We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
Ranked #666 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in easyHotel in Paddington I felt I knew what I would be getting, basic, clean & small - not a problem for a budget traveller. However this 'hotel' was should be avoided. First I got into the lift and went to press the button for my floor, but all the button were missing! I had to count the number from ground and then put my finger into a hole that looked a bit like putting your finger into a cigarette lighter hole - I wasn't entirely sure if I was going to be electrocuted. When I got to my room I notices that the TV wall fixing was missing a TV so I went back to reception concerned that it might have been stolen and they explained, 'we don't do TVs'. So I adjusted my expectation to one of, ok this is literally a rent-a-bed. A little later I went to wash my hands to find that there was no soap! So I have to provide my own soap too! We left for the evening asap...

When we returned from out evening, looking forward to going to sleep, I got into bed to find that the sheet hadn't been properly and only covered a certain amount of the bed, so I then had to strip the bed and remake it at 2am after a few drinks, not something I enjoyed. Once I finally turned the lights out, a green permanently 'on' light was on the ceiling right over the bed, I turned to my partner who said, 'how are we going to go sleep' - a question I had already asked myself.

I will be requesting a refund as soon as possible.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank droctagon101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    310
    283
    157
    235
See reviews for
163
425
104
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Myself and my boyfriend booked in at the easyHotel Old St in June because we were going to a gig at XOYO which is only a short walk away.
As we were on a budget we opted for the room without a window. It was very dark as you would expect but it was fine (if anything i felt the lack of daylight help me sleep my hangover off better!) The beds were comfortable, the room was spotless and the staff were very nice and helpful.
The bathroom was extremely small (think airline toilet) but it wasnt a massive problem for us!
I slept like a baby and we booked late check out for an extra £8.
This hotel is great if you just need somewhere to sleep!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This could possibly be the worst hotel we've ever stayed in. We visited last week and found the service to be amongst the worst we've encountered anywhere. To be fair, the room was clean, utilitarian and reasonably priced; however, nothing could entice us to stay in another easyHotel. The size of the windowless, airless box-room was woefully inadequate for the number of beds packed into it and the green ceiling light that stays lit even when the main switch is turned off was distracting and not the best aid for a restful night's sleep. Temperature controls in the room could only be set at sweltering or hypothermic and the amount of loo roll provided was laughably tiny for three guests. There is also no parking at the hotel, which would have been fine if the staff had been able to point us in the direction of the nearest place we could leave our car overnight.
Which bring us to the worst part of our stay: the rude, uncooperative and uninformed staff. We realise that the USP of easyHotels is the price but friendliness and politeness cost nothing. We were treated to a remarkable display of hostility, insolence and discourtesy.
We had mistakenly believed that check-out was 11am so were fast asleep at 10.10am - only ten minutes after the expected check-out time - when the staff burst into the room (unapologetically smashing the door into my boyfriend's foot as they did so... testament to how small the room was!). They shouted at us that we needed to get up and leave. We hurried to pack our things and get dressed but they were back within five minutes, banging on the door again.
It doesn't matter how cheap the rooms are, no-one should be be subjected to such treatment for making a simple mistake. Believe us when we say we wouldn't have deliberately tried to stay in the room a minute longer than our allotted time; the amenities are not exactly conducive to a protracted stay. To be shouted at and herded out like cattle is absolutely unacceptable.
A terrible experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Extremely noisy. You can hear all your neighbours' conversations plus lots of noise from bathroom doors etc. all through the night, even with earplugs! I had far better sleeps in youth hostels and on campsites. Also, was not able to regulate room temperature: room was cold, even though it was warm outside. The thermostat which was in the room must be just for show. In addition, it was a building site with plenty of noise and dirt when I stayed there. Elevator buttons were broken. Room window was frosted, so couldn't see out of. There were no shelves, bedside tables or wardrobe space for storing things. I was asked to move rooms during my stay with the second room being smaller, darker and colder, as well as noisier, as it was close to the staff room. I learnt that the staff like to talk noisily in their native language throughout the day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Having read the reviews AFTER confirming my one night stay I did panic a bit. The Easy brand is what prompted me to just book it without checking. Travelling to London as a mum with two teenager daughters I was worried to start with. However on arrival (a straight forward walk down Old Street) we found the hotel. A friendly young man and young lady welcomed us and checked us in, room 4.13. I was pleasantly surprised the room was a good size with a double and single bed (very comfy) the bathroom or wet room was clean and big, yes the floor will be wet after you've showered but it's no big deal. The walls are thin and the flooring is laminate so sound does travel and the green light does give a weird glow but we had just been to see Wicked do thought it was funny, I tend to sleep with my eyes shut anyway!! We found a fab little street called Whitecross St that had lots of cafes and food stalls, we had breakfast in one of the cafe and wished we could have returned to sample the delights from these stall later as the smell emitting were devine. A local co-op stayed open until midnight so we called in there to buy drinks for the room. London was lovely and hot during our visit. I paid £45 for the room and it was excellent value and I will definitely stay here again. Cheap, clean, great location and simple. It's not everyones cup of tea but I just wanted a clean and safe place to lay our heads - job done :-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillybt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was the fourth Easy Hotel I stayed at in London (the others being Paddington, Earls Court and South Kensington) and out of those four it was the worst.

The room is comparable in size and style to other small rooms in Easy Hotels, though I have to say, the room we stayed in (standard room with window on 4th floor) seemed to be recently updated. The bathroom was also different from the usual easyhotel-aircraft-cubicle-style and a bit more spacious with more room to store your things and a big mirror. However, the shower had no "lowered floor" and the curtain was not long enough so you basically flood your bathroom every time you take a shower.

The room didn't have the usual Eashotel-centrally-controlled-AC, but a real AC that you could switch on and off. Unfortunately, it was directly above the bed, so not really convenient during the night. Most annoying was the green light that is on all the night - which means, if you need your room to be dark to be able to sleep, bring a sleep mask! (We had a room with a window--I don't see any need for the green light.) The window is nice to see what weather you are to expect outside..but you won't be able to open it.
The walls are paper thin, bring earplugs if you want to be able to sleep without hearing your neighbours snore.

Apart from that, it is the usual Easyhotel room that you expect, no frills, towels provided, mostly clean upon arriving, lumpy mattress, small bed.
The reason I liked it less than the other Easy hotels was the fact that there's no wifi in the rooms available and even the wifi in the lobby (free) didn't work on 3 days out of the 5 I was there. On top of that there was a lady at the reception that was really unfriendly and not helpful at all declaring that she can't help with the wifi - it must be our "foreign" devices that stopped working all of sudden. And anyway, since the wifi is free we had no right to complain in her opinion.

Of all the four easy hotels this one provided the least service (no wifi in rooms, no TV, no extra towels to be bought, no hot drinks to be had at the reception, no snack machine in the lobby, no computers with internet and printer in the lobby, no nothing.)

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors (4&5) that seem to be newer. Don't book a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dschulija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We always booked the easy hotel in earls court but this time for the price we booked the old street, standard room with window, room was great, bright, clean and good size (still very small but much better then the small room, highly recommend book a standard room with window, the room without window feel very uncomfortable) 5 mins walk to old street tube station, £84 for 2 nights, you can't find the room and location better then this, for myself, I like the location in earls court, have a lots of shop and restaurant just out of the tube station, but for the room I like old street, feel clean and bright. We arrived at 1pm and the black lady receptionist tell us the check in time start at 3pm if u want to check in now extra £10 or left your bag here £5 each, so we left the bag here and give her cash, on the last day we want to left our bag here when we check out at 10am and the other receptionist there say she can't take cash, we need to pay online by credit card don't understand why?

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveeat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#305 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#444 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to easyHotel Old St / Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Old St / Barbican

Property: easyHotel Old St / Barbican
Address: 80 Old Street, London EC1V 9AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #666 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple comfort, great value rooms offered by Sir Stelios. Our newest addition to the easyHotel brand of hotels in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your easyHotel Old St / Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing