We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stumbled upon ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill

Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill
Ranked #5,245 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$12 - US$31
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Pub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: Bavarian Beerhouse "Tower Hill"Bavarian Beerhouse "Tower Hill" opened in May 2010. Right opposite from Fenchurch Street rail station, and just 200 feet (50metres) from Tower Hill tube station, the new venue is located in the heart of the City. Spread over two levels (street level and basement), the Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill has room for 300 guests. Exposed brick walls, wooden floors and modern architecture in combination with traditional and modern Bavarian design elements give the venue a unique atmosphere, both inside and outdoors. Have you noticed our pink deer head at the bar? He is called Bruno!The Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill was a success from day one, tripling the revenue from it's former tenant - a Pitcher & Piano - within the first month. It attracts a mixed crowd of office workers, tourists, and those who simply enjoy the authentic German and Bavarian atmosphere. Locals and residents enjoy the weekend opening hours - Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill is open 7 days a week. Following the success of the first Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street (founded in December 2005), the Tower Hill venue offers the Bavarian Beerhouse’s typical unique combination of excellent food, outstanding service, great German beer and fantastic rustic atmosphere.The Bavarian Beerhouse’s Owners are proud of the success: “Opening a second Bavarian Beerhouse in London proves that the British love Bavarian food, drinks and entertainment. We have already met so many local neighbours and all gave us a warm welcome.”"Tower Hill" Tube StationNext tube station "Tower Hill" (Circle and District Line)
Leave Trinity Square to your left and walk along Cooper's Row. You'll find Bavarian Beerhouse after 50 metres on the left (under the railway bridge)"Tower Hill" Train station / Railway Next train stations: Fenchurch Street / Tower Gateway (DLR)
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Having been out to Docklands to try the "Emirates Airline" we arrived back at Tower Gateway and wanted a short break. Right under Fenchurch Street station so a bit dingy outside but inside is a pure Germanic beerfest. Traditionally dressed gorgeous girls and great German beer. We didn't eat - very simple German fair so nothing special

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BavarianBeerhouse, Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Gary T,
thank you very much for your review and for letting us know about your experience in the Bavarian Beerhouse.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at our restaurant and we hope to see you soon again.
Concerning the location I am happy to say that the bridge just got renewed and shines in new splendour now. ;-)

Thanks again for your review and best wishes from the Bavarian Beerhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    92
    58
    30
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“German beer...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Not much to say as I only stopped in briefly for a pint, but found the German beer a welcome respite from all the British beer I had been having. Going to pay a little more for it, but I have no complaints (as someone else said, might as well get a pint rather than a half, if only for the prices alone). Pint of Krombacher was very refreshing. I would come back with friends and stop for a meal if I was in the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GregorMcNutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BavarianBeerhouse, Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear GregorMcNutty,
thank you very much for your nice review and for telling us about your experience in our restaurant. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our beer and we would love to welcome you soon again when you happen to be in this area.

Warm regards,
the Bavarian Beerhouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“tasted like smash mash”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I visited after reading reviews and I was so disappointed. We basically ended up paying 65 pounds for sausage and mash with a couple of drinks. We both concluded that the mash wasn't fresh, it looked smelt and tasted like smash I was starving but left most of my meal. It was very expensive as well. On the plus side the waiting staff were very attentive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sukylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BavarianBeerhouse, Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear sukylou,
thank you very much for your review. I appreciate that you took the time to tell us about your experience as it is very helpful for us in order to be able to constantly improve our service.
I am very sorry that we could not meet your expectations with regards to the food. I already talked to our kitchen to make sure that the quality of the mash will be improved.
I anyway hope that you could enjoy your stay in our restaurant and I hope we might get a second chance to show you that we can do better.

Thanks again for your review and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely food, especially the chicken, staff very friendly and active. The big plus was for their beer it was very tasty and cold

Helpful?
1 Thank Sb978201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BavarianBeerhouse, Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Sb978201,
thank you very much for your review. I really appreciate that you took the time to tell us about your experience in the Bavarian Beerhouse.
I am especially glad that you enjoyed your time at our restaurant and hope that we can welcome you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Level Contributor
601 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“A Bit of Bavaria in London!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is right around the corner from The Doubletree by The Tower of London. The atmosphere is a bit like Bavaria although it is not rollicking like a loud beer hall with traditional music. They serve Liters and Pints of good German beer. Robin was our server and she did a nice job. All three of us had Schweinebraten with Red Cabbage and dumplings. The pork was good and the red cabbage was very good. We have all had better dumplings as these were not breaded. The bar has really nice beer taps that are the fancy German ones. Very authentic in that regard. We said it was very good and since we all like German fare, we were happy. Nicely located to hotels around the Tower and near the tube stop.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Piseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BavarianBeerhouse, Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Piseu,
Thank you very much for your review. It is always very helpful for us in order to be able to improve our service constantly.
I am glad to hear that you were pleased with our service as well as the food and that you enjoyed your stay in our restaurant.

Maybe you are interested in joining us for our Spring Festival with live Oompah music which takes place from 24th – 26th of April in the Tower Hill venue and from the 1st to the 3rd of May in our Old Street venue. You will definitely get a rollicking atmosphere on these days ;)

Thank you very much once more for your review and I hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill also viewed

 

Been to Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing