We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”

Bayleaf Indian Takeaway
Ranked #7,930 of 23,391 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I visited the bayleaf with 2 friends for an evening meal. The restaurant itself is very pleasant with attentive staff but the food was disappointing and very overpriced. I found the food very bland, especially the Bombay aloo. The cost of the meal for three was just over £90 including 10% service which is very overpriced considering we only had some popadoms, a main course each, a drink (cobra beer) and coffee.

A shame as we thought we were going to have an excellent evening, which was a bit spoilt due to the quality of the food and the bill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michaelcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYLEAF1342, General Manager at Bayleaf Indian Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear michaelcarol,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you felt the restaurant itself was very pleasant and our staff were attentive.

However, we are sorry you thought that the food was disappointing and overpriced. Nevertheless, with all due respect, our aim is for each guest to spend around £30. However, please note that we now offer a two course lunch at £11.95 per head. Moreover, if you give us another chance by dining here again, may I request that you book directly with myself and we will endeavour to please you.

We appreciate you contacting us through TripAdvisor, as it is only through dedicated guest feedback that we can improve on our products and service. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

U Gani
generalmanager@bayleaf.co.uk
Bayleaf Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

I have used this takeaway for years, the quality of food and service has always been extremely good and I've had nothing but praise for making it a 5 star establishment. However, on the last two occasions I have used them my enthusiasm for praise has somewhat reduced. On both occasions the orders have been delivered with items missing. Although the staff have been apologetic for their mistake and on the second occasion sent out the missing dishes in 15 minutes it really spoilt the meal as we could not all start to eat together. My second disappointment is that since the food has been sent in plastic containers rather than cardboard and foil lid containers, the food has been just a bit on the cool side to properly enjoy. Also, since introducing plastic containers, my usual choice of vegetable biryani has been disappointing as the portion size has noticeably decreased. Bring back the round shaped, foil lidded container please!
For the above reasons, my normal unquestionable 5 star rating for Bayleaf is regrettably reduced.

Thank klotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYLEAF1342, General Manager at Bayleaf Indian Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear klotts,
We are delighted to know that you have been using our takeaway for years and have been satisfied with our food and service. However, we are sorry that we have fallen short on our high standard of service we set ourselves. I can only apologise again for the missing dishes and can promise that it will not happen again. The Satco containers that we currently use have air tight lids and is 25% more heat insulating than the conventional foil containers. I can also assure you that the portions are bigger than the round foil containers. Moreover, they cost us over 3 times more than the conventional foil containers, however if you would still prefer the foil containers please mention this at the point of order and we will be more than happy to dish our food in them for you.

We appreciate you contacting us through TripAdvisor, as it is only through dedicated guest feedback that we can improve on our products and service.

Kind Regards,


T Miah
generalmanager@bayleaf.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Having been a regular frequenter of the takeaway for many years, a group of us tried the restaurant. It's look great and the staff were very friendly however I didn't find the food to be as tasty and a little on the pricey side. Try for yourself but I was expecting the usual fabulous Bayleaf standard.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYLEAF1342, Manager at Bayleaf Indian Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Glenn L,
Thank your for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to Bayleaf. We are happy to know that you have been a frequent customer of our takeaway for many years. However, we are sorry that you did not find our restaurant food as tasty as our takeaway's. We have passed this feedback to our head chef and he is working to rectify this. We appreciate you contacting us through TripAdvisor, as it is only through dedicated guest feedback that we can improve on our products and service.

Please be kind enough to directly contact me with your booking details so that we can request for your food to be prepared in the same way as our takeaway.

Regards,

T Miah
generalmanager@bayleaf.co.uk
Bayleaf Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We attended the new Bayleaf Restaurant in N20

I struggle with were to begin, well first THANK YOU Mr Bayleaf & team
EXCELLENT service & ambience & food ! ! !

Our family enjoyed the entire journey through to entrance of your restaurant & greeted by staff !
Our son 2 years & 6months (the only restaurant that has managed to keep him actively interested in the decor)
& water bubbles too !

Food fully cooked & true passion expressed through the flavours ! portions are very nice & fulling too
Rice has a nice twang flavouring to it, meats are easy to taste of a premium quality source (allowing for full tender succluent taste) ! We will be back again all begin soon !

I look forward to coming to your restaurant again & of course I will be telling others to get to you before the wating list is too long

Many thanks - would give you 6 stars if option available

Malik Ayman - National Instructor Martial Arts Taekwon-Do LONDON

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank malik a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYLEAF1342, General Manager at Bayleaf Indian Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Malik A,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we are very happy that you enjoyed your first dining experience at Bayleaf.
Once again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

T Miah
Bayleaf N20

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We get a curry from here every now and again and we've always been happy with our orders. They went through a phase of cutting the meat into rather large pieces so that there weren't that many to share between us, but the last couple of times the pieces have been a sensible size. Also, in the past, the lamb has had a tendency to be a bit chewy but, again recently, it's been lovely, Our orders have always arrived promptly except on the one occasion recently that we placed it online and then it got lost in the ether! Solution - don't order online, phone them up!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shelagh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYLEAF1342, Manager at Bayleaf Indian Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Shelagh C,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we are very happy that you enjoyed your recent takeaway from us. We are sorry that your online order failed to reach us and we understand your frustration, however we are working to resolve this issue and our online system is up and running back to normal. We are also sorry that you have had issues with our lamb dishes. We would like you to help us by mentioning the way you would like your meat at the point of order.

Once again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

T Miah
General Manager
Bayleaf N20

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayleaf Indian Takeaway also viewed

 

Been to Bayleaf Indian Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing