We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
Ranked #670 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I would encourage anyone on a tight budget who wants to stay in a central location in London to consider this hotel. It's not pretty. There are no frills. The toilet is very small and every morning offered the option of fighting with the shower curtain of wearing it! Having said all of that, the bed was comfortable and the location was great. We were able to walk places, get the bus into town and the tube was nearby too. The staff were friendly and helpful when we needed them to be. I'd certainly go back.

Room Tip: Book early to get the best deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Good price and good location, but the bathroom is very small and room not very sound-proofed

I'm 6ft 4 and I could not physically have a shower in the morning, the fact that when the shower curtain closes the sink is in the shower with me isn't exactly ideal. Could hear noises all night from other rooms and corridor, so didn't really get a good nights sleep

Better alternatives, would rather pay a little bit more next time for somewhere else

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stay in this hotel every week for a couple of nights for work and whilst it is not 5* it does offer great value.

The fourth and I think fifth floors have recently been renovated and do not have the built in plastic bathrooms. They also have in room air-conditioning and new beds. For what you pay they are exceptional!

My best tip would be always book a twin room 9/10 will have bigger bathrooms on the un-renovated floors and you will also get a larger room overall if you are travelling with a lot of luggage.

I have the chance to stay at hotels four times the price but choose this hotel as I genuinely think it offers value and isn't as bad as the reviews on here. People always make a point of sharing the negative but many more people will have stayed and been pleasantly surprised!

Room Tip: Twin rooms 4th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnoS_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Easyhotel for 2 weeks while on a study abroad trip. The rooms are very minimal but clean.Very close to 2 tube stations.The bad: the thermostat didn't work in many of the rooms. If you stay, get a room on floors 3 & 4. They control the thermostat! It was so bad for some guests that they where sleeping on the floor by the door with if open just to get some air flow. NO amenities, safe, iron or toiletries. No tv or wifi in rooms. Free wifi in the lobby.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank heather0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We checked in for a two-night stay at the beginning of June and only ended up staying the one night before moving to alternative accommodation.

We were prepared for the small room and lack-of-window.

What we weren't prepared for was the bathroom flooding into the bedroom, the air-conditioning not working at all (especially on a 25-degree day), the bathroom door handle coming off in our hands, the bedroom door not closing properly unless being properly shoved from the inside (not great when trying to pull it closed from the outside) and the hotel staff caring so very little about all of this.

I'm currently trying to get hold of someone... anyone... at EasyHotel to discuss a refund, but they are proving a tad elusive.

My advice... pay the extra tenner and go somewhere (anywhere) else!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uktrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very nervous at booking this hotel as it does not have great feed back. Stayed here for 3 nights as my usual London hotels were full. In a nutshell this hotel was cheap, clean and delivered exactly what was described on "the can" - nothing more or less.

The room was clean and the bed gave me an excellent night's sleep. The shower was top quality and made me feel refreshed. The bed sheets were never changed or made up during our stay but had the option as an extra charge.

The staff were excellent and helpful. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenleader1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is ideal for a short stay. the rooms are clean and the bed was comfortable, and for £40 a night in central(ish) London I have no complaints. I chose an interior room i.e one with no windows. Next time I'll book a room with a view but otherwise all was okay. Plenty of towels, fluffy pillows and loads of cafes and restaurants close by for breakfast.
I will certainly be staying again.

Room Tip: choose a room with a window!
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Andy57_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#392 of 1,077 in London
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#249 of 1,077 in London
1,561 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#305 of 1,077 in London
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to easyHotel Old St / Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Old St / Barbican

Address: 80 Old Street, London EC1V 9AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #670 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £36 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple comfort, great value rooms offered by Sir Stelios. Our newest addition to the easyHotel brand of hotels in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your easyHotel Old St / Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing