We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pillar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pillar Hotel
Ranked #84 of 575 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed at the Pillars a couple of weeks ago as we wanted to be in North London and near to Camden as we were going to a theatre there....and we also thought this hotel would be something different. It so is ! We stayed for three nights but when we arrived we were in the midst of a tube strike and had to rely on taxis and buses but got by okay. We were able to get the tube on the last day,the tube station is a short walk from the hotel and the journey into Central London takes around twenty minutes which is fine and we did not have to change lines at all which is a bonus. Parking is free at the hotel and there are plenty of spaces. Yes this hotel is certainly very different to any hotel we ve stayed at in London it's certainly unique,being a former monastery. We loved the garden and the history of the place. Our room was lovely,tastefully decorated,spotlessly clean and with plenty of storage space and a large very comfy bed. Tea and coffee nearby and homemade cakes,biscuits,fresh fruit and drinks in the gorgeous lobby...all free ! The hotel does not have a bar which is fine by us...this is the only minus but not the end of the world !! If you want a peaceful hotel and value a good nights sleep in lovely surroundings this is definitely for you ! We would stay at the Pillars again...it would be lovely in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Pillar Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Karen J

Thank you taking out the time and sharing your valuable experience with us here on tripadvisor following your recent visit to The Pillar Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you have had a relaxing stay with us and have enjoyed the serenity of the beautiful surroundings we offer.

We thank you for all the recommendations you have provided and we look forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future.

With Kindest Regards and Best wishes to you in Cwmbran, Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    36
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
44
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed at the Pillar with my family in early january and then again for business in mid January. It was a highlight of the trip. The accomodation was extremely comfirtable and the service superb. The staff couldn't have tried harder and in a more friendly fashion. Free Wifi was god throughout and continental breakfast delicious. Thankyou, many great memories.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pmn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Pillar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Pmn1

No compliments can give us greater feeling than those about our staff and service.

It’s the most essential part of successful customer service in hotels. We all work hard to ensure service levels are high as possible and take great pride and passion in what we do.

Many thanks for your kind words, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel is easy to find by car, we liked the free on site parking and it was an easy 10min walk to tube station. Our room was very clean and comfortable but one thing let it down which was the fridge - there was a broken glass bottle in there, which meant the fridge was neither checked nor cleaned before our arrival. We told staff, who cleaned up the broken glass straight away. Also, because we made our reservation via a third party website (booking.com) we were told that we had to pay extra for breakfast (which was not cheap at 11 pounds pp). If we had booked through the hotel website, we would have paid the same price but it would have included breakfast. We thought this was absolutely ridiculous, as we were paying the same price as other guests who got to enjoy breakfast with their room rate. Don't they realise that it is these websites that are bringing the hotel business/clients that they may not otherwise get? We have not encountered this anywhere else on our four month trip through Europe. We did our own thing for breakfast instead, and because of this we would not recommend or return (and we will be in London again very soon!).

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beccajane007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Pillar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Beccajane007

Thank you for taking time to submitting a review on your stay at The Pillar Hotel.

Whilst every great care and attention is taken with our bedrooms, we apologise for any inconvenience caused, I am happy to see you found the room clean and comfortable in addition to the free parking we offer hotel guests.

Regarding your Breakfast inclusion, we were running various promotions through various websites and I believe at the time of your booking these were not available.

Please do contact me personally on your return trip to London of which I would be happy to offer an enhanced reason to stay with us again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

worth resting overnight its a good area
nice small place and quiet
I would of stayed another day if I would of need to
but will sure come again next year for a visit ,might be in January and February
2014

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elifeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Pillar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear elifeld

Thank you for your lovely comments from your stay at The Pillar Hotel

We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kind regards and sending all our best wishes to you in Los Angeles, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

i don't think I have ever stayed anywhere with such helpful staff. All our requests were promptly and efficiently dealt with.

The room (an Executive) was very comfortable and well furnished with a chaisse longue and a work desk as well as ample wardrobes. The water pressure in the bathroom could be higher.

The free wifi and parking were much appreciated. There are bus stops right outside to Hendon Central and Golders Green tubes.

The Swiss style continental breakfast was generous and well stocked with freshly made coffee. A nice touch was the open all day lounge with gas fire with constant hot water for teas and coffee, mineral water, fruit and cake

This hotel has character and charm and I look forward to staying there again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandDandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Pillar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear DandDandfamily

Thank you for your review from your stay at The Pillar Hotel, we are so happy you enjoyed your visit.

The title of your review is just what we aspire to be.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed for one night - the hotel does not have a dining room and isn't surrounded by lots of facilities, we took a bus to Golders Green to eat. Also, the place gets locked down at midnight if you wanted to stay out later.

Continental breakfast only served from 7.30am which was too late for me - I needed to leave at 7.45am and only had time to make a take away cheese toastie which was not the ££ value of the breakfast.

That aside, the room was clean and comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Pillar Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Sharon J

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at The Pillar.

Delighted to hear you thought the room was clean and comfortable and quiet.

Whilst Breakfast does start at the stated time we are always happy on request to arrange something earlier.

If you are ever back in the area, within three minutes walk up Brent Street are some delicious Restaurants offering a mixture of fine cuisine.

Being a London Hotel security and safety comes as paramount. Whilst there are no curfew times at the hotel for guests to return we do secure certain areas.
Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

A very warm welcome, the staff were friendly and informative. The hotel was clean and the room comfortable. 10 minutes, perhaps a little less, walk to Hendon Central tube. My only fault was that prior to my check out at 11am that morning, the hotel charged the card I used to reserve the room. If given the choice I would have used a different card to pay and found it strange they put the charge through before I went to check out in person - I have never had this at any other hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Pillar Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Cat R
Thank you for taking time to leave a review on your stay at The Pillar Hotel.
I was so happy to hear you had a very warm welcome, and that the staff were friendly and informative. in addition to finding the the hotel was clean and comfortable.

Please accept our Apologises about your card payment at check out.

We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hendon Hall Hotel
#434 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Croft Court Hotel
#78 of 575 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Anchor House Hotel
#85 of 575 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Malt House
The Malt House
#61 of 575 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar Hotel

Property: The Pillar Hotel
Address: 19 Brent Street, London NW4 2EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pillar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar Boutique Hotel North London is a boutique hotel, offers versatile conference facilities and is an ideal venue for events. The building dates back to 1893 and stands in 2 acres in the centre of North London, boasting a beautiful green garden around the whole hotel. The Pillar Hotel has successfully kept the history and old-fashioned Victorian charm but with an added contemporary design and style that the modern traveller expects. All rooms have a 32" LCD television with satellite channels, hypoallergenic pillows & duvets and the Pillar Hotel signature bed. All this combined we deliver a uniquely luxurious Hendon/Golders Green/Wembley hotel. Though we are one of many hotels in London, our beautiful surroundings make us unlike any other. Attractions just minutes away include: Hampstead Heath, Middlesex University, Kenwood House, RAF Museum, Alexandra Palace and Allianz Park the famous home of Saracens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pillar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing