We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time reviewer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Connaught House Hotel London ExCeL
Ranked #31 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Booked here only a couple of days before arrival, for two main reasons, location with free parking on site, and I didn't want to stay in a big chain type hotel. What a pleasant surprise, even though we were on the top floor and there is no lift, the place has charm, nice staff the meals we had were good and very reasonably priced. Will definitely stay again, well done!

Room Tip: Please consider the fact that there are no lifts, it's quite a hike to a top floor room, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting London.
Free parking...Excellent!!
Check in was great and staff were really helpful.
The room was very clean and spacious, and the bathroom was amazing, especially the shower it was excellent.
Bed was comfy, and also clean.
Free Wifi is always a great idea.
Check out seemed a little early at 10am, but we were out for the day anyway.
We didn't sample the breakfast or the bar in general.
It was perfect for what we needed, and the price was also perfect.
We drove straight to the Westfield Shopping centre from the hotel, and that took 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bram23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here on a Sunday evening in preparation for a meeting in London on the Monday. Got a really good price and free parking. Arrived late at night and it all looked closed up. The main entrance is the pub and it obviously closes early. Fortunately, there was still bar staff there. I don't know what I would have done if not. I was on the top floor; there is no lift. I did get help with my luggage. The room was great; it was warm, lots of space and normal facilities. Bathroom a little small with only a shower. Overall cant complain with the price, but check with them if you are getting there late.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We had another lovely overnight stay here, with a super large room!
There was quite a rowdy Christmas Party in the bar, and although the restaurant was closed we were allowed to eat in there, having the choice of both menus. Food excellent again.
Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saljim2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This year l have stay here over six times and never had any problems at all - location is great for getting in and out of London by car or rail line or air - the staff are always at hand and always willing to help (in other words... Excellent ?) - rooms are always ultra clean - this hotel is a great little gem

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I contacted the hotel before arrival to enquire if they could cater for my husband's specific dietary needs. Jolanda negotiated with the chef and produced a special menu for us, which included gluten free bread (always a bonus.) The food was delicious. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even when the bar was buzzing on the Friday evening. Our room was clean and comfortable, and it was well worth having the superior standard room. The location is handy for DLR and for the cable car across the river. Beckton Park is a short walk away.

Room Tip: The superior standard room was a reasonable size. For two people staying four nights, I would not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a good value place to stay. The staff were lovely, a warm welcome makes a difference at the end of a long day! If you want breakfast, I found it was much cheaper to buy it whilst there, rather than paying for it in advance during the booking online process.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toftchels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hampton by Hilton London Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Travelodge London Excel Hotel
Travelodge London Excel Hotel
#388 of 1,075 in London
831 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#258 of 1,075 in London
1,881 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
MOXY London Excel
MOXY London Excel
#569 of 1,075 in London
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connaught House Hotel London ExCeL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connaught House Hotel London ExCeL

Address: Lynx Way, London E16 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £78 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Connaught House Hotel London ExCeL 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Grade II listed building designed and built by Victorian architects Vipers and Wagstaff has undergone a 1/4 million pound refurbishment to the upper floors to convert to a 17 En suite bedroom hotel. All rooms offer free Wifi internet access, 32 inch flat screen Tv'sThe facilities available to all guests will incorporate meeting room facilities to add to the already vibrant Gastro Bar and A La Carte Restaurant on the ground floor. There is also a large patio area with gardens, a children's play area and free on site car parking Facilities.We are on the doorstep of London ExCel, City Airport and only a 10 minute journey away from the 02 Arena and Canary Wharf ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Connaught House Hotel London ExCeL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing