We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, slightly off day for service perhaps….”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Moti Mahal

Moti Mahal
Ranked #2,708 of 22,375 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
Description: Postcode is SW7 3DU
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
510 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Good food, slightly off day for service perhaps….”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

The sauna style wooden finish bar looks a bit odd, but the restaurant is full and our food was good. Bit slow getting menus and service, but nothing too worrisome….

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lieutenant_Feraud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    39
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“a regular visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The food was good but waiters were a little indifferent this time around. I regularly visit this restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Latoya519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Excellent old-established curry house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The Moti Mahal was one of the early Bangladeshi restaurants established in London in the 1950s before the passion for Indian food swept the country. I have used this restaurant since the 1960s and have seldom been disappointed with a meal. Service is friendly and prompt and the food is not over-spiced and of a consistently good quality. The menu has become "modernised" over the years to cater for the more discerning diners but they will still cook you a good old-fashioned Bhuna Ghosht or Murgi Madras if you ask for it. The restaurant is comfortable and clean with linen napkins and is ideally situated for South Ken tube station which is just across the road. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank IainGDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good but not amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I'm from Los Angeles, where we're not supposed to have Indian food as good as that in London. I don't know if my expectation were unrealistically high, but, while the food was very good, it's flavor profile wasn't substantially different from much of the Indian in LA. While the flavors were very clean, the food wasn't particularly highly spiced (and I don't just mean spicy-hot) and the portions were quite small.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alsyli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our dinner on a saturday evening. No wsiting, great service, delicious food. A must go restaurant. We had 4 different dishes with mixed veggies and naan and a cool indian beer.

Helpful?
1 Thank trotamundos57
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Moti Mahal also viewed

 

Been to Moti Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing