We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Connaught House Hotel London ExCeL
Ranked #35 of 860 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Excellent hotel. Clean, friendly, good food and very good staff. Its also a very good location for Excel and the docklands railway.

The only thing to mention, no lift, not a problem but worth considering if you struggle with stairs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    112
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
36
111
18
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

the room was excellent, service fast and friendly and the evening meal and breakfast were fine. I would certainly stay here again when visiting London Excel. The hotel has obviously been refurbished well recently.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

For £40 a night this place is fantastic. Easy to get to, free parking, modern bedroom which was immaculate. Some of the fluffiest towels ive come across and red hot water in abundance. Comfortable clean beds and just the right sized room for a couple night stay. The bar(Fox@Connaught) offered 15% discount for residents which made Bud £3.40 a pint and very nice it was. Food was very nice and reasonably priced. All the staff and locals including lots of workers were incredibly friendly. It is a fair treck to get into London centre but I would definitely stay here again regardless of my reason for visiting London. They were even genuinely dissapointed for us when we lost the football as well.

Room Tip: We had room 7 lovely without too many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chipper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Had a fantastic stay at this hotel. Location was excellent for me. Price was very competitive. Amazing value for money. Very clean and well maintained. Small and compact. Wonderful very cheerful and helpful staff. Always willing to go the extra mile to make us comfortable and happy. Altogether a great experience. Will definitely make this my first choice whenever I have business in this part of town.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Connaught House Hotel is located within walking distance of London Excel and just across the bridge from the airport, and within walking distance of the DLR.

It has just 17 rooms in a distinctive tower that has character unlike the giant adjacent shoeboxes of the chain hotels... The rooms are furnished to a high standard and are spotlessly clean, with all the facilities that you should need on business or leisure travel.

The bar and restaurant open early for breakfast and serve until noon, and then the no-nonsense full menus "kick in"...great value, high quality and delivered with attentive service.

Wi-fi is fast and free and the car park is also free.

In summary, this is a superb place to stay and I would not bother looking anywhere else for a stay in this part of the South East. Book early, and direct, for the best rates as it can be pricey when the Excel is busy.

Am looking forward to my next stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbaggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Connaught house at the weekend not for the first time, the Connaught is our first choice stay when visiting London. We visit usually once a month to visit our daughter and have stayed in all of the hotels around the Connaught. We have stayed in other hotels only when the Connaught is full, but this has allowed us to compare. The staff are friendly the rooms are really nice and the food at the Fox reasonably priced and tasty.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We booked the hotel as it was close to the ExCel - even though it takes around 45 mins on the DLR and the underground to get into the city centre, this did not detract from our 3 night stay. The hotel was very comfortable and clean. We were pleasantly surprised by the room - warm, well decorated and high standard in furnishings. The bed was very comfy and the shower was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Free parking and WiFi :). Food was good too. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Travelodge London Excel Hotel
Travelodge London Excel Hotel
#412 of 1,069 in London
774 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hampton by Hilton London Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
MOXY London Excel
MOXY London Excel
#600 of 1,069 in London
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#261 of 1,069 in London
1,825 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#291 of 1,069 in London
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connaught House Hotel London ExCeL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connaught House Hotel London ExCeL

Property: Connaught House Hotel London ExCeL
Address: Lynx Way, London E16 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 860 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Connaught House Hotel London ExCeL 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Grade II listed building designed and built by Victorian architects Vipers and Wagstaff has undergone a 1/4 million pound refurbishment to the upper floors to convert to a 17 En suite bedroom hotel. All rooms offer free Wifi internet access, 32 inch flat screen Tv'sThe facilities available to all guests will incorporate meeting room facilities to add to the already vibrant Gastro Bar and A La Carte Restaurant on the ground floor. There is also a large patio area with gardens, a children's play area and free on site car parking Facilities.We are on the doorstep of London ExCel, City Airport and only a 10 minute journey away from the 02 Arena and Canary Wharf ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Connaught House Hotel London ExCeL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing