We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“South bank stand up tapas 40 Maltby Street”

Maltby Street Market
Ranked #115 of 1,599 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“South bank stand up tapas 40 Maltby Street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Pallets for tables, too few chairs, and queues - so why 4 stars? Great tapas food, butternut squash rarebit with the squash instead of bread, scallops with bacon and cabbage, delicious croquettes wand a really unusual organic mineral Alsace Riesling. Staff are helpful and friendly. Best to visit just after lunch when it calms down, check opening hours as can be closed at strange times!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SimoMovement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    114
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great little find in the most unexpected place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This food market is just fabulous. After seeing it on TV we decided that we just had to pay a visit. We were booked to go and see a show and decided to pop here first. We had the most amazing salt beef sandwich which we had to wait over an hour for!!! I have never waited that long for a sandwich in my life but it was just delicious. We purchased some amazing patisserie from a couple of stalls and some delicious coffee. All in all we left feeling pretty full!! In fact we booked a meal at the Princess of Shoreditch for after the show and we just pushed the food around our plates (we should have cancelled). One word of advice and that is to get there early as the salt beef sandwich place (Montes I think it was called) sells out by lunchtime!!! I will be going back again without a shadow of doubt. The most tasty street in London!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food market near Bermondsey / London Bridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I am lucky enough to live just aorund the corner from Maltby Street Market and thus this is now my default choice to bring friends/visitors to on a Saturday/Sunday morning. A much smaller market compared to Borough Market, this is however a lot more intimate with an excellent selection of good food.

If the weather is good, the crowds start coming in after 12pm so that's a good time to head over to do your spot of people watching (the market visitors tend to be generally young and hip!)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Found this on LondonTown.com, when we got off the bus and walked to the arches we were disappointed that it wasn't open BUT we walked further up the road turned the corner & there was this lovely little market, where the tables are pallets piled up, drinks in small medicine bottles, we had a glass of bubbly, we were told we were free to walk about the market with our glasses as long as we took them back, we saw cheese stalls, a patisserie stall poppy & Sebastian that was to die for and I would recommend the le snicker, bread, butcher,food stalls definitely a place to visit and it's just over London bridge up the road and too the left, amazing will definitely be back next time I'm in London.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank scotsgirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love the Maltby Street Food Market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Not really an attraction per se, but a great slice of London, which even a lot of Londoners don't know about. This started as kind of a spillover from Borough Market. Go early, it gets rather crowded at 11 or 11:30 onwards, not as easy or as much fun. Must dos: a gin cocktail at Little Bird, Monty's for a genuine NY pastrami sandwich, and Bar Tozino, my fav, for authentic Spanish tapas, Iberico ham, and wine - wonderful on a cold winter day. These are some of the more permanent suppliers and food/drink places under the arches (as in railway arches). Across from them and outside, are a plethora of different food vendors - all kinds: great Israeli hummus and stew, the real deal in Mexican tamales and beef soft tacos, a two man team doing duck and waffles (plus other variations), chocolates, and guy selling "Bad Brownies" (they look it and I haven't succumbed yet). It's not a very big place, but with all the vendors, it takes a while as you want to try everything. On the other side of the arches, along Druid Rd, all kinds of other vendors, a butcher, Spanish cheese and meat, St John bakery, a great tea place, and Bea's of Bloomsbury's, serving what appears to be an authentic American breakfast. I could have this wrong, but minimum price for anything seems to be £3.50. Take cash, though some of the established places do take cards. But interestingly, some of the original vendors have moved down along the arches to Spa Road (due to a rent dispute I understand), and down there you'll find Monmouth Coffee (the best in London), English Jams (some of the best), a butcher, another craft beer place (well, there's another on your way to Spa Road), a couple of bakeries, etc. All a wonderful way to spend a Saturday, and guess what? They just started opening on Sundays!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maltby Street Market also viewed

 

Been to Maltby Street Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing