could read what someone had written in marker pen on a white board in a meeting room just along.

The air con was ineffective, coming as it did out of a naked hole carved in the roof and the windows didn't open. There was no TV, though there clearly had been once. The plug cover was broken in the shower tray and the water came out almost hot at a rate and pressure that would have made a watering can look fast (further compounding the challenge of successfully having a shower).

And, as a final gripe, why are hooks considered a luxury item in EasyHotels. OK, I can deal with absolutely no furniture, but why not give a room for two people more than one hook on the wall if that is all they have to store things?

I embrace the concept of these hotels. It is like the eponymous airline - no frills. However the shoddy, broken down, dirty, neglected feel of this place felt pretty third world. It displays a lack of care for the customer that seems to go beyond no-frills to a near Ryan Air level of consideration. It is almost seems that they think that by paying so little for your room you don't deserve even the most basic level of consideration.

Then again, that goes for the entire chain and not this particular one, so to go back to our comparison with others in the chain, I probably rate this higher than the others, but it is like choosing whether you want to be bitten by a pit bull or an alsation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Thistle City Barbican
#615 of 1,069 in London
3,007 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#319 of 1,069 in London
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to easyHotel Old St / Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Old St / Barbican

Property: easyHotel Old St / Barbican
Address: 80 Old Street, London EC1V 9AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #743 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple comfort, great value rooms offered by Sir Stelios. Our newest addition to the easyHotel brand of hotels in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your easyHotel Old St / Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing