We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING LONDON FIND!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorset Square Hotel
Ranked #319 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING LONDON FIND!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The team at this hotel could not be more helpful. Their style was genuine, natural and very professional. We were greeted with the good news that we were upgraded as it was our euro honeymoon (yay!) and the room was lovely! So pristine, great decor, amazing shower and really modern. The breakfast in the morning was absolutely amazing and very generous. I could not fault this hotel and definitely will be back to stay. Thanks Dorset Square Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamonix79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    68
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
96
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked for 2 nights over New Year. As we have a daughter I was advised I had to book the Deluxe room to accommodate the extra bed. The room cost over £300 per night inc breakfast. We arrived at the hotel early (1330) as our room wasn't quite ready the staff asked if we would like a tea/coffee after a long journey we were ready for a coffee and a milk for my daughter. Along with the coffee tray we were given a bill for £12. I actually thought our booking included a welcome drink obviously not!!!!!! I was very disappointed with the sizeof our room, we could not walk around the bed it was so small! This was a Deluxe room not the standard room I wouldn't like to see the size of those! I brought this to the attention of the staff and they advised me they would try to change our room. They then advised me that because the hotel was so busy they could not change our room, but for £70 would let my daughter have a single room. This really annoyed me because then we would be paying around £390 for a night in an hotel, I had looked at Claridges and could have booked that for £400 in a much larger room and have all the trimmings that Claridges offers. The Dorset Sq does have a "drawing room" but only 1 family or 2 couples can fit into it!! You can also hear the sound of the tube below even on the 2nd floor!!. the room did not have a coffee machine or kettle which I would expect in any star of British hotel. The room did not have a bath only a shower. In the evening we ate at the restaurant, the food was lovely although the service was poor. After my earlier complaint about the room I thought it may have been nice to offer a complimentary drink but NO!. I had booked 2 nights at this hotel but felt £300 for a very small room without a bath was not good value and left after 1 night. Given the inconvenience of having to find another hotel on New Years Eve and having our plans for 2 relaxing days upset the hotel did absolutely nothing to help us, Jermaine the duty manager said you maybe more comfortable in one of our other properties in the West End next time you visit!!!! We were very disappointed and would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 365DebbieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Hotel with superb decor and attention to detail. Staff and service excellent throughout, its just unfortunate we only spent one night there. You pay for what you get, and we had a great view overlooking the Dorset Square Park. Short taxi or walk to many other attractions and food and drink stops.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marktaylor911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed a couple of weeks ago in one of the studio rooms. Room was on the ground floor but had no noise issues from the street. Room was very well decorated, usual Firmdale great style. Paid 420 a night which was expensive and a little over priced. Had lunch in the restaurant which was very nice but very quiet and the staff decided to clean out the cutlery drawer right behind me in the middle of lunch which was annoying. Overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel is one of the Firmdale hotels that I have frequented before. I was initially hesitant as the rooms appeared extremely small and the hotel does not have a gym or a spa. I need not have worried, the uniqueness and beauty of the hotel made up for any lack.

The hotel itself is packed with design pieces and colors that work together. It oozes luxury and comfort. The room I had was a luxury room and whilst still very small it was beautifully appointed and perfect for my needs.

The staff are so friendly and attentive. I was made fee extremely welcome and part of the family so to speak.

I travel a lot and sometimes the hotels I visit are anonymous, soulless and uninspiring. Not so this charming little hotel. I will return if they will have me.

Room Tip: I would say if you are staying for more than one night you might consider upgrading to a luxury or d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PradaprincessDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed 3nights at this hotel in a "luxury" room, which was very nice but small.
The bathroom was especially small, the shower was so small that you could not turn round in it & I am not large at all.
Typical Firmdale interior , this one is cricket themed .
Not a great location unless you want to visit Marleybone high street! it is a walk from the west endso if you are gong to see a show I would not recommend this hotel. Go for the Covent Garden hotel same chain but a lot nearer the theatres .
The staff here are amazing and a credit to the management.They go out of their way to make sure you are happy.
I must mention the staff in the breakfast room ( the potting shed ), they were very helpful, friendly and very cheerful.
A shame no one wears a name badge as I would give a special mention.
I do have a small complaint though, which I wish Firmdake would address .
Why does your computer system not store all my details??
I have stayed at many of your hotels in London on a number of occasions, manly the Covent Garden Hotel , but when we checked in at Dorset Square we had to give them all again !!!!
This is so annoying as at Covent Garden they remember you and give you a upgrade.
Really think the computers should be linked.
We are thinking of going to the Crosby Street hotel in New York in February will we have to go through this all again!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The usual stylish Firmdale decor and charming touches everywhere, our bedroom was small but very quiet and great for a night or two . We ate a quick pre-theatre dinner in the basement restaurant which was excellent. Parking in the area is also quite easy, very convenient for this part of town.

Room Tip: Our back room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#65 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#416 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Marylebone
The Landmark London
The Landmark London
#50 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,734 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#56 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Square Hotel

Property: Dorset Square Hotel
Address: 39-40 Dorset Square | Marylebone, London NW1 6QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorset Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorset Square Hotel is a beautiful Regency townhouse with 38 individually designed bedrooms many of which look onto the leafy private garden square which was originally the site of Thomas Lord's first cricket ground. An interesting collection of cricket memorabilia can be seen displayed throughout the hotel. There is a sumptuous ground floor guest drawing room with a fireplace and The Potting Shed bar & restaurant which is open all day long. The hotel's interior has been designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp in her fresh modern English style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dorset Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing