We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, comfortable, well located, town house Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorset Square Hotel
Ranked #289 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A lovely, comfortable, well located, town house Hotel”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay here, having stayed at Charlotte Street and The Haymarket hotels before, Firmdale hotels get it just right in my opinion.

This time we wanted a north London location and this was great, very close to Marylebone Station and also to Baker Street tube line. There is a Pret nearby for coffee, snacks and also a small Tesco.

You can also go into the small square itself, the hotel will lend you the key, only residents of the square are allowed in.

It is a cosy town house hotel, but its been beautifully thought out and designed, yes some of the rooms are small, but who needs lots of space by the side of the bed? I'd much rather the space was utilised with a bigger bed and smaller floor space.

Air con, wardrobe space, minibar, great shower, robes, hairdryer, tv and a radio in both the bedroom and bathroom. Mineral water arrives with the evening turn-down. We were facing the back of the hotel and the noise was minimal considering we were in busy London. Slept brilliantly, the bed was really comfy and pillows perfect.

We walked all around Regents Park, which was lovely with the blossom, walked up Primrose Hill to see the stunning view of London before returning for a cup of tea in The Potting Shed downstairs. This is where we saw the menu for the evening, and decided to eat in.

Great choice, delicious meal, quite quiet only 4 other tables, but i I would definitely return there to eat again.

Breakfast was really well done, lovely buffet table and a wide selection of hot choices.

The hotel were happy to look after our case whilst we had another day in London. We would definitely stay here again, thank you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank poppy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    69
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
99
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Yes, the rooms are tiny; a better fit for singles, like me, or a couple. Families should loo elsewhere. The distinctive Kit Kemp-styled rooms make up for lack of square footage.
Have stayed here 3 times.

Pros: location close to Baker St. tube station, thoughtful bath amenities, well-sticked mini-bar(!), prompt room service and cloud-soft beds.

Con: No real concierge. When I asked about a restaurant, the front desk attendant just did an internet search and suggested a restaurant that turns out to have closed. Oh, well.

Do recommend as a pied-à-terre in the city for seasoned business or leisure travelers, rather than those needing more help navigating the city. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Dorset Square. The black-out curtains will keep city lights out when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southerner12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A really charming small hotel, relaxing atmosphere, a very kind staff: good choice both for lesiure and business!
The breakfast and the dinner at the hotel restaurant were also good and pleasant.
A special thanks to Emma, the massage therapist, who gave me new shoulders!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crizfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I've stayed here before and got a small but decent sized room and it was a reasonably nice experience overall but this time my room is so tiny, I basically get in through the door and pretty much onto the bed. For a couple of hundred quid a night, I think I could do better and I'll go elsewhere next time. Too bad - I've always had a great experience at their sister hotels, although granted they are a liitle more pricey.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank kcooksn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We visited the Dorset Square Hotel as we wanted to try the Potting Shed Restaurant. The rooms are lovely and luxurious, staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant bar serves the most wonderful cocktails and the food in the Potting Shed was exquisite!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This is a very well rated hotel in most of the webs in Internet. I must say it is a nice little hotel, well located and clean. I also found very good service. BUT... I have never seen a smaller room in my life! I paid 230 EUR (without breakfast) for one night and the bed was the only thing fitting in the room (individual bed!!!). There was not even a table to work.

The hotel has no elevator neither so bringing big suitcases may be a bad idea. The concierge will for sure help you to take it to the room but remember that it will no space for it!!!

I assume there a bigger rooms and I would consider going back if I can get something bigger at a decent price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThierryArrondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
228 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We were lucky to be staying in this hotel courtesy of some friends who hosted a 50th dinner party there. We got to a hotel about 11am with the intention of dropping off our bags but our room, on the 4th floor, was actually ready. We had a really friendly greeting by both the receptionist and the gentlemen, Octavio, who showed us around the hotel and then to our room - a rarity in London! He was also knowledgeable about the hotel and its history which was nice. The hotel has a 'cricket' theme running through it although it is not too overt which pertains to the cricket ground that used to be nearby.
The bedroom was beautifully and tastefully decorated and the bathroom was also lovely in grey marbled tiles. Our room looked over one of the busy London streets but was quiet being so high up and there are also black out blinds and shutters to ensure a good night's sleep. There is everything you could want in the hotel except we never found tea or coffee making facilities which we like.
The bar and restaurant in the basement are beautifully lit and the food was first class - grilled halloumi salad to start then pork belly and scallops. After 11.30pm, we all went upstairs to the drawing room and honesty bar and it was lovely to feel so well cared for, as if you were in a friend's house.
Located between Baker St and Marylebone tube stops, it is a great location and we hope to stay here again sometime.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#51 of 1,067 in London
495 reviews
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#436 of 1,067 in London
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Landmark London
The Landmark London
#49 of 1,067 in London
2,766 reviews
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#59 of 1,067 in London
3,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Square Hotel

Property: Dorset Square Hotel
Address: 39-40 Dorset Square | Marylebone, London NW1 6QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorset Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorset Square Hotel is a beautiful Regency townhouse with 38 individually designed bedrooms many of which look onto the leafy private garden square which was originally the site of Thomas Lord's first cricket ground. An interesting collection of cricket memorabilia can be seen displayed throughout the hotel. There is a sumptuous ground floor guest drawing room with a fireplace and The Potting Shed bar & restaurant which is open all day long. The hotel's interior has been designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp in her fresh modern English style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dorset Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing